Open Collections

BC Historical Books

BC Historical Books

BC Historical Books

The Phoenix pioneer and boundary mining journal. Devoted to the interests of the Boundary Mining Distirict.… The Phoenix pioneer and boundary mining journal 1905

Item Metadata

Download

Media
bcbooks-1.0348110.pdf
Metadata
JSON: bcbooks-1.0348110.json
JSON-LD: bcbooks-1.0348110-ld.json
RDF/XML (Pretty): bcbooks-1.0348110-rdf.xml
RDF/JSON: bcbooks-1.0348110-rdf.json
Turtle: bcbooks-1.0348110-turtle.txt
N-Triples: bcbooks-1.0348110-rdf-ntriples.txt
Original Record: bcbooks-1.0348110-source.json
Full Text
bcbooks-1.0348110-fulltext.txt
Citation
bcbooks-1.0348110.ris

Full Text

Array  ;£<c'4^*Vftra«^<MM^vw*«w«<*tt*«<«<i
Original
White Fuse
! Power Shovels for
Mining Purposes
Single Truck Shovels
and Excavators
RUSSK  L, LAV  *AULFt£LQ CO., Ltd..
J I Agents, GREENWOOD, B.C.
HUNT* v   F   ^ bv, to ROSSLAND, B.C.
*nt, VICTORIA, B.C.
yip*
Mr
"Evei  - iVie in Hardware."
V
WOOD, VALUNGf S CO.,
ESTABLISHED 1849.
HAMILTON'' J
Kootenay Branch:
I
1
wood
NELSON, B.C.
5
1'
W
ltd.      j)
J
I
L 3
. . . DEALERS IN . . .
Shelf and Heavy Hardware,
Mine, Smelter and
Available for Stripping, Open Cut Mining,
or Underground Operations	
MOST CONVENIENT.
MOST   ECONOMICAL.
MOST  SATISFACTORY
Thew Automatic Shovel Co.
 LORAIN, Ohio. ii.M.
m~ Write for Our Catalogue, if you are interested.
Mine Rails.
Wire Ropes—Lang's Lay---£££?!
English Crown Bar Iron.
Plate and Sheet Steel.
Pipe and Pipe Fittings, all sizes.
Morton's B. C. Drill Steel.
General Heavy & Shelf Hardware.
I MORTON'S  B.C. DRILL STEEL l^Min^n^SnTeUeHnTc5'
E. G. PRIOR ©. CO., If:
 Victoria, B.C.
WRITE    FOR   ESTIMATES.
Mill Supplies.
mm^tmmm^Hmmmmtmmlmmmm^mimmMmmmlm
Smelter Castings and Jackets,
Heavy Forgings.
Sheet and Boiler Work.
Shafting.
Ore and Skip Cars.
Wood   Split and Iron Pulleys.
Leather and Robber Belting, etc.
WINNIPEG—GEO. D. WOOD  &  CO.
VANCOUVER—WOOD, VALLANCE &  LEGGAT, LTD
TORONTO—04 BAY STREET.
+*m
Union Iron Works,
SPOKANE, WASH. "^
HOLIDAY-MIDWINTER NUMBER
Pfjcottx {tone
AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
Devoted to the Interests  of  the  Boundary Mining District, Southeastern British Columbia.
THE  EARLY  HISTORY  OF THE BOUNDARY I
THE history of a great mining
. camp is always of more or
less interest, whether it refers
to the productive and well
known mines themselves or to the community that has been built up as a
consequence of the existence, development and profitableness, present or
future, of those mines. It is, therefore,
probable that Phoenix camp, on account of having been so far one of the
most successful camps in British Col-
ally unknown, as far as
were concerned. It was 70 or 86
miles from the nearest railway, at Marcus, Washington, and was little thought
of or heard of. Still, a few hardy prospectors were in here in the late eighties
and earjy nineties, and some of them
found high-grade claims that were
worked with some proa^&at^fthstand-
iog. the long mule and wagon haul to
the railway. The drop in silver, how-
ewfrj&w?  them  all  a  setback  from
•umbia, with every prospect of a steady
growth for years to come, will hold its
own in interest, not only of the past
but of the future. However, it is of
what has gone before with which we
now have to deal.
Up to the year 1890 there was slight
knowledge of the mining riches of
Kootenay-Boundary. Many years before that the Blue Bell mine on Koot-
enay   lake,   had    been   known    and
orked it
e Indiai
using the almost pure lead from which
to mould bullets. But with the building of the railway line from Spokane
to Kootenay lake at Nelson in 1892,
the tide of prospectors began to flow
in.' Then followed the rich silver-lead
discoveries of the Slocan district, and
the temporary growth of a number of
places in that locality. Before this,
the silver-lead mines around Ainsworth
had been worked also, to some extent,
In 1893 silver was demonetized in
■ the United States, and immediately
dropped in price, so thac many silver
miners lost interest in looking for or
digging out the white metal. Following that, attention was paid to the gold
and copper mines of Rossland, which,
like all the other camps, had its season
of great prosperity, to be followed by
a shrinkage, and that in turn by legitimate, systematic mining—especially in
camps that had the worth to back
them.
Alt these years what is now known
as the Boundary country was practic-
which they never recovered till within
the last three or four years. The Skylark and Providence were among
these.
Prospectors had tramped over the
thickly wooded hills where the city of
Phoenix now stands, and had seen the
mammoth iron ledges that gave small
values in copper and less in gold and
silver, and they thought little of them.
Many were allowed to lapse, while
still others were relocated, the operation being repeated if necessary. Few
were fond of doing assessments when
provisions had to be packed from 50
to 80 miles. It was expensive and
disheartening, especially as there was
so little chance of securing that great
need of all new countries—or old
countries   either,   for   that   matter—a
Many of the old time prospectors
who stayed with .this camp in those
tiresome days, have done well, but no
one will grudge them with what they
have come by, as it was undoubtedly
well earned—every dollar of it. Others
let go—dropped everything—and went
to other districts, only to wish later
that they had stayed with the Boundary. But when the C.P.R. actually
began the construction of its Columbian & Western line into the Boundary
—chiefly to reach the immense tonnage of the mines of Phoenix:—then
there was a decided change. But this
will be refened to later.
According to the general understanding of the oldest of the old settlers, the
first  1
e into  what i
known as the Boundary Mining District of Southeastern British Columbia,
was Charles Deitz, who arrived in this-
section in the year 1857. Mr. Deitz
is still a resident of the Boundary, novif
living in a comfortable old age on 1. ■
ranch a few miles from Midway.
Old "Jolly Jack" Thornton was supposed to be the second man to reach
this now well known mining region.
As early as 1862 Boundary creek was
worked for placer gold, and there was
a small settlement south of the international boundary line, near where the*
town of Midway is now located. (
In the year 1884 the first mineral-
claims were staked in Southern BntisJtt'
Columbia. These were the Eagle, oh
Hardy Mountain, by James McCon-
nell, and the Victoria and Washington,
afterwards Old England, on Rock
creek, a few miles above KetjSsKver.
W. T- Smith and John EasapfT. .'■o
the Boundary district in 188 d located the Rocky Ba. jjo. l jw the
Tunnel, on Boundary&fttk.'near'-.the
falls.    In the same   ear   fhev also To-
PSvthJs time th? pioneer pro,?
' to where the'city of Phoeni
nds, and Matthew Hotter 1.
i Old Ironsides in July, 189
located  a1F ilie"
sVi
&J*e
V',1. Snowi    1.    Joe
|
and G.
V.l'umbe,       located
■"■*-«     rel°eaied   'he
•. . fjtf -1>. . 'Humphrey
' .. ? 'tonarch.    Other
followed in rapid
... od   and   Schofield
n Ingram ffi^untaiv
ilso lcj  ted by S
M Mid-
Three prospei
David Leyson, and Geo ge Y. Bov. e\ -
man, located the Big Copper, irj hat
is now Copper -ai j. The cl": .1 was
then knowi ■ the BUiebirr Afterwards   tfi- ■   •     it   8vef*i*Br ^fewddey '
acquired a number of high-gA
claims, as no others would then pay t<
work, with the nearest railway 75 mile
3 R..S
were also ide, and, the Boundary
£laims we- . allo-;edi to lapse. The
Jving Soloir n, ( 1 Copper camp, was
staked Ly d. Lefevre and James
Lynch, ar&Ln 1888 it was acquired by
TD.-'Qj Cofbin, of Spokane Falls and
l! ortnern jr railway fame.    In  1890-91
I .wood and John Lemon near the
Buckhorn in Deadwood camp. On
the 23rd of May, 1891, William Mc-
Cormack and Richard Thompson
staked the Mother Lode in Deadwood
camp, and on June 2nd of the same
year John East and William Ingram
located the Sunset and Crown Silver
in the same camp.
the country. However, Mr. Walt ?s,
who had organized a company kn. .ra
as Spokane & Great Northern Mining?;
Co., finally succeeded in getting in a
two stamp mill, which was set up at
Boundary Falls, to treat the ore of the
American Boy and Boundary Falls
claims. Mr. Walters also bought the
Prpvidence, and made some shipments
to the Everett smelter, which notwithstanding the great cost of packing on
mules to the railway at Marcus, Wash.,
netted several thousands of dollars.
Silver went down, however, in 1893,
and this discouraged the prospectors
in the Boundary, and for a while this
section was pretty nearly deserted.
However, the Skylark, which was located in 1893 by James Atwood, is
said to have shipped ore which netted
\ ' THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUND
B(!>i^tf>JWRY''W^^^
moR?.
ears ago, when the Canadian
cine Railway Company wilder'1 ro^.fffle^^n^^Mtv^y
through itSfeolumbia & Western charter, to reaen'Ph'deriix'and the Bound-i
ary, it was a notable piece of work.
But the great Canadian corporation
had practically all the tonnage here, to,
come for, the great objective point, of
course, being the then growing-famous
mines of Phoenix; Its officials knew;
that the tonnage to be developed would
be tremendous—but even at that, they
did not realize in full the pbrenHWtiesf''
in a revenue producing way, of the
^Boundary. When, however, one mining company, operating at ' Phoenix,
began to pay into its coffers a thousand
dollars or more per day for freight
alone, year in and year out, the Boundary district certainly'TOoked very good
to the head officials.
lesjsj^n Jjte.;U»ited States, who
have handled the labor situation i
successful manner in whiw^pr.*
arpasflindlfed it, especialijf&re
It is quite apparent
long as Mr. Hill,
in British-Colunibi;
James H. Kennedy, the icSef en-
fa,s^is^nLengmeers,;>had charge of the
new line durirjgt'canstruction, and
looked after the details of that part of
the work. They succeeded in securing
a grade of not more than'three per
cent, and there are many long stretches
of one per cent and less than two per
cent. This favorable grade will permit of hauling heavy loads up the hill,
'then* being a difference in elevation
between Grand Forks and Phoenix of
about   2,500   feet.     The   maximum
For
■  Jan
'. Hill
jnv
of the  Great  Northern Railway, had
also been proposing to reach Phoenix
mp by building a line from his near-
t point—Grand Forks—a distance of
jfcf-'.'Ut"25 miles, but necessitating some
■nsive railway con;
l, and again they
ago
'yBWEjave k'dBne with !sarisf^fctSi>il"'gen-
When the word! finally came in June
to proceed, it was a rush job from the
first day. It required' prarjtically all of
June and July to organize the working
forces; get camps established' and secure the necessary laborers and supplies, but when this- was done rapid
progress was made, and the bulk of
the'-wo'ffc'w&S completed in about four
—from  the city  of Spokane, in  the
neighboring^tate ofJKashington. •
^8?P ^•^•^r®'n%had the con"
trac'wp«hifiiewial|fa^me, was born
inij^AlftdSa years, ago, securing his
education in Edinburgh, and is one of
the best known men in British Columbia. Mr. Stewart did his first work in
this province as an engineer on the
construction of the Canadian Pacific
Railway in 1,882.' Later on he took
part in the'construction of many pieces
of railway in the interior, including the
Nelson & Fort Shepherd, the Red
Mountain, the Kaslo & Slocan and the
jG6"|uttibia & Western, the latter built
for the C.P.R. six years ago. Atpres- .
ent Mr. Stewart has from 800 to
1,000 miles of new lines under* con-
litoba, Ontario aid the
id is probably or* of the
Northwf
larges
The r
v lini
"' followi
nths—
»rd i
n rarely equalled.
Iway c
RUSS*   L, LA
j   HUNT* I
ROWLi
,e bee
e for that li
1 a tender
the heavy
Was  learning  that there
of tonnage if he reached
jr was not the C.P.R. secur-
rich plum entirely?    So, in
1904 it was decided to go on
ie work to Phoenix, and when it
so decided no time was lost.
In  looking for a  man   who  could
contract for  the  entire  work, a man
who rwas a British subject,  Mr. Hill
selected John W. Stewart, a gentleman
of many years of experience in railway
construction.    It  was  a happy selection for Mr. Hill and his advisors, for
it is  doubtful if the work could have
been done so quickly and with so little
friction had it been in charge of others.
It is also questionable whether there is
This little piece of railw;
>vith spurs and sidetracks
thirty miles in length, has cost the
Great'Northern people in round numbers a cool million dollars, or say a I
little more than $33,000 per mile. It
was built for the special purpose of
securing a share of the tonnage of the
large mining concerns of Phoenix, and
the road will undoubtedly receive its
share of that tonnage.    Its heavy cost
.  the
the
up the North Fofk of the Kettle river
to reach Phoenix, as does the C.P.R.,
follows the valley of Fourth of July
creek from the Kettle river valley, till
it reaches Summit camp, where it
crosses the C.P.R. line. Then it runs
up- to the headwaters of Eholt and
Providence creeks, circling around the
point within a mile or two of Greenwood, but at a much higher elevation,
and enters the city of Phoenix at the
western end—opposite end from the
C.P.R. The engineers state that the
route of the line is an excellent one,
when- the difficulties of reaching this
point are considered, and it would
seem that such is the case from the
substantial work that has been done.
The route is certainly a scenic one,
and will be enjoyed by travellers coming into the chief mining town of the
Boundary. It will also be a great accommodation to those coming here
from  the east, south or. west, arid will
few
Ino
s withir
ne plac
' giv«
Phoe
svith
thorough cut had al
yards of rock "aken out, and in another
a bridge was constructed that required
about a million feet of timber—and all
this is
cpensive
But cost made no difference, for it
had to be put through, and put through
quickly. In fact, on many of the
heavy  rock  cuts  two  shifts of   men
another transcontinental railway.
The corporate title of the company
building the new line is the Victoria,
Vancouver Sc Eastern Railway and Navigation Co., Ltd., the charter allowing
it to build throyigh to the Pacific coast,
which it is anticipated will be done in
the near future, a start to be made in
.1905, it is believed. By the new line,
Phoenix is but 175 miles—a few hours
1 the n
struction business in the Dominion.
He is a hard worker himself, and
thoroughly understands the business to
the minutest detail—which accounts
for a large measure of his success.
Mr. Stewart has many friends in British Columbia, especially in this part,
where he is best known.
The conti act for the bridge building
and the track-laying on the Great Northern from Grand Forks to Phoenix,
was let to Porter Brothers, one of the
best known firms of its kind in the
Northwest.' The improved- Roberts
track-laying machine was used to put
down the steel, which was.imported
from' England. In the course of the
trestle and bridge building something
like two million feet of timbers were
used. Porter Brothers also secured
the: contract for building the stations,
freight sheds, round houses, etc., on
this piece of road, and at this time
this work is now proceeding.
Taken altogether, J. W. Stewart has
every reason to. feel well satisfied with
the progress made with the construction of the Phoenix extension of the
Great Northern.     It is only too well
known that, a
way
are rarely completed within from six
months to a year of the time set
therefor, and in this respect it is to the
credit of Mr. Stewart and his able
lieutenants that this contract has
proved a notable exception. WQRKrOF RAILWAY CONTRACTORS*IN PHOE6HX.
ing,, with the sidetracks, spurs, etc.,
nearly ten miles of construction. This
: work' was sub-let to Burns & Jordan, a
firm of contractors that has done a
large amount of railway work in the
Boundary in the last six or seven
years. On the C.P.R.'s Columbia &
Western construction, Messrs. Burns &
Jordan had half a dozen sub-contracts
during the progress of the work, and.
did them all up in satisfactory shape.
Regarding the work in and around
Phoenix, however, the railway contractors did not have an easy job, for the
reason that the city streets were torn
fact, the
railway
line
wide swath
through
Yet, so
.kilfully
tre of the
have Bur
corporation,
ns & Jordan
done th
sir work
that
there have been
from the
SI
plaint
ould
5
carelessness
damage was
be avoided,
from Phoeni
<on
he GreaL  Nort
grade, Burns
& Tc
rdan's contract
ran
into   Phoeni
,   wit
1  the  sidings
that
were necessa
ry for
the large shar
e'U
Jordan alone having above 600 men
at work in and around Phoenix when
the greatest number were employed.
In the course of their work they have
moved some 300,000 cubic yards of
rock alone, besides hundreds of thousands of yards of other material.
With an excellent construction outfit—one that was up-to-date in every
respect—fhey were able to push the
those who were anxious to get the railway completed at the earliest possible
date.    Both of the partners being pres-
1 of Bur
; & Jordan
durii
the
posed of Edward Burns and John
Jordan—both members being of long
experience in the railway construction
field, having done contracting for the
last r8 years in all parts of the Pacific
Northwest. The business men of
Phoenix generally, with whom they
have come in contact this last summer
and fall, are unanimous in saying that
it has been a pleasure to do business
with them. During the progress of the
construction both Mr. Burns and Mr.
Jordan had their families in Phoenix.
HOW BOUNDARY TOWNS WERE STARTED.
IN a publication of this character it
is quite in keeping that something
should be said about the cities
and towns of the Boundary country. Nearly all of them, in the last
five or ten years, have had their times
of prosperity and otherwise. They
would not be typical of western mining
camps if they had not. But it is
pleasant to record the fact that general
business all over the Boundary was
never before on as substantial a basis
as it is today—-which means, as a matter of course, that legitimate mining
was never in a better condition.
Phoenix—the most important point
in the Boundary because the bulk of
the ore tonnage originates here—
which was originally known as Greenwood camp, and from which the town
of that name was called, was virtually
established in 1899. When the gigantic ore bodies of the Old Ironsides and
Knob Hill mines began to be appreciated on the outside, that and the building of the C.P.R. into the district
attracted a great deal of attention to
this camp. About the same time
McKenzie & Mann and associates took
over the Brooklyn and Stemwinder
groups for the Dominion Copper Co.,
the Snowshoe began active development, and other properties also came
to the front, to add to the fame of the
Geo. W. Rumberger platted the
Cimeron mineral claim in the fall of
1899, J. B. McArthuralso platting the
New York-ctehnas a townsite in the
same year. In November of that year
the Miner-Graves syndicate, as the
owners of the present Granby mines
were then known for brevity, placed
the Old Ironsides sub-division to Phoenix on the market, all of the Phoenix
property having one of the most remarkable sales in the history of town-
site selling in British Columbia. It is
within the memory of the writer that
some persons travelled hundreds of
miles to buy Phoenix business lots at
the opening sale, only to find them
already sold, much to their disappoint-
As far as the records show, the first
townsite platted in the Boundary
creek district, as it was then called,
after the creek of the same name, was
Midway, first called Eholts. This was
acquired by Captain R. C. Adams, of
Montreal, and
is now :the Boundary
immediately founded the town and
platted the lots, the town' betag'ijnco'rv*
porated in i897j^AInaconda, adjoining, was foundecfoprejriQUsly, and Mr.
W,oo4/'^4&'.^SSi»Mufce'ssful attempt
to purchase itiSpfflj&'y';
Grand Forks, located at the junction-
of the main Kettle river arid^JsV&()$&:■?
Fork, was one of the earliest settlements, being a diverging point. The
site, which was owned by George Mc-
Rae, was sold to John A. Manly in
1893, who shortly thereafter^'founded ■
the town by platting it. Grand Forks
is fortunate in being the location of the
immense Granby smelting works, now
about  to  be  enlarged  lor  the  third
the district, and the communities
growing up around them. The'Valleys'
are admirably adapted to fruit raising,
and fruits of all kinds are cultivated in
the greatest profusion.
BOUNDARYgMSTANCES.
Railway distances, in the Boundary
from Nelson, the C.P.R. divisional
headquarters, are, approximately, as
follows:
Cascade	
Grand Forks. .
Eholt !	
Phoenix
Greenwood...
Midway .
Small settlements also grew up at
Deadwood, Carson, Boundary Falls,
Eholt, etc., the latter when the railway
was built, and it was found that the
Phoenix line of the C.P.R. would
branch off there.
Cascade is one of the oldest towns
in the Boundary, having been platted
in the very early nineties, and during
the railway building enjoying a genuine "boom," and being at that time
one of the most important of Bound-
A conservative estimate of the population of the Boundary district has
placed it at about 10,000 persons. As
is well known, the most important
industry is that of mining, being the
industry on which all others practically
. depend.   Other industries and occupa-
The following table of altitudes of
this province, is compiled from a
Dictionary of Altitudes of Canada
received by the Phoenix Pioneer from
the department of the interior at
Ottawa:
B. C. Min
Field  4,062
Fife  1,978
Fisherman  2,241
Glacier ;  4>°93
Golden   2,580
Grand Forks  1,746
Greenwood  2,464
Hartford Junction  4,300
Illecillewaet    2,710
Kamloops    1,160
Keremeos  i,39°
Kootenay Lake  i>735
Lardeau  2,400
Lillooet  840
Lytton  695
McGuigan  3,515
Midway  I,9I3
Morrissey  3,101
Mother Lode Mine  3,45°
Moyie  3,046
Nakusp  1,413
Nanaimo j 125
Nelson  1,769
New Denver...:  1,800
New Westminster  13
Nicola Lake .  2,127
North Bend  495
North Star Junction  2,981
Okanagan Lake  1,135
Omenica Lake  4,100
Oro Denoro Mine  3,400
Osoyoos Lake  946
Phoenix  4,625
Princeton  1,885
Quesnelle Lake  2,250
Revelstoke  i,5°3
Robson  1,414
Rogers Pass  4,309
Rosebery  1,795
Rossland  3^461
Salmo  2,181
Sandon  3>5I6
Shields  2,025
Silverton  r,799
Slocan Station	
Slocan Junction	
Slocan Lake	
Smelter Junction	
Spences Bridge	
Teslin Lake	
Trail	
Trout Lake	
C.P.R.
The site of the present town of
Greenwood was acquired by Robert
Wood  and  associates  in  1895,   who
i,777
1,637
4 THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
THE GRANBY CONSOLIDATED
ACKNOWLEDGED TO BE CANADA'S GREATEST COPPER PRODUCER.
^HE  story of the Granby Consolidated is one of the most
s well s
s of
the most important, of any
mining concern in British Columbia—
or, for that matter, in the entire Dominion of Canada. Those most familiar
with the subject concede this to be a
statement of fact. From one of the
most insignificant of groups of copper
claims, six years or more ago, in a
' remote district, it has grown to be one
that is attracting earnest attention from
copper men of importance the world
over for the reason that it is now realized that the Granby mines are becoming more and more an important factor
in the copper producing industry of the
American continent, and as years go
by they are likely to become more so. .
were the Old Ironsides and Knob
Hill, and were made by Matt Hotter
and Henry White, respectively, on the
20th day of July; 1891, and were recorded five days thereafter, at Camp
McKinney, the recording office for this
entire section in those days, and nearly 50 miles distant. The contrast with
the situation here today is a remarkable one, the greatest progress, of
course, having been- in' the last four or
five years.
When Henry White and Matt Hotter toiled up the valley of Boundary
creek on that hot summer's day in the
early nineties, there were no trails or
wagon roads of any kind in this section, and but few locations had been
thought  worthy the  attention of the
most of the mines of so low a grade.
The original locators became discouraged, and it was not until  1895 that
Stevens r;
Hill, showing more plainly what an
immense proposition that was.
Eventually Mr. White disposed of a
half interest to H. P. Palmerston, of
Spokane, and he advised Jay P. Graves,
of Spokane, to take it up. Mr. Graves
looked into the matter, and finally decided to do so, organizing the Old
Ironsides Mining Co., A. L. White,
also of Spokane, being interested with
him in the enterprise from its inception.
This was the winter of 1895-6, and
Mr. Graves, although he had confidence in the properties, did not find it a
bed of roses in getting others interested.
However, in 1897, Mr. Graves decided
the Old Ironsides claim, and before
the end of that year it became known
that an ore body of almost fabulous
width, length, and no one knew how
deep, had been explored, and the attention of the mining world began to
be attracted.
About, or just before this time,
Mr. White and Mr. Graves succeeded
in interesting S. H. C. Miner, of
Granby, Quebec, in the group, as well
as other men of means from the Eastern Townships of that province. Some
of the Spokane men had become tired
of waiting, and sold out their shares—
always at a profit, however, as Old
Ironsides dollar shares were quoted at
$1.10 at one time, and Knob Hill
went as high as 95c.
More claims were acquired when it
In the history of mining concerns
there are always a large number of ups
and downs—successes and failures.
In the nature of things this must necessarily be so, as it is in all business
enterprises of whatsoever nature. But
no mining concern of this day—at
least in this province—can show the
steady, uninterrupted progress of the
Granby Co.
It has become only too well known
here in the Boundary that during the
last few*years no concern has done so
much to foster confidence in this district as has the Granby. When mining
in general had a setback two or three
years ago, and it seemed to be the
fashion for hitherto supposedly strong
concerns to curtail or entirely stop
operations, the Granby Co. not only
kept on steadily, but was constantly
enlarging its scope of usefulness in the
Boundary as a labor employer, and at
the same time was making greater preparations for turning out an increased
quantity of copper, gold and silver bullion from the company's smelter. With
its six furnaces it is today sending out
about a million and a half pounds of
copper bars per month. But further
details of the product will be given in
another part of this tale.
tured some sixty or eighty miles from
the nearest railway, which was at Marcus, Wash. But White and Hotter
believed they had found something
good at last, one of the claims being
named after the famous old frigate of
the United States navy, and the other
after Hctter's old home, Knob Hill,
San Francisco. John Stevens was a
side partner of Matt Hotter, and on
August 1, 1894, he located the Victoria
adjoining the Old Ironsides, which is
also included in the present Granby
group of mines, j
Times were hard in the Boundary,
however, and it was next to impossible
to  get  capital interested here, so far
to prosecute active development, and
sent John F. Hemenway here with a
small force of men to undertake it.
Mr. Hemenway had sole charge for
some months until Win. Yolen Williams arrived in the spring of 1898,
to assume the local control. Mr. Williams was the superintendent of
the Granby mines up to July 1, 1904,
when he resigned, and was succeeded
by A. B. W. Hodges, who then assumed charge of both mines and smelter.
Up to 1897 there had not been 150
feet of work done on the Old Ironsides,
the No. 1 shaft being down 100 feet,
with some drifting. Mr.Williai
work on the Knob Hill No.
as well as continuing the expl
came to be more and more realized
what a tremendous proposition was
here, and the first Granby smelting
company was organized, as well as the
Grey Eagle company. Eventually these
four companies were consolidated in
the Granby Consolidated Mining,
Smelting and Power Co., Ltd., with a
capital of $15,000,000.
The smelter had been erected at
Grand Forks with an initial capacity
of two furnaces, which   was   later  in
creased
ago  to
3 four, and about o
t tunnel,
six, with a total capacity of
2,000 tons of ore daily. And
more furnaces are to be added,
total battery of eight.
From the beginning the owners of
the Granby mines were favored by
having an ore that needed no outside
mixture of ores to help it to flux—being almost a perfect self-fluxing ere
itself. This was greatly in its favor,
and the most was made of it, reducing
the expense of treating it to the mini-
The first steam plant was brought to
the Old Ironsides mine in September
1897, and the next spring two drills
were operated with it. It was hauled
over poor roads from Marcus. In 1898
shortly
r the THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
magnificent equipment of machinery,
a sixty-drill machine, operated by two
700 horse power electric motors, all of
which are the largest of the kind in operation in Canada, and which furnishes
ample power for pumps, hoists and
a splendid machine shop. One can
then get some idea of the changes that
have taken place and the importance,
in a commercial way, of the undertaking.
In the  month  of July,  1900, the
1 the
company's smelter at Grand Forks,
then just finished with two' furnaces.
At first the ore shipments were at the
rate of about 350 tons daily, but were
shortly increased to 700 tons per day.
The next year two more furnaces being
added to the smelter equipment, the
shipments were again increased to some
1,400 tons daily. This rate continued
for a year or two, and in the meantime
the smelter equipment was again being
sued.
After
the fall of 190;
xblas
furna
s be-
brought economies that have heretofore
been unthought of in the history of
mining, at least in this province. Going more into detail as to what has
been done by this company in the last
year or two, the following may be men-
New machinery installed during two
years includes two Canadian Rand class
D cross-compound duplex air compressors, electrically driven and connected
to motors by rope drives, high- pressure
cylinders 16x36 inches, low-pressure
cylinders 28x36 inches, rated capacity
together, 8,228 cubic feet of free air
per minute, or 60 3^ inch machine
drills; two 700 horse power type C
Westinghouse induction motors, to
operate compressors; one type. No. 1
Thew automatic, single-truck steam
shovel, rated capacity 500 to 750 cubic
yards in 10 hours, built by the Thew
Automatic Shovel Co., of Lorain, Ohio;
one type No. 3 automatic, single-truck
steam shovel, capacity 1,000 to 1,500
cubic yards in 10 hours, and two 9x14
ore bins, having jaws opening 42x32
inches, and a capacity for crushing
rock to the size of 7 or 8 inches at the
of its ore by quarrying and tramming
through .the tunnels rather than by
hoisting from the lower levels, thus
reducing mining costs. At the present
time the steam shovels are handling
nearly one half of the ore output, and
the question of their use in the underground workings is now under consideration, with a view to determining
their practical use in the extensive
tunnels and stopes,.
As to the size of the ore bodies in
Granby mines, several statements have
been published, and while not always
official, it is hardly too much to state
that most of them, large as they appeared, were probably not exaggerations. When it is said that there are
50,000,000 tons of ore, the boundaries
pos
:ible
results, when cost of labor and coke
are considered, of any smelter in this
or any other land. At least this is
the opinion of experienced smelter
experts from abroad, who have come
to examine, half disbelieving, but who
have gone away thoroughly convinced.
Of course, there are excellent reasons
for this most satisfactory state of affairs.
In the first place, the management of
the Granby Co. secured the best man
available to be superintendent of the
works. Then they utilized the waterfalls nearby for power, being transmitted by wire. Every known device for
working out the economical side of
the question was introduced, and old
ones were improved upon, including
even the automatic furnace chargers,
the invention of Mr. A. B. W. Hodges,
the  superintendent.     Last,   but   not
&jS§?»  "...^ *2rft ^{j.1- .. •&■*„<&.
' '- ^.- '.ay *>.
gan the work of reducing nearly 2,000
tons of Phoenix ore per day, which
rate has since and is now being maintained steadily. The machinery plant
at the mines in Phoenix has a capacity
of getting out a least 5,000 tons of ore
daily.
Ore shipments from the Granby
mines for the last four years have been
as follows:
I9°°    64,533 toris
1901 231,762 tons
1902. .
.309,8.
equ:
Total 1,541,871 ton
It is probably a fact that no min
mpany in British Columbia is c
intly adding to and bettering
>re than the Granby
saddle tank locomotives, built by the
Davenport Machine Works, Davenport,
Iowa, for hauling the mine ore cars
from the workings to the ore bins.
This machinery has cost the con>
pany something like $150,000 alone,
and is constantly being added to. It
is all of the most modern and approved
manufacture, and calculated to materially assist in the reduction-of costs in
the production of ore.
In addition to the above last fall
new ore bunkers were constructed
for the No. 3 tunnel, and electrical
equipment for hauling ore, including
the first electric locomotive in the
Boundary, has been ordered and is now
being installed. All of this electrical
machinery was supplied by the Canadian   Westinghouse  Co., of  Hamilton,
7 the
and  1
of which have been explored, the
figures seem almost incomprehensible,
yet mining men conversant with the
conditions have made statements even
broader than this. It can readily be
seen that at the present rate of nearly
2,000 tons of ore daily for shipping
and smelting, this ore body will last
for many, many years. Then the
company-has announced its intention,
some time in the future, of driving a
long and deep tunnel, to reach the ore
bodies at a depth of upwards of r,5oo
feet, thereby opening up  untold  mil-
least, they were favored in the nature
of the Phoenix ore which they had to
treat—this ore being practically of a
self-fluxing nature, thereby requiring no
roasting or mixing with other ores, and
comparitively little fuel to make it run
well in the furnaces.
All these things aided in the magnificent results, in which also ample
capital and executive ability of a high
degree played a most important part.
The reader will do well to remember that at Grand Forks is located the
largest copper-gold smelter in Canada,
which  is  turning   out  approximately
It has been a surprise to the most
experienced of metallurgists when they
observed the economy which is common practice at all the Boundary
reduction  works,   including  those  of
monthly, be
side
s the
gold and
values.    No
ton
y is 1
t thelarg
duction wor
<s ir
the!
dominion,
is operated a
t  t
le mi
nimum of
Min
•  Co.,
J THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND.BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
distant, having analmoft inexhaustible
supply of ore.
After working on the construction
for perhaps a year, the first furnace of
the Granby smelter began the work of
reducing the ores from the company's-
mines August 13th, 1900. Inside of
eight weeks the second furnace was in
operation. The success of these two
furnaces was so satisfactory that it was
at once decided to double the capacity
of the plant, and in February, 1902,
the third furnace was started, the
fourth being blown in the following
month. Still greater things in the
smelting line were projected, however,
and two more furnaces were ordered,
and, after many delays, were started in
the fall of 1903—making the full battery of six furnaces now in operation
at this smelter, besides the reverber-
atory furnace. It has recently been
announced that in 1905 two more furnaces will be added to the smelter,
giving a total daily capacity of reducing
about 2,700 tons of ore.
At first the copper matte, the product of the blast furnaces, about 50
per cent, fine, was shipped east, where
it was converted into blister copper
and the gold and silver values extracted. But by doing this the company paid freight
e 50 per c
t. ofw
; possible a two stand copper
converter was added to the plant,
which meant a large saving in the item
of freight alone. This converter has
not only handled the matte of the
Granby smelter, but that of other smelters in the interior of British Columbia,
•as well, when occasion required, up to
■ the'present.
The following table gives in chronological order some data in regard to
the starting of operations at the Granby
July
Mine development.    5,698 lineal feet
Granby ore shipped
to smelter 514,387 dry tons.
Grariby ore smelted 516,059   "     "
Foreign ore smelted   36,182   "     "
A brief description of the plant and
machinery in use at the Granby smelter may be found of interest. While
the initial plant consisted of but two
blast furnaces, with blowers, electric
fixtures, etc., each year has seen a considerable addition to the machinery,
until now it is believed to be as complete as human  foresight and energy
In the plan of increasing the capac-
city of the reduction works during
1903 by one third, extensive additions
were made to the plant Two new
double-decked water jacket blast furnaces, 160x44 inches at the tuyeres,
were put in (bringing the treatment
capacity of the smelter, now having
six furnaces, up to nearly 2,000 ions
per day); three standard Connellsville
as  follows
official:
,024,415 lbs.
275,960 oz.
blowers, and three 100 hors
Westinghouse electric motors to operate them^a.full complement of receivers and cast steel 5-ton matte
ladles; two 12x14 Canadian Rand
Rock Drill Company's locomotives,
one Davenport saddle-tank locomotive, and fifteen 6 ton Union Iron
Works slag cars, for dumping the slag
hot instead of granulating it; and some
necessary equipment to make the copper converting part of the works equal
to converting the copper matte from
12 to 14 furnaces of the type in general
use in Boundary smelters—roughly 70
to 100 tons of matte each twenty-four
hours.
A milling machine for doing intricate
small work was  added  to the power
»ns increasing the  length
1 buildings to about 150
it equal to aboutji,ioo horse power
its own power house, situated just
below the smelter on the North Fork
of Kettle river, the Granby company
uses electric power supplied by the
Cascade Water, Power and Light Co.,
with which it has a contract for up to
1,000 horse power. A brick sub-station was built at the smelter early in
the year, and a double-circuit three-
phase line was brought in three miles
from the main transmission line between Cascade and Phoenix.
The electrical equipment placed in
the smelter sub-station includes one
set of 1,000 horse power Canadian
General Electric air-cooled step-down
transformers, with motor and Buffalo
blower, one set of 800 horse power
Westinghouse oil-cooled transformers,
switch-board lightning arresters, static
interrupters, and the customary other
apparatus. The voltage is here reduced   from    20,000,   which   is   the
t  the
nlin
volts.
sides making this provision for extra
power, more lighting facilities were
added about the works. Cascade,
where most of the power is generated,
is distant about 12 miles from the
smelter.
Taking it all in all, it is doubtful
if a more complete smelting plant can
be found on the American continent
than that of the Granby Co. at Grand
Forks. This, taken in conjunction
with the company's mines at Phoenix,
now so splendidly developed and
superbly equipped, would make it
appear that the Granby Co. will, indeed, be a factor in the world's copper
OFFICIALS  OF THE  GRANBY   CO.
The full list of officials of the Granby
Co. is as follows:
Jacob Langeloth, of New York,
president; Jay P. Graves, Spokane,
Wash, vice-president and general manager; G. W. Wooster, Grand Forks,
B. C, treasurer; Northrup Fowler,
New York, secretary; A. B. W. Hodges, Langeloth, all  of New
J.   P.   Graves  and  A.  L.  Wh
Spokane; W. H. Robinson, of (i
Quebec; H. L Higgi
James, Geo. C. Clark, of Boston, and
George M. Baker, of New York.
On the 16th December, 1903, the
Granby Co. declared a dividend of one
per cent on the issued shares of the
company, whieh was the equivalent of
ten per cent on the selling price of the
shares, the amount disbursed at that
time being $133,630. This was not
only the first dividend declared by
any company operating on low grade
ores, but probably the largest single
dividend declared by any mining company in British Columbia.
The group of mineral claims now
known as the Granby mines consists of
a block of ten claims, as follows : Old
Ironsides, Knob Hill, Victoria, Phoenix, Fourth of July, Aetna, Grey Eagle,
Banner, Tip Top and Triangle fraction, all adjoining, comprising 338
acres, and lying to one side of as well
in  the heart  of the  present  city  of
Something over a year ago a party
of New York and Boston men visited
the Granby mines, to verify for themselves the reports regarding the extent
of the ore bodies to be found here.
The party included some of the best
known and influential men connected
with the copper industry—men who
had been for years interested in the
highly profitable copper producers of
Northern Michigan.
Members of the party had previously
made heavy investments in Granbv
shares at the then market price of $4
per share. Afttt the trip of inspection
they increased their holdings materially—the   best   possible  evidence   of
their faith in the productiveness of the
Granby mines.
One of the party, now a director of
the company, was John Stanton, of
New York, often styled the "father of
the copper industry,"and acknowledged
to be one of the world's leading copper
men of the  day.     After  seeing the
that the depth should be com
ate wilh the length and width
well defined lode. All the re
had received respecting the sizi
ore body and its self-fluxing cl
have been confirmed  by perst
side  of
e of affairs
he  United
I have not a single criticii
. Both Mr. W. Yolen Williai
. A. B. W. Hodges, the smeli
tendent, have solved the m
d   metallurgical  problems,
ulphide ore deposit I hat
Granby n
said:
:s and smelter, Mr. Stanton
sight a
"There is no question
mense quantity of ore in
Granby mines. I am free to admit
that I came west prepared to discount
a great deal of what I had heard. How
deep this deposit extends nobody
knows.    It is purely conjectural.   How-
"I was really surprised to see so intelligent and up-to-date a company in
operation in this province. I refer
especially to the mining methods as
well as the organization, the mining
and smelting"plants and the system of
during the past
and n
i I s
s from 40
onsidered
I  don't
face quarrying operations are being
conducted also apppealed to us as
business men. Mining has to be adapted to conditions, and in this instance
Mr. Williams has certainly gone about
it in the right way. Some people may
say that the cost of extracting ore is
bound to increase after the company
shall have quarried out the ore body
to a level plane and resorted to deep
mining. Well, all I can reply is that
this consideration, in view of the enormous tonnage in sight, need not give
the management any concern for many
decades. The trees over my grave
will have attained full size before the
Granby company has to undertake to
solve any serious or expensive mining
"At Phoenix," he continued, "the
per shift than we do in Michigan, be-
the ore from a 15 foo THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL
of at least 2,000 feet. We have long
levels, encounter a good deal of water
and require plenty of timber. On the
other hand, we have an advantage in
the way of cheaper wages, cheaper fuel
and lower railway rates.
"British  Columbia has yet hardly
assumed the positi
world t
"1 r
'he  Granby  mines  employ
1 than any other copper producer
'he equipment of the Granby mines
ifficient to turn out 5,000 tons or
e of copper-gold ore daily,
'he Granby Co. pays more freight
ores and merchandise than any
tr copper producer in Canada.
and believe that the Granby company
The   Granby   mines    have    never
will be the lever that will attract capital
ceased operations  since development
for the development of your enormous
was begun, about seven years ago.
mineral resources.    My only regret is.
The Granby Co. for the last two or
that time  will  not permit me to see
three years  has   been  paying  freight
more of the province.   Some people
bills averaging about $1,000 per day.
are kind enough   to  credit  me  wiih
The Granby mines are the only cop-
The Granby mines have the largest
air compressors—60 drills capacity at
5,000 foot level—in use "any copper
mines in Canada—driven by electric
motors with 1,400 horse power.
The Granby mines are equipped'
with two of the largest ore crushers in
Canada—capable, if operated night
and day at full  capacity,  of crushing
gjH
elec
hout.     It is a
Mastered
h   large   airy   ro
oms, in-
:ommodate two
or three
inection with it
ire capa-
nd   wash   room
s,     with
It  also  has
a  large
is of re
■f the Granby r
Inc.
shower  baths.
When completed, the Granby hotel
was leased to W. S. Macy & Co.—the
company being William M. Law—and
Mr. Macy has since been in charge, to
the evident satisfaction of the from
200 to 300 men who are constantly his
guests. The two half-tones on this
page will give an idea of the exterior
of the Granby hotel and of the large
dining room.
In connection with the Granby hotel,
iption of the properties
Granby    Co.   would
be complete without
ce to the Granby hotel
the  company for the
Mr. Mac
about tei
Kettle ri
Frc
egetabl.
oenix, in the
n this ranch
s the table of the Granby
milk daily, fresh eggs, poul-
ld a large proportion of the
and other necessaries of the
I in the
that
having a large following
upon my opinion and advice.    On
return I shall not hesitate
the   copper-gold  ore   bodies of   thi
Boundary are among the largest in ttv
world, and that mining is already bein:
conducted at a very handsome profit
Ass.
5 the r
appreciated  in the  ea
turn chis way seeking ii
affair
The Granby mines are the largest
shippers of copper-gold ores in Canada.
The Granby Co. owns and has five
locomotives  in  service at mines and
shovels are used to handle the ore.
The Granby smelter, with its six
blast furnaces and two copper converters, is the largest  copper  smelter  in
The Granby smelter produces about
monthly,  exclusive  of the  gold  and
! camp life, they usually con-
; buildings, with deal bunks
in  tiers  around   the  walls.
and gives Mr. Macy a supply on which
he can depend at all times. In fact,
it is an advantage that few mine boarding  houses  in British  Columbia can
All told, Mr. Macy has a corps  of
■   Co.
listrict favorably
Northern  about
reach the Granby
hardly come under that misleading title.
agement of the Granby Co. foresaw
that a considerable number of men
would soon be in the company's employment at the mines, and determined
to provide for their accommodation in
Granby hotel was erected at a total
cost of about $30,000. The building
itself is three stories in height, with a
high   basement,   and   is,  of   course,
ly a score of per-
the best of wages
:, he secures  the
>oarding house in
neral satisfaction
is the Granby
it.    Mr.  Mai PIONEER AND BOUNDARY
INSTITUTIONS    OF    PHOENIX.
Financial Standing of Phoeni:
0
Phoenix PuLlic Schoo
debt—problem
s   that
st  be  co
n-     more th
sidered sooner
or later
hospital
has
been
an   in
In Phoenix
one of
the
needs th
at     institutio
rid ther
eafter-
s a city hall,
n the present
than   before—has
ks in lire, and
for the-year 1904 consisted of W. J.
e best of care,
Porter,   vice-president;  J.  L.  Martin,
is absolutely
secretary-treasurer; H. N. Galer, J. B.
life.
Macaulav,   W.   S. Macy,  and  James
oenix General
Punch.    Miss  Howe  is   the  efficient
and incorpor-
matron, with a competent staff of two
ent  Societies'
or three nurses.
British Colum-
A most valuable aid in the work of
rporated came
the   hospital  has  been the  Hospital
means for the
Ladies' Aid, composed  of women of
e building for
all denominations in the city, who have
A year passed
taken  upon   themselves   the   task  of
and then the
assisting in raising the much needed
with  an   irt-
funds for things constantly needed in
heing employ-
the hospital.    Their work has been of
jspital project
a noble and unselfish character, and
ind     of Charles
ated municipalities in the Bou
idarv, it
George E.
is probably in the best fi'nanc
ial posi-
ford, secre
tion of any.    A'l told, the del
t of the
Like all
city amounts to $7,500  to t
le bank,
class with
secured by debentures.    Thi
money
receives  a
was borrowed for the purpos
i of im-
province 0
I9o4 cons
sted of
| Yv Tho
mpson.
he public
school
a grant fr
3m the
olumbia.
Should
uTthe^al
city of
cVchodh
is been
s to grow
>n that
i hold of, public subscri]
did  on July  1st
i been the mean
J TIE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
THE   SNOWSHOE   MINE.
IN all the 1'ounJary there is but one
group of mines  that   has   been
steadily developed  for years and
brought to the point where it can
be made a steady producer, by English
capital.    This does not mean that no
English capital has become interested
rather
as originally located in 1891, and
ter relocated. Then Patrick Clark,
re Spokane mining operator, took a
3nd on the property, but failed to do
due. On the recommendation of
W. Astley, M.E., a bond was finally
.ken on the Snowshoe by the British
company in particular has done more
than all the rest combined—we mean
when operated with English capital—
in the shape of development and getting a mining properly to a point where
it can steadily maintain ore shipments.
This property is the Snowshoe group,
but one group removed from the
Granby mines, and located only ten
' minutes' walk from the C.P.R. station
in Phoenix.
That the Snowshoe is one of the
groups of important Boundary mines
is generally admitted, and the fact that
it has already shipped approximately
100,000 tons of ore speaks for itself.
The further fact that it is not now
being operated does not lessen its importance one-whit. Reasons for this
will be explained later in this story.
This group comprises the Snowshoe,
Pheasant, Alma fraction and Fairplay
fraction mineral claims, crown granted
and adjoining. The principal claim
of the group, and the one on which
most of the development has 1 een
done, is  the Snowshoe.    This  claim
Columbia (Rossland and Slocan) Syndicate, Ltd., and that concern, with
Anthony J. McMillan as managing
director, at once entered upon a long
period of development, practically
bringing the mine to the condition it
is in today—where it has ore bodies of
sufficient size to permit of the property
shipping 500 or more tons per day for
ed  1
:  $130,0,
orkfr
1899
Mr. George S. Waterlow, who is
a son of Sir Sydney Waterlow, is one
of the best friends that this district
has in England. Mr. McMillan has
been identified with the Snowshoe
from the time of the inception of development work, and Mr. Astley likewise.     Mr.   Astley   had   had   some
1  the  United   States   and
by electricity, the current having been
supplied by the Cascade Water, Power
and Light Co., which also supplies
power to the Granby company's mines.
The power plant of the mine, in •
1902, included two steam boilers, two
air compressors together rated at about
12 drills, machine drills, hoisting engine at. the shaft, and an auxiliary hoist
in the tunnel, steam pumps, etc.    In
1903, the first half of a Rand Corliss
30-drill air compressor, to have a working pressure of 125 lbs., a' combined
machine to be driven by either steam
cr electricity, and two 80 horse power
tubular
with
0 lbs.
Total shipments ot ore . .  94,040
All the Snowshoe ores carry gold
and copper, the copper either sprinkled
freely throughout, or more generally
disseminated in fine particles. The
ores vary in character, the gangue be-
calcarous, while again it is magnetic or
specular hematite. In parts of the
property the several varieties occur in
quite distinct bodies and in others
they are mixed.
Development work during 1903 included about 700 lineal feet of driving,
cross-cutting and raising, and the sinking  of   the  main  three-compartment
nowshoe Gold and (
was organized in London with a
d of ,£250,000 to take over the
3 and operate the same. This
>any was organized by the pro-
rs of the old syndicate and was
:d without trouble in England at
le when it was difficult to flcat
ling.    The chairman is the Earl
aterlow, Esq.; manag'ng director,
ony J. McM.l an.
lother
:s depth 3
siderable
of surface stripping
was done during that year also, and
stopes were opened up-and-timbered
on the different levels. Ore was extracted  from what  is  known  as  the
be brought into the d strict) were supplied by the Jenckes Machine Co., of
Sherbrooke, Que., in addition to electric hoist and 150 horse power boiler
heretofore mentioned, installed in the
In addition to the excellent equipment of machinery for the Snowshoe,
the management has provided excellent boarding and bunk houses for the
employees, as wellas residences for the
superintendent and foreman. With
the C.P.R. running across the property,
already having built three sidetracks
on the Snowshoe ground, and the survey for the branch of the Great Northern to Phoenix doing the same, the
Snowshoe is in the best of positions
as far as transportation facilities are
concerned.
On the 16th of December, 1903,
operations at the Snowshoe were suspended, pending the completion of
details of an amalgamation plan with
the British Columbia Copper Co., Ltd.,
owning a.nd operating, the Mother Lode
mine and smelter, the Snowshoe hav-
>rth of
Tunnel or No. r level, the 200-foot
and 300-foot levels, and from several
ore quarries opened from the surface.
The mine is now in excellent condi-
sible, workings conveniently arranged,
power equipment adequate, and ore
bins and trackage provided, so that a •
daily output of 500 tons can readily be
maintained. From 60 to 100 men
were regularly employed at the mine.
The improvements and additions to
machinery, plant and buildings during
1903 included the completion of ore
bins with a capacity of 2,500 tons,
building of head frame and skipways,
and the installation of a 150 horse
power double conical-drum electric
hoist  with  motor  to  operate  it, and
high
the
smelters, which did not prove to be
satisfactory to the management.
It was confidently expected that
this consolidation would be made effective, but in February, 1*904, the
announcement was made that the
directors of the two companies had
not, after all, agreed upon a basis of
amalgamation.
Anthony J. McMillan, the managing
director of the Snowshoe, is also holding a similar position with the LeRoi
Mining Co., Ltd., operating the famous
mine of that name in Rossland, which
has paid more than a million dollars in
dividends, and latterly Mr. McMillan
has been  looking after the affairs of
; shipments when it owned last fall steps were taken that may result in a few months in the operation of
the Snowshoe on a larger scale than ever.
The proposition in hand is nothing
less than the consolidation of the Le-
Roi, Centre Star and War Eagle, the
most prominent mines in Rossland
camp, with the Snowshoe. During the
last fall, Prof. R. W. Block, in charge
of the Dominion geological survey,
and a professor at the Kingston Royal
School of Mines, spent a month with
a dozen assistants in an exhaustive examination of the Snowshoe mine, on
which he will make a report shortly.
At present he is occupied in making
an examination of the Rossland properties mentioned. What decision
will be arrived at by the directors of
the different companies owning the
mines included in the proposed amalgamation, is, of course, not known.
But there seems good reason to believe   that   the   Snowshoe,   with, its
complet
At the second annual meeting of the
Snowshoe Gold and Copper Mines,
Ltd., held in London, the directors
presented reports that contain many
interesting facts. Mr. Geo. S. Water-
low, Mr. McMillan, and Dr. Jones
had visited the Snowshoe several times,
and thus are intimately acquainted with
the plan of development that has
been carried forward. At the meeting
referred to, the chairman, the Right
Hon. the. Earl of Chesterfield, had the
following to say:
"It gives me great pleasure to be
able to state that, since the formation
of the company in June of last year,
development work has been vigorously
prosecuted, and, as a result, further
large bodies of ore have been opened
up. At the present time the mine is
shipping some 200 to 250 tons of ore
per  day, and  very  shortly, when the
ingle
low, my co-directors will not, I trust,
feel any pangs of jealousy. If I may
be allowed to say so, the Snowshoe
the infant of Mr. Waterlow.
He has watched oyer it and tended it,
and he has at various times spent days
and weeks and months, not alone in
this country, but on the mine itself and
in other parts of Canada, working on
behalf of the shareholders, to ensure
of the undertaking. It is
my hope, as_well as it is my conviction,
that these worthy efforts of his will
shortly be crowned with the success
they certainly merit.
"In conjunction with Dr. Lewis
Jones, one of your directors, Mr. Water-
low spent some two or three weeks at
ore quarries and the new buildings
that had been erected.
"Should you visit the mines yourselves, you could not help being impressed with the large bodies of ore
which are already shown up both on
the  surface  and underground.     Our
infancy, compared to the mines above
us known as the Knob Hill and Old
Ironsides, and belonging to the Granby
company. It is not above 1,000 yards
or so from the Snowshoe, but, working
for a much longer period, they have
exposed bodies of ore that are stated
to be a mile in length, and embrace,
so it is said, a tonnage of seventy
million tons.
"I should like to assure you that I
am convinced that in the Snowshoe
mine you have a property capable of a
great future; good honest men working
' in its interest; and a very cautious engineer in stating its possibilities. And
I cannot conclude these remarks with-
jj hoist
;   the
1 shafi
thei
«iSa^!i
NHM3I
iJjggSftaaill
:velopm,
e that c
,  and
faci
ities,  extensive
to ship 500 to 700 to
ns of ore per day.
ssow
SHOE  EM
■"a*-
nillion  tons of
I may say that the or
e is being mined
e n
easured, to say
in the most economic
al manner.
the mi
le this las
autumr
fori*
"I mentioned last
year that electric
sure th
t both the
e gentle
larg
e stopes of the
mine by the Kettle B
ought up to  the
nesses,
give  you
testing
t of
the present position and future prospects of the property.
"Of our managing director, Mr. McMillan, it-would be impossible for me
to speak too highly, and the shareholders are to be most sincerely congratulated on having a gentleman of
such energy, of such capability, and,
above all, so highly respected in British
Columbia, to watch over their interests
during the many months of the year in
which it is his lot to reside at or near
the Snowshoe mine, and also in London.
"We are convinced that befoie long
we shall be able to prove to the invest-
Mr. McMillan, for the way in which
he has worked for our interests, as
both in British Columbia and other
parts of Canada and in London he has
unceasingly and untiringly devoted
himself to the interests of this company. He is well known all over
Canada, and is one of the best known
men in British Columbia, and we are
very much indebted to him for the able
way in which the management has been
carried out on the Snowshoe mine.
"It may interest you to know that THE PHOENIX PIONEEP
) BOUNDARY MINING JOURNA
BRITISH  COLUMBIA  COPPER   COMPANY, LTD.
0
er than mos
of
copper converters inst
died.    The con-
the first m
ne
verter   plant . include
the  following
apable of do
n   1898  a t
ng
machinery:   In powe
a Nordberg blowing
house (81x40),
engine, arranged
compressor
for either steam or ele
ctricity, capacity
1 Marcus, Wa
sh-
5,000 cubic feet of a
r per minute, at
t railway po
nt,
12 pounds pressure; a
300 horse power
3 prio
nPb<
In 1896 the claim was bonded to
Col. John Weir, F. L. Underwood and.
S. F. Tichenor, of New York, who
that year formed the Boundary Mines
Co., to develop the Mother Lode.
They began work on the property in
September, 1896. In March, 1898,
the British Columbia Copper Co., Ltd.,
was  formed   in   New  York,  with  a
operate the Mother Lode and adjoining claims of that group. The company now owns the Mother Lode,
Primrose, Offspring, Ten Broeck, Sunflower and Don Julio mineral claims,
which are conveniently located for the
most advantageous working.
s under
iposu
the Primrose, some  7,°°° fee!
opposite direction, also shows its continuity to the south, the whole making
body of smelting ore.    The
usual complement of ore crushers
n rolls, sample grinders, etc.
1 shaft is down 325 feej, with the smelter is supplied with two Allis
long levels running at both 200 and Chalmers stack furnaces, 42 inche:
300 feet depth. At present the smel- wide by 150 inches long, inside dimen
ter's two furnaces are being supplied sions of tuyeres, of which there are ter
largely  from   the  surface of the  ore     on each side, of 3)4 inches in diam
The capital of the British Columbia
Copper Company was increased to
$2,000,000 in 1902, in shares of $5
each. Of this stock, 256,800 shares
have been issued, leaving 143,200 out
of the original 400,000 in the treasury.
The president of the company is F.L.
Underwood; vice-president, F. L.
Sommers; treasurer, C. E. Laidlaw,
and secretary, R. H. Eggleston, all of
New York City. The general manager
of the company from the beginning
has been Frederic Keffer,.M.E.; superintendent of the mine, S. C. Holman;
economical method of getting out the
The main ore quarry has been opened well up the side of the Mother
Lode hill, other openings having been
made at other levels, and tunnels run
beneath, through which the ore is
dropped from the large quarries, and
thence taken at small cost to the
crushers,   which  are  located   at   the
eter. At first the power for the two
No. 7^ Connellsvilie blowers, as well
as for other purposes, was furnished by
a Reynolds-Corliss engine, rated at 150
horse power, there being three 100
horse power boilers to make the steam.
This was superseded, however, last
summer by electric power from Cascade, 25 miles distant, a.contract having
been made with the Cascade Water,
Power and Light Co. to furnish all the
The best of results have been ob
tained at this smelter in reducing ore,
owing to the ore itself being, like most
Boundary ores, of a self-fluxing nature,
that is, needing but little outside ores
to: mix with it to make it run well in
speed induction motor, with switch
boards, etc.; two sets of tranformers to
reduce voltage from 2,000 to 550; a
75 kilowatt "motor-generator to produce direct current at 250 volts, for
driving electric crane, and trolley locomotives; an hydraulic accumulator and
pump for tilting converters, run .by
25 horse power motor.
In the converter room there are two
converter stands equipped with all
necessary appliances; five shells are
provided; a 40-ton 4-motor electric
travelling crane handles the matte in
5-ton ladles, which are filled by launders
connecting with furnace forehearth.
The flue dust is caught in specially
arranged steel and brick dust chambers,
and a briquetting plant is now being
put in. The building is entirely of
steel. A spur from the maiii line of
line of the C.P.R. serves the converter
department of the works, and no expense has been spared to make the
plant up-to-date in every particular.
In some respects the Mother Lode
is fairly representative of the larger
copper-gold ore deposits occurring in
the Boundary district. The croppings
are in places soft oxides of iron from
decomposition of ore-bearing rock
and in others unaltered magnetic iron PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUND
oxides, very solid and compac
ing copper pyrites, and gold.
ide outcrops, the chief of
l big copper-stained blow-
ng   out   prominently   and
r  barren   rock, but the
es into the country rock
ENEKAl.  VIEW   OK
UOUIhK  LODE  MIX
, 1»U
it is more or less defined
also qu
irtz, garnets or serpentine
often
200 foot level c
re with calcitic ga
igue,
y, so that it is difficult to
all thre
e together.    Occasional
y, too,
carrying galena.
and zinc blende,
and
few feet where the pay
a small
quantity of zinc blende
occurs
assaying well in
silver, but not in
suffi-
ut.    On the other hand
in this
.lass of ore.    3. An exce
ssively
cient quantities
to regard it as a
sepa-
s   place  to  the   barren
hard   n
ia?netic  oxide   of  iron
with
rate  class.    T
e  several vanetit
s   of
3n the hanging wall side
silica a
nd  copper pyrites;  not
often
ore above  des
cribed blend into
one
tive   abruptness,   fading
much i
another, more 1
r less, but this ge
neral
P within a foot or two.
ody of
A mahi tunnel has been driven
nearly a thousand feet into the hill on
a level with a bench on which has been
erected ore bins and other facilities for
ore shipping.    From th:s tunnel several
quarry was
opened at a level about 1 to feet above
that of the tunnel, and other quarries
below and above. From the highest
point at which' the ore outcrops on the
hill down to the level of die main tunnel the depth is about 260 feet, and
;haft,
feet.
. those on the top of
larger percentage of
sulphur, facilitates matte making in the
smelter furnaces. The laises from the
tunnels to the quarries are funnel-
shaped at the top, so that when blasted
down from the faces of the quarries,
the ore may fall into them without
handling. Rocks too large to pass
through the bin gates of the hoppers
at !he bottom of the chutes are "bulldozed.'' The ore is drawn from the
chutes into 3-ton cars, which are hauled
by horses to the ore crushers having
the capacity of 65 to 80 tons of rock per
each, crushed to a size not ex-
ng five inches. From the crusher
elevating machim
shipping   bins  above  the  railway
The Mother Lode is opened up
iufficiently to enable it t
>utput up to 1,000 tons per diem,
vhenever the company shall increase
ment capacity of its smelter
to require that quantity in addition to
custqm ores it also treats.
From the annual mining review of
the Nelson (B.C.) Daily News, January 1, 1905, we quote the following
regarding the developments and progress at the Mother Lode mine during THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
ago in a large body of ore of a good
grade. This ore may prove to be the
same body as that in No. 5 quarry,
but this cannot be determined until
the raise, now being made, shall break
through.    When the mine was visited
about 50 feet more to be passed
through before^ the connection would
be made.
The consolidation of the crushing
plants having been decided upon, a
new tunnel was driven to intersect the.
main shaft from which the 200-foot
and 300-foot levels were opened, on
the same level as the quarry tunnel.
At the shaft a large pocket has been
excavated, and this will discharge the
4 to 5-ton skips, obtained to replace
the cages previously used. The skips
will empty into a bin at the head of
the shaft, the ore passing thence to
either one of a pair of Jenckes-Farrell
crushers, each having a jaw-opening of
24x36 inches. These crushers will be
worked by two engines, driven by
compressed air,, so arranged that either
engine can drive either crusfler, thus
reducing chances of stoppages by breakdowns in either engines or crushers,
riil take the crushed
re bins for shipment
the company's smel-
A belt conveyor \
ore to the main o
by rail thence to
"   ter at Greenwood.
All the plant for this improved arrangement for crushing the ore has
been purchased and some of it has
already been installed. Where the excavation was made for the crushers a
body of good ore was opened up and
from this 6,000 to 7,000 tons were
taken out. This body of ore has since
been proved to be of considerable size,
recent reports placing its dimensions,
so far as yet explored, at 200 feet by
130 feet. The diamond drill has been
used underground during recent
months with satisfactory results, one
hole proving the occurrence of very
good magnetic oxide ore down to 345
feet below the collar of the shaft, at
which depth the drill was withdrawn.
The ore receipts at the British Columbia Copper Co.'s smelting works,
during the year 1904 (those for December having been estimated), totalled
211,864 tens. The sources of this ore
were as follows: Ymir, 148 tons; Rossland, 22,360 tons; Boundary, 188,249
tons; foreign ores (chiefly from Repub-
—-
No.sfcy
"gtjr
i
S$|
-Co
%vj$?
Scctlo.
Centre
F
1
Molh
rU^Mine
	
/O-fr
Mule
'•     1     our /
1
2w>'I.*veirr..u.*lu:,,al.
a
arigi j-el
0 Feel 1
0 T T T 5
1 r T %
I     j
I     ]
f     J      1C
lie   and   neighboring   camps),   1,107 The tonnage <
tons.    Of these ores, 1,197 tons were smelter for the si
gold-quartz; 148 tons of silver-bearing the foreign ore r<
lime; and  210,519 tons gold-copper, was as follows:
Included in the foregoing were 70 tons
'he  produc
jre treated at this
al years, including
ved for reduction,
' blisl
matte was 2,489 t
copper, 1,526 tons. The matte
bessemerized at Tacoma until Jun
and thereafter at the company's
works.   The total production of n
1902.
(including estimate for December) was
as follows: Gold, 35,911 ozs.; silver,
116,685 ozs.; copper, 5,201,073 lbs.
The completion and successful operation of- the bessemerizing works that a
constitutes the leading feature of pro
gress at this company's smelter, where
the matte made, as well as custom
matte, is converted into blister copper.
IN point of shipments and men
employed the Emma mine, in
what is known as Summit camp,
about five miles from Phoenix,
is the most important mine in
that camp. This property originally
belonged to W. T. Smith, a well
known Boundary pioneer,  and  Mac
kenzie, Mann & Co., the latter of
Toronto. Some three years ago Mr.
Smith sold his interest, one-quarter, to
the Hall Mining and Smelting Co., of
Nelson, that company finding the iron
ores of the Emma, with some copper
values, just the thing for fluxing purposes—for which previously barren
iron ore had been purchased. The
Nelson smelter people operated the
property and took out many thousands
of tons of ore, some of which they
used themselves, the balance going to
the different smelters of Kootenay and
Yale. It was found by experience
that the ore was admirable for the
special purpose intended, having besides some values therein."
Last June, J. J. Campbell, commercial agent of the Hall Mining &
Smelting Co., secured the interest of
Mackenzie, Mann & Co. in the Emma,!
and later disposed of this three-fourths
interest to the B. C. Copper Co., of
Greenwood. An arrangement was
then  entered  into  between  the  two
and is being, operated by the B. C.
Copper Co., of which Frederic Keffer
is manager.
The Emma is a quarrying proposition, and like all propositions of that
kind the ore can be delivered on cars
economically. Thus far all the ore
has been shipped over the C.P.R.,
which has a spur on the Emma ground.
The new Great Northern branch from
Grand Forks to Phoenix, also passes
over the ground of the Emma, which
gives ' the-mine an outlet over two
independent lines of railway.
During the year 1904 important development work was carried on at the
Emma, the shipments being steady
meanwhile to the several smelters.
Demonstration was made of the existence of additional large reserves of the
same high character of fluxing ore as
had been taken out of the property,
with even better values in gold and
copper. A second. incline was sunk,
starting from the bottom of the lower
railway spur, and from the face of this
considerable diamond drilling was carried on, with what are reported to be
excellent results.
In the last four years the Emma
mine has produced approximately 70,-
000 tons of ore, as follows:
'9°'        65010ns
1902     8,530 tons
x9°3 22,937 tons
1904 (estimated) 38,000 tons
Total 70,117 tons
Taken altogether, there seems, in
conservative minds, no doubt that the
British Columbia Copper Co. has
secured a group of mines, which, well
equipped with machinery and ores admirably adapted for blending, together
wi n the company owning a smelter of
its own, will, at no distant date, place
this  company  in  the profit   sharing
MfiattBH CHURCHES    IN    PHOENIX.
HISTORY of-the <
AH
£   ^    interesting  facts,  and  shows
that, while progress has been
made all along the line of secular ef
fort ii
,  the
teachings of home
across the water i
far a
not been forgotten by those who settled in these mountains to build up the
town of Phoenix. As a rule religious
work is not a plant of quick growth in
mining camps, yet it can be said truthfully that in Phoenix it has steadily
progressed, in some degree, from year
to year, due to the faithful work of
those interested in the cause.
PresLyrerian Church.
TO David A. Stewart is due the
credit  for  holding   the   first
church   services  in  Phoenix,
which occurred on July 6th,
n the then new dining :
growth with the church. In the spring
of 1900 Mr. Stewart departed to resume his theological studies in the
East and there was a succession of
ministers for longer or shorter periods,
including Rev. Jos. McCoy, Rev.
James Sutherland, Rtv. John Millar,
Rev. V. M. Puidy and the present
pastor, Rev. E. C. W. MacColl, who
came here just a year ago this month.
In the fall of 1900 it was decided
that the time had come to build a
church home, and a site being secured
from the Old Ironsides Mining Co., as
a donation, in the present central location, with the help of liberal donations and a loan of $700 from the
church society in the east, the build-
and is the largest church edifice in
Phoenix, being 33x54 feet in size, heated with hot air and lighted by electricity. It is valued at about $4000 as it
stands. Being so centrally located
and the first organization of the nature
in Phoenix, it has had a good support
generally. The church is also the
owner of a neat manse. The present
officers of the church are as follows:
Board of Managers—G. E. Dey,
chairman; Isaac Crawford, secretary-
treasurer; Duncan Murray. J. S.JSoyce,
J. W. Hannam, Thos.*Brown and
A. S. Williamson.
Ladies'Aid—Mrs. Wm. G. Frazer,
president; Mrs. I. Crawford, secretary
and Mr. John A. Morrin, treasurer.
Sunday School—Rev. MacColl, superintendent; Mrs. I. Crawford, Miss
McKenzie and Mrs! MacColl, teachers.
was wholly inadequate. Hardy hall
and the Graves-Williams hall had been
used in turn, but it was not until the
beginning of Mr. Green's second year
that definite preparations were made
for the erection of the r
that r
indefatigable ener]
:ceived
estified
to his popularity and assured him of
the support of his fellow-workers. So
in spite of much opposition to the project,   sufficient  funds were  raised  to
was a young Presbyterian missionary,
who for months held services in Greenwood Sunday mornings, in Eholt the
same afternoons and in Phoenix the
evenings of the same days, and made
the entire distance on foot. Mr Stewart's vim, energy, tact and general
manliness endeared him to nearly
everyone, and he is remembered most
pleasantly by all with whom he came
in contact. After that first meeting
services for a few weeks were held in
the log building now used as the
Brooklyn bunk house, and then for a
hotel.
In September the log school house
was occupied, and the service was the
first meeting of any kind held in that
building—and as Mr. Stewart remarked,
it got in ahead of the inevitable dance.
Tuesday, October 24, 1899, a business meeting was called for organization purposes, when the first board of
managers of what was later called St.
Andrew's Presbyterian church, was
chosen. The Sunday sehool was organized December 10, 1899. About
this time the first trustees of the church
were chosen, consisting of A.-P. McKenzie, J. E. Mills and W. B. Willcox.
From that time on was a period of
The Methodist Church.
'NLESS the true progress of a
city can be measured entirely
in terms of wealth or population, the influence of religion
be reckoned among  the  factors
ibuting  to  the development   of
Phoenix.    Not the least potent in this
development has been the Methodist
church which was founded in this camp
by Mr. G. R. B. Kinney, B.A., in June,
1901. Mr. Kinney was confronted by
difficulties enough, but stimulated rather than discouraged by obstacles, he
gathered about him a small but earnest band of workers who by their cooperation with Mr. Kinney and his
successors have done . much toward
making this denomination what it is
today in Phoenix.
Services were first held in what is
now the city hall, and later in the
Miners' Union hall, as the struggling
cause had to accept what circumstances thrust upon it.
When   Mr.   Kinney  left   in   June,
1902, he was succeeded by Mr. Thos.
Green, B. A., of Toronto, as missionary. A bright future for Phoenix
Methodism was anticipated when Mr
guarantee the building of a church.
Without the self-sacrificing gift of $550
from Mr. Green's friends in Toronto,
however, the church could nevfer have
been built.
After many delays the new church
was dedicated on September n, 1904,
by Dr. J. H. White, the Superintendent of missions for British Columbia.
In the meantime Mr. Green had
been succeeded at the end of his year
in June by D. M. Perley, B. A., and it
was a cause of deep regret that Mr.
Green was unable to see the completion of the work for which he had labored so faithfully. The work of such
devoted pioneers will not be in vain
and a bright future is in store for Phoenix Methodism.
- The quartetly official board for 1904
consisted of C. W. Greer and Hugh
Reed.
The trustee board for 1904 was
C. W. Greer, Hugh Reed, E. R. Dawson, George Murphy and Rev. J. D. P.
Knox.
The Ladies' Aid officers are: President, Mrs. Hilda Smith; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Silas Smith.
Sunday school officers are: Superintendent, C. W. Greer; secretary, Stuart Hudson; treasurer, Mrs. Dan Martin.
n Catholic Church.
appom
is he
had lately carried off one of the highest academic honors of Toronto university. Nor were these hopes disappointed, as Mr. Green has been chiefly
instrumental in making the Methodist
church in this city what it is today.
His genial nature, his scholarly attainments and his unaffected piety, at once
won him  a place in the hearts of all
classes, e
among
those not favor
able to the cause for which he worked.
Under his energetic leadership the
growth of the church was steady, and
at last it became evident that in a city
with the assured successful future of
Phoenix, a hall hired for the purpose
Ron
REV. Father J. A. Bedard, O.M.I.,
pastor of this church, was born
at St Eugene, Ont., in 1858.
Made his classics at Bourget
college, Rigamd, P.Q., and his philosophy and theology at the Catholic university of Ottawa.- He was ordained
in Ottawa in 1887 and the same year
came to British Columbia where he
remained ever since. He was successively in charge of the Catholic church
in Kamloops, Nelson, Cariboo, and
Mission,.City. In December, 1900,
he was placed in charge of the Catholic missions throughout the Boundary
district, making Greenwood his head
quarters and gave Phoenix divine serv-
Early in the spring of 1901, four
lots in block 26, city of Phoenix, were
purchased. On the 15th of November, 1903, the church of Our Lady of
the Good Counsel was opened for di-
a sightly location, 23x42 feet in size,
with a steeple and a bell. The Catholic congregation of Phoenix is steadily increasing and possesses property
as follows:
Land valued at     $2000
Buildings valued at        2657
Total     $5107
All money was collected in Phoenix
—none came from the outside. On
this property there is a debt of $1200.
At the church of Our Lady of the
Good Counsel divine service is held
twice a month, viz: the second and
fourth Sunday of each month. Holy
Mass at 10 o'clock a.m. Vespers and
Benediction at 7:30 p.m. Sunday
School at 2:30 p. m.
Ladies Aid and Altar Society meets
every 4th Sunday of each month.
President, Mrs. T. Finnigan; vice-
president, Mrs. C. Campbell; secretary, and treasurer, Mrs. P. H. Cos-
grove. The League of the Sacred
Heart meets every 2nd Sunday of each
month. President, Mrs. W. Barnett;
vice president, Mrs. W. S. Doyle; secretary and treasurer, Mrs. T. Finnigan;
promoters, Mrs. C. Campbell, Mrs.
W. S. Doyle, Mrs. W. Barnett, Mrs.
T. Finnigan and Mrs. P. H. Cosgrove.
The Catholic Society Club meets
every Thursday at 8 o'clock p. m.
President, C. J. McAstocker; vice-
president, W. H. McDonald; secretary,  M.  H. Mullen; treasurer, P. H.
Other Churches.
IN addition to the three churches
above referred to, there are two
other church buildings in Phoenix.
The Church of England has an
organization, and has erected a neat
chapel, called St. John's mission, at a
cost of about $2000. Services are
held in this church once a month.
Some two years ago the Congrega-
tionalists erected a church building at
a cost of more than $2,500 on Gospel
hill—so called because the buildings
of the Roman Catholics, the Church THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
BOUNDARY MINES PRODUCED $4,000,000.00 IN 1904
A short review of the mining pro ■
gress of the Boundary for the year
1904 shows that the last twelve
months have been a period of decided
progress and encouragement to every
one in this section. In the last three
years the business of mining has been
brought to a more solid basis than ever
before, with results well calculated to
encourage those directly interested in
the industry. The real business of
mining, in short, was never in as good
a condition in the Boundary as it is
today, with every prospect of there being a steady and substantial increase
in the year to come. More men are
- working in the mjnes, more furnaces
are being operated at the three district smelters, and better results, both
from high and low grade mines, are
being obtained.
The last year has certainly been one
of no little progress in Phoenix camp.
At the beginning of the year the Snow-
shoe mine was closed, and is still inactive, but those in a position to know
assert that this large and well developed property, with its million tons ■ of
ore blocked out and 100,000 tons already broken down in the stopes, will
not long remain idle. Should the English capital interested in the Snowshoe
not include the mine in the large Rossland mine merger, now proposed, the
property will doubtless be worked just
the same.
The Brooklyn, Stemwinder and
Rawhide mines were started up last
summer, having been acquired by the "
Montreal & Boston Consolidated, and
have shipped approximately 25,000
tons of ore since operations were begun. The Rawhide only started shipping last week, but is confidently expected to grow into one of the largest
of Boundary's shipping mines. At
present its output is about 300 tons
daily. The Brooklyn has installed the
first half of a 30 drill Ingersoll-Sargent
air compressor to furnish power for
and for the Stemwinder, al-
adjoining. The :
out are to the effect that the best results a:e being obtained from the ores
from these three mines at the com-'
pany's Boundary Falls smelter.
the old reliable of the
Boundary, the Granby mines, have
been doing business steadily at the old
stand all through the past year, shipping steadily a little less than 2,000
daily. The total shipments
for the year will approx
tons from the Granby mines, all of
which has been reduced at the company's smelter at Grand Forks.
During the year the Granby mines
have had in employment from 350 to
steadily, and when the two
new large furnaces at the smelter are
installed, the force of men at the mines
and the output will be proportionately
increased. This will ■ undoubtedly
happen during the next few months.
adify   going  c
the last two years. The trains of ore
from the mine at this level will also be
operated with an electric locomotive,
now on the ground, and other electrical machinery, of the latest type, is
also being installed for this outlet of
the mine.
On the 1st of July, William Yolen
Williams, who had charge of the properties since the inception of work on
on them several years ago, resigned
from the superintendency of the Granby mines, and A. B. W. Hodges,
superintendent of the. smelter, was
made general superintendent for the
company, and O. B. Smith, Jr., who
had been engineer for several years, was
made mine superintendent.
It is anticipated that in the new year
other properties in or near this camp
will be starting operations on   a   more
Deadwood camp's most important
mine is now and always has been the
Mcther Lode, owned and operated by
the British Columbia Copper Co.
Work has steadily progressed at this
property under the superintendency of
S. C. Holman, the force of men running from 65 to 100. In the twelve
months the property has shipped to
the company's smelter at Greenwood
close to 175,000 tons of ore, being
nearly 30 per cent, more than for   the
Improvements have also been the
order of the year at the Mother Lode
mine. A new ore crusher has been
installed, and while the policy of taking out the ore from the surface quarries, whence it could bfe most cheaply
mmed, has been followed steadily, development has also been going on to
some extent in the deep woi kings. An
important find, of ore was made in the
property quite recently that enhances
its value to a considerable degree, arid
while it has been explored hundreds
of feet, its boundaries have not yet
been definitely determined. Mr. Holman has made an excellent  record in
of ore   per  man   per  day,   including
every man employed in every capacity
The Sunset mine, also in Deadwood
camp, is owned by the Montreal &
Boston Consolidated, and has only
been operated since that company resumed operations in the Boundary.
The mine is well equipped with machinery, and this year has shipped approximately 3,000 tons.
In Summit camp several properties
have been worked during the last year,
including the Emma, Oro Denoro,
Senator, Reliance, Lancashire Lass,
Brey Fogle, No.  37,  and   Mountain
The Emma, an , iron proposition
with copper values, has been worked
almost steadily, and has shipped approximately 38,000 tons of ore, mostly to Nelson aud Gre
some of it also going
i been
ipacity  of a
bout     an  exte
isive  scale,
s—a duplica
te of    force of
nen   has   bt
ab Hill min
for    shipmen
^shave  beei
The ore was sent to the Granby smelter at Grand Forks. Those interested
in this property feel that they have a
big proposition, and they seem to be
justified in the belief.
The Senator, under bond to the
Granby Co., has been shipping to the
Granby smelter, while the shipments
, from the other mines referred to have
been small, if any. It is reported that
the B. C. mine, in Summit camp,
which has in the past shipped about
100,000 tons of some of the best ore
from any Boundary mine, is likely to
be reopened at no distant date.
en wood smelters,
to Grand Forks
Boundary  Falls.
In Wellington camp there has been
little progress this last year. The well
known Golden Crown and Winnipeg
mines, having gotten into financial
troubles, have remained closed, but the
Athelstan, which was sold to the Montreal & Boston Consolidated last summer, was operated for a time, sending
out during the year some 4,500 tons
of ore, mostly to the Boundary Falls
smelter. As the ore must be hauled
on wagons a mile or more to the Winnipeg spur, the cost of which is equivalent to a fair profit alone, it is likely
that during the coming year a tramway
will be built to the Great Northern
railway, which runs not far from it in
the valley below.
In addition to the properties just
mentioned, there are a few others that
are preparing to do extensive development. Notable among these are the
Betts and Hesperus mines, located on
Hardy mountain, several miles from
Grand Forks*- At this property an air
compressing plant is now being installed and the Chicago men operating
the property propose to -do extensive
development on the large ore bodies
they have so far uncovered.
In Franklin camp, some fifty miles
up the North Fork of the Kettle river,
considerable activity has also been
shown this year in the way of preliminary development on a number of
claims, notably the McKinley, Banner,
Gloster, etc., and those who have
been there assert that this camp will
come to the front very largely in due
time; at least one corporation has been
formed to operate here, and when railway transportation is afforded, it will
be more rapidly developed.
Up the West Fork, development and
some shipping is being done, and when
a railway is built there this year, it will
be favorably heard from. Important
claims are the Sally, Bounty, Carmi, Butcher Boy, Lottie F., etc., the Carmi
having had a two stamp mill in opera-
tion. High average values are secured in this district, and it cannot
well fail   to  grow into  an   important
Particularly satisfactory has been the
showing made by the high grade mines
of the Boundary in 1904. Those that
have made previous records in values
have improved upon them, while several have been added to the list, with
a good prospect of remaining thereon.
To ship carloads of $75, $100, $150
with such mines as the Elkhorn, Pro°
vidence, Skylark, E.P.U., Last Chance,
etc.     As it has been expressed, there
high grade mines c
unng
he past y
turning
The Providence
has held
ked  stea
during the year, sh
Td5
payino-   c
The E.P.U. has been operated continuously, shipping ore and making
money for the owners. Nearby the
Bay claim has been worked and some
of the richest ore ift the district found.
The Silver Cloud and the Silver King,
also near the E.P.U., have been worked
and given good results.
A most significant fact, however, is
the comparatively recent resumption of
operations on the Skylark and Last
Chance—two mines that were operated
witn profit years ago, and have lain
dormant since. The Skylark, since it
was taken under bond by a syndicate
of Phoenix men, has fully held up its
reputation of ten or twelve years ago,
'lipped tl
.  Chai
shipping right alori_
Other properties in the high grade
belt that have been taken up and developed with good results are the
Helen, Barbara, Strathmore, Combination and the Gold Bug, and others will
soon be in the same category. High
grade mining has certainly been made
a success in the Boundary, and is an
important part of our industry, the
estimated value of the high grade
mines output for 1904 being not far
from $250,000.
Ten furnaces are now in full blast
in the three Boundary smelters, namely, six at the Granby, two at the
Mother Lode, and two at the Montreal & Boston. They are handling
approximately 3,000 tons of ore daily,
or about 90,000 tons per month, or at
nually.   This ore, figured at an average
value of $5 per ton, is worth $5,000,-
The Granby smelter has been running its battery of six furnaces almost
steadily during  the  year, handling a
beside   the  the  company's  ore from
Phoenix.     Roughly,   this   smelter  is
half
pounds of copper bars per
The announcement has been definitely
made that in the next few months two
more furnaces will be added, at a cost
of some $125,000, giving a capacity of '
about 2,700 tons of ore daily when
they are installed and in running order.
At Greenwood, the B.C. Copper
Co.'sMother Lode smelter has been
operated steadily most of the year with
its two furnaces, putting through about
addition was made to this smelter
when the two stand,s of copper converters were installed last summer, doing
away with the necessity of sending
away the copper matte for bessemeriz-
to the .
they
iting the
copper matte for the Mpntreal & Bos
and   Trail "smelters.     The   an-
': made that this company
will also increase its  furnace  capacity
the coming year.
The Montreal & Boston's Boundary
Falls smelter had its first furnace blown
in early in October, and its second late
in December, so that the run for 19,04
has been short, approximately 30,000
tons of ore having been treated there
in that time. Here, also, as at other
smelters, it is said that the results have
been most gratifying to the manage-
Before another six months rolls
around there is every prospect that
fifteen blast furnaces will be treating at
least 4,000 tons or more of ore daily
from Boundary's mines—as it is the
intention of all the smelters to increase
their respective capacities as soon as
possible. The first two named smelters
use electric power from Cascade to
operate all machinery, while the last
named  uses  steam   for  the   present.
steady   employment   at   these   three
For the y^ar 1904 the mines of the
Boundary are' estima'ed to have produced ore valued at over $4,000,000, M
FRATERNAL  ORGANIZATIONS  IN   PHOENIX.
Har
aected with
the
1 lodge
also, as will be noted? have been instruments for good here, and members
have received thousands of dollars in
the shape of sick and death benefits,
Free Mas
installation ceremony for the Grand
Forks, Greenwood and Phoenix
branches of the order, thereby promoting and cementing good fellowship.
At an installation of this kind held a
few weeks ago the following officers
were inducted to serve Snowshoe Lodge
for the ensuing term :
* REE Masonry has flourished i
F
5 Members of the fraternity re
sident here were for a time in
the habit of attending lodge in other
places, but in July, 1901, a dispensation was granted from the Grand Lodge
of British Columbia, and King Edward
Lodge No. 36, A. F. & A. M., was
organized with about 20 members.
The first Master Mison of this lodge
Fred L. Cock, who served for two
years, and was succeeded by G. L.
Feigifson, who also seized two terms.
For several years the lodge room
was in the Morrison-Anderson building, but a few weeks ago it was moved
to the McHale building, where it occupies the entire second story, which
has   been   specially fitted up for its
King Edward Lodge is now out of
debt and has a comfortable balance in
the treasury. The following officers
were recently installed for the year
1905:
Worshipful Master, George E. Dey.
Senior Warden, Dr. R. B. Boucher.
Junior Warden, Joseph. J. Strutzel.
Secretary, Abnei Hilliir.
Treasurer, George L. McNicol.
Senior Deacon, William S. Macy.
Junior Deacon, Thomas Oxley.
Senior Steward, Samuel Stevens.
Junior Steward, E. E. Wells.
Tyler, Walter Ross.
For two years there was not much •
ibership, but for
of
increase
steady growth,
r the lodge
1 member-
s
Warden, J. Campbell.
Conductor, Chas. McCaf
R.S.N.G., W. S. Cook.
L.S.V.G., John.McIver.
R.P.P., John Mclnnis.
Fraternal Order of Eagles.
PHOENIX Aerie No. 158, of the
Fraternal Order of Eagles, has
perhaps the largest membership of any fraternal organization in the city1* of Phoenix. It was
the first one of its kind to be established in the Boundary, and has prospered ever since it was organized.
Phoenix Aerie No. 158 was organized
in June, 1901, with a membership of
about 50. Now it has a net live membership  of 80, and is growing ^all the
While the objects of the Eagles are
mutual improvement and social intercourse, the Eagles have done a large
amount of good in' the way of assisting
brothers in distress. Membership
carries with it sick benefits of $7 per
week and physician's fees, and also
$100 funeral benefit. The Phoenix
branch is in good financial condition,
and holds meetings every Friday evening at Miners' Union hall. The following   is the  present  roster  of the
Worthy President, D. Docksteader.
Vice-President, Ed. Brown.
Chaplain, Lester Walter.
Secretary, M. H. Roy.
Treasurer, G. W. McAuliffe.
Trustees, James Marshal, T. Collins
and William Docksteader.
Knights of Pythia.
Labor Unions  in Phoenix
ij it  has   been  a   strong  union
camp, like most British Columbia camps, and it may be said in all
candor and fairness that the relations
between labor and employers have
been   amicable,   there   never   having
One
! adjus
ments have been found
both sides met in the spirit of fairness
and equity, and soon agreed.
That the camp producing the largest
tonnage of any in the province should
have been thus handled may seem remarkable, but it should be remembered
that reasonable and fair-minded men
among employees and employers were
working together to build up the common good and the greatest copper
camp in the province. That they
have succeeded is now well known
everywhere.
August 18, 1899, is the date of the
organization of the first union in Phoe-
i Min
' Unii
No. .
ery year
3ted t
ceed himself. To Mr.. Riordan,
probably more than to any other one
man, is due the success of the unions
in Phoenix, and also to him is equally
due the credit for having the hard-
headed common sense, while standing
up for the laboring man generally, to
clearly show that at the same time the
employer also has rights that should
be respected.
First and last Phoenix Miners'
Union has done an immense deal of
good for its own members, and as this
is a phase of unionism that is not
much heard of, we have secured some
figures through the courtesy of Mr.
Riordan. For the year 1904 this
union paid out for sick benefits $1,-
747.30, and raised in entertainments
for disabled members $1,217.56, making a total of $2,964.86 that members
Phoe
< Curling Club.
LS of the
^^    they probably take  as  mnch
servicable rink was built especially for
this purpose, and games are frequently
arranged with the clubs from Grand
Forks and Greenwood.
In addition to this, the club is a
member of the Kootenay Curling Association, two years ago being successful in capturing the Grand Challenge
and Oliver cups. Last year the Wal-
kerville trophy was brought home.
The membership this year numbers
34, a great deal of enthusiasm being
displayed, the chief drawback being
that there is but one sheet of ice.
The curlers are looking forward to
sending two rinks to the Kootenay
bonspiel held at Nelson in January.
President, R. B. Boucher.
.Vice-President, G. L. McNicol.
Secretary-Treasurer, A. B. Hood.
Executive Committee, A. Strachan,
I. Crawford, j. A. Morrin.
Shamrock Hockey Club.
THE Shamrock Hockey Club, of
Phoenix,   is one in which  a
great deal of interest is taken
locally.    With the long winters prevailing here, there is ample time
for the hockeyists to enjoy themselves,
and they take advantage of it.    The
officers of the Shamrocks for the reason of 1904-5 as elected, are :
President, G. W. Rumberger.
Vice-President, W. R. Williams.
Secretary, F. R. Munshaw.
Treasurer, James Marshall.
Manager, J. E. W. Thompson.
Chairman    Executive    Committee,
Alex McRae.
D
McDonald,
fraternal org
and of Phoei with the best of metallurgical results.
There seems to be no doubt whatever
about the latter statement, and any
old-timer in the Boundary knows that
the group of, mines spoken of above
has always  been regarded as one of
THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
amalgamation with another company,
and the smelter was forced to do
likewise.
This brings the history of the concern down to the time preceding the
organization of the present Montreal &
Boston Consolidated. G. H. Munroe
and A. Munroe, of Montreal and New
York, were among those largely interested in the old company, and with
their confreres they immediately recognized the fact that a smelter, without a large mine to back it with ample
supplies of ore was of about as little
use as a mine without a smelter—especially in dealing with low grade ores,
where the smelting must be done close
to the mines, as the value of the ores
will not stand the expense of long railway hauls.
Thus negotiations were at once started for the formation of a still larger
company, which should acquire the
smelting plant and mines of the old
company and a number of other mines,
already developed to the shipping
stage, and which would afford a steady
supply of suitable ores. Several
months were required to get the details
completed and the additional capital
interested, the latter almost entirely
coming from the money centre of the
American  continent, New York  city.
MONTREAL ®. BOST
^k   tO MINING concern, probably,
involved in ,the  undertaking.    Their
1^1     has been more in the public
mines  were  profitable producers  be
J    eye in the last six months in
yond the peradventure of a doubt, and
the   Boundary  country than
had millions of tons of ore blocked out
the Montreal and Boston Consolidated
in them  before the present company
Mining and Smelting Co., Ltd,, owning
took  hold  of them.     Therefore, the
and operating mines in  three or four
element of chance was reduced to the
camps of the Boundary, as well as its
minimum.    It only remained for those
own smelter at Boundary f; Us.     This
interested to provide the finances and
namely, the fact that it had acquired a
and smelter successfully.    Another ad
group  of the  best  known   mines  in
vantage, enjoyed just now by all copper
Phoenix   camp—the    Brooklyn-Stem-
producers, is the higher price of metal
winder group-and its operations thus
lic copper in the markets of the world.
In 1890 there was registered with
the provincial government at Victoria
the Montreal-Boundary Creek Mining
Co., Ltd., with an authorized capital
of $2,000,000, having its head office
at St. John, N.B., and being composed
of Montreal and New Brunswick capitalists. They acquired the Sunset
group of four claims in Deadwood
camp, adjoining the Mother Lode
group, and did considerable development work. Finally, the Montreal &
Boston Copper Co., Ltd., was organized to take over the holdings of the
old company, the new company having
il of $3,.
This I
edu
the   best  in   the   disl
And,  of
e of gratificatio
all, whether directly interested
Montreal & Boston Consolidated or
not, that the efforts of the company's
management have thus far been attended with such a degree of success.
As this company now stands, it entered the field in a somewhat different
manner from any other of the large
corporations operating in the Boundary.      Instead  of starting  in  at  the
chances of developing a problematical
prospect into a paying mint, they secured several properties after they had
been developed to the shipping stage
—including the two-furnace smelter
spoken  of—and  were thus ready, al-
paign of extensive development of the
claims, equipping them with one of
the best machinery plants in the
Boundary, and opening up large bodies
of ore. It also acquired the smelter
built at Boundary Falls, four miles
below Greenwood on Boundary creek,
by the Standard Pyntic Smelting Co.,
which concern had gotten into financial
.difficulties. This smelter was remodelled to suit present requirements, and
installer!,  and   a   third'furnace-pur-*-
The Montreal & Boston Copper Co.
entered actively upon the business of
smelting in the year 1903, and for
several months kept the plant at
Boundary Falls hjisy, largely with custom ores from Several mines in the
Boundary that were not equipped with
smelters. Ore was also supplied from
the Sunset, owned by the company
itself, but it was found that better results could be obtained by using this
ore in conjunction with the high grade
silicious ores of the Boundary. The
smelter continued in commission till the
middle of December, 1903, when the
Snowshoe mine, from which a large
proportion of its ore supply was received,  closed,   pending a proposed
But
iwned t
was formed last'year under th6 laws of
the province of Ontario, with a capital
stock $7,500,000, in $5 shares. Of
the capital stock, $6,500,000 was
issued to acquire the properties mentioned and to provide $150,000 cash
for the treasury of the company. The
officers elected were: President, Col.
George Pope, of New York; secretary-
treasurer, A. H. Loomis, of New York;
directors: Col. George Pope, C. A.
Fish, A. Davidson, John F. Plummer,
A. H. Loomis and E. T- Morrison.
In addition to these the following
gentlemen are in immediate charge of
the company's extensive mining and
smelting operations in the Boundary:
lins;  smelter superintendent, J. Cuth-
bert Welch.
The following information regarding the mines of the company was issued at the time of the formation of
the new company, referring particularly
to the values obtained :
The entire six claims in the Brooklyn group are included in .the consolidation, including the Brooklyn, Stem-
winder, Idaho, Standard, Rawhide and
Montezuma, located in the heart of
Phoenix camp. Of these claims the
circular said:
"This is very valuable property, and
has been prospected and developed,
having in sight at the present time over
350,000 tons of ore, which have an
average assay value of 2 per cent, copper, .1 ounce of gold and .3 ounce silver. It has sufficient equipment to
take care of 500 tons per day, and in
addition to this a claim owned by this
company, known as the Rawhide,
which is a quarrying proposition,
would be within thirty days in a position to produce 300 tons a day. This
property is without doubt one of the
most.valuable mining propositions in
British Columbia, and has some excellent showings on its properties which
have not been prospected or developed.."
Speaking of the Athelstan group,
the circular stated :
"The properties of this company
consist of two claims, the Athelstan
and Jackpot fraction, situated in Wellington camp, British Columbia, about
three miles from Phoenix. The report made on this property estimates
the ore in sight at-100,000 tons, hav
ing 8
gold and .5 to .7 ounce silver. This
is a quarrying proposition, and has
sufficient equipment to mine 150 tons
per day. This ore, as will be noted,
runs comparatively high in values,'and
is a very desirable property.
"At the present time the smelting
plant of the Montreal & Boston Copper Co. Ltd., is capable of treating
about 650 tons of ore per day, but has
sufficient equipment on hand, which
could be installed within 30 days, to
take care of 1000 tons a day.
"It is the intention of the n
pany to add a converting plant and incapacity to from
per  day.    The
:ompany is thor- PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
ore, and the amount of tonnage in
sight, having- had smelter contracts
with most of them.
"In forming the above combination
the different characters of the ores
treated have been taken into consideration, and it is undoubtedly one of the
best smelting propositions possible to
acquire in British Columbia.
"The consolidated company will be
in an independent position, having
complete control of all the ore necessary to keep its plant in full operation,
and will thus distribute its fixed
charges over a large tonnage."
One of the earliest mineral locations
of Phoenix camp was the Brooklyn
mine, one of the deep levels of which
runs directly under the city of Phoenix.
It was located in July, 1891, by G. W.
Rumberger amd Joseph Taylor. In
1898 it was acquired by Messrs. Mackenzie,   Mann,^ Cox   and  others,  of
attained a depth of 350 feet in the incline shaft. On the 250 foot level
there is a drift about 1,800 feet in
length, all of which is said to be in ore
of a good grade. At the 150 foot
• level, a considerable amount of
drifting has also been done on the ore
When the Montreal & Boston Consolidated took hold of the Brooklyn,
in July, 1904, they found it necessary
to straighten out and retimber the
shaft, in order to admit the skips.
This was done, ore pockets and runways put in, and since then the mine
has maintained and is still maintaining
a steady output of about 300 tons of
ore daily. Some of the Stopes in the
Brooklyn are 50 feet across, George
H. Collins, the superintendent of the
company's mines, says that the mine
continues to improve in general appearance, and that its ore reserves will last
for many years, even when the output
is increased, as it will be.
Within the last month or two a new-
air compressor has  been installed at
i%
_sM
rHr^ 'SfWifii
ill
H*^- •■•^Pk :^
--&,
-^$9
fe.
M^3
S££§lli
1
HiSSl
IP
1- "-Ml
Toronto, and put into what was and
is known as the Brooklyn and Stem-
winder group. These gentlemen formed the Dominion Copper Co., Ltd.,
with a capital of $5,000,000, to take
in the group, consisting of the Brooklyn, Stemwinder, Idaho, Standard,
■Rawhide and Montezuma, and it did
quite extensive development work on
the properties—in all something like
5,000 lineal feet.
For nearly three years, however, the
properties have been idle np to last
summer, when they were taken over by
the Montreal & Boston Consolidated.
Since that time they have been most
vigorously operated, and in the short
time that shipping operations were conducted, to January, 1905, the group
had sent to the company's Boundary
Falls smelter between 25,000 and 30,-
000 tons of ore. In addition to this,
the Dominion Copper Co., which did
not sell the dumps of the Brooklyn
and Stemwinder mines, have shipped
approximately 5,000 tons of ore.
Development on the Brooklyn has
JTKAM.W1A.Y  AND  OKK KRIS.      \
the Brooklyn, being one half of a 20
drill machine, of the latest type. This,
however, has not proved sufficient to
furnish power for pumping, hoisting
and operating drills for the Brooklyn
and Stemwinder together, and the
other half of the compressor, it is said,
wiil soon be ordered. An 80 horsepower hoisting engine is in use at the
shaft of the Brooklyn.
The Stemwinder mine, almost adjoining the Brooklyn, has an incline
shaft down nearly 400 feet. The
only drifting that has been done in this
mine is at the 114 foot level, but the
ore taken out is some of the best from
any mine in the Boundary. In fact,
in the early days of the Boundary, before the Granby mines, the Mother
Lode and the Brooklyn had had as
much development and shipping as
they have now, the Stemwinder was
commonly reputed to be the best mine
in this district.
Since taking hold, Supt. Collins has
retimbered the Stemwinder shaft, put
in runways, fitted the skip, and is only
waiting until he has power enough to
spare to operate the 50 horsepower
hoist to put the Stemwinder in complete operating order.
Across the valley from the Brooklyn
is the Idaho claim, which has a tremendous surface showing, and has had
some development done. The Brooklyn workings extend into the Idaho,
and in the course of time the Idaho will
doubtless be one of the big shippers of
The Rawhide mine is located away
from the other Montreal & Boston
properties, distant about half a mile,
and adjoining the well known Snow-
shoe. The Rawhide has proved a
wonder to many a man in this section.
Up to a few weeks ago it had never
shipped a ton of ore, but is now
regularly sending out about 300 tons
per day to the company's Boundary
Falls smelter. On the surface the
Rawhide has always had a marvellous,
showing. The tunnel has been driven
into the hill-about 500 feet,.and,a raise
made to the surface, about   180  feet.
daily for many years, and the ore itself
is said to be of a most satisfactory
grade.
The Mountain Rose, in Summit
camp, in which the Montreal & Boston
Consolidated have a three-quarters interest, is being worked by a small force
of men, some of the ore going to the
company's smelter at Boundary Falls,
and the balance to the B. C. Copper
Co.'s Greenwood smelter. The ore is
of the fluxing character prevalent in
that locality, and is cheaply mined, or
rather quarried, and shipped.
The Lancashire Lass, in Summit
camp, is another property controlled
by the Montreal & Boston, and which
is being steadily developed. Its surface showing is a large one, and gives
promise of growing into a mine of
much importance when sufficient work
is done on it. At present a shaft is
being sunk by contract on the large
body of ore.
A progressive policy was also followed during 1903 by the Montreal &
Boston, operating the smelter at Bound-
The last hundred feet of this raise is
-all in ore of a good grade.
When Mr. Collins took charge, he
had a tramway built 800 feet in length,
to the ore bunkers located on the
C.P.R. tracks, which are also connected
with the mouth of the tunnel. Most
of the work was done on the top of
the hill, however, where the ore is
literally quarried out in a most economical manner. At the Rawhide black
powder is being used for blasting operations, a good deal like the system
employed by railway graders Thus
far it has been found "to be a great
success. The ore quarry of the Raw-
down about 100 feet, and no one
knows how much deeper. It is,
therefore, safe to say that the Rawhide
ary Falls. At the commencement of
the year only one furnace was in blast
at these works. In the spring a second
was blown in and later a third was
obtained, but this'last was not then
erected. The furnaces here are 40x176
inches inside tuyere line, and each has
a nominal capacity of 300 tons every
24 hours, being somewhat larger than
those in use at the other two district
smelters.   '
Three Connellsville blowers have
been installed at this smelter, two of
them in 1903. One No. 7 and one
No. lYi have their own direct-connected 75 horse power Erie steam
engines, while the third, a No. 8, is
direct-connected to a 125 horse power
Erie engine, this last mentioned being
large enough to provide blast for two
of c
H^pr 5-ton Union Iron Works slag c
provide   for  dumping   the   si
having been found necessary
well as at other district smelter
-ditions to plant and machinery
buildings, etc., involved a tota
of about $70,000.
The tonnage of ore treated
smelter during 1903 was 132,5
of which only 317 tons were c
•as sent to the
The task of getting the  propert
now being sent
of the Montreal & Boston Consclid
pany fi
nding that the
ed into one combination was anythi
awn se\
eral  properties
but easy, and while it was in progre
ent co
nbination with-
mining  men   most  familiar with t
ouying .outside
various  properties  of  the   Bound;
The S
-duced   3,04
;,*53 •
gold. The dry ores yielded 20,4
■ oz. silver and 150.906 oz. gold. '
were 1,061 tons of United States (Republic camp) ores treated, these producing 4,592.69 oz. silver and 615.122
oz. gold.
The district mines that sent ore to
these works in 1903 were the Sunset,
Snowshoe, B. C, Winnipeg, Athelstan,
Providence and Elkhorn, the two last
named sending gold-silver quartz ores.
The management of this smelter gave
the smaller low grade mines a smelting
rate that enabled them lo work to
some advantage to themselves, which
they could not well have done had the
freight and treatment charges been
high.
The smelter site is on Boundary
creek, about four miles below Greenwood, and as many miles above Midway. The smelter buildings are so
arranged that there is ample room for
such enlargements as are likely to be
undertaken by the company's management in the near future. The smelter
is distant by rail from the company's
Sunset mine in Deadwood camp between seven and eight miles, and from
the Phoenix camp mines about 20
miles. Side tracks from the C.P.R.
have been built to the smeller, and the
survey of the Victoria, Vancouver and
Eastern extension of the Great Nor
them railway, which this winter completed building its line to Phoenix
camp, runs close to the smelter also.
So that in a short time, comparitively,
the smelter will have the benefit of two
railways for transportation purposes.
During the year 1904—that is, from
the time the smelter resumed operations early in October, to  December
THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
the
ores. were free to predict that, if it was ac- proi
The production of matte was approx- complished, it would afford one of the ing
imalely 1,125 tons; this was hessemer- best combinations  yet  made in this *"e
ized at the B. C. Copper Company's section—provided,   of course,  that it
smelting works, Greenwood.    The ap- was properly financed and worked in supJ
- proximate production  of metals  was the best possible and most economi- the
as follows:    Gold  3,435   ozs.;  silver, cal manner. thro
13,494 ozs.; copper, 920,000 lbs. After one furnace had  been  oper- aPPj
Only  one  furnace   was   blown  in ated three months on the ores
when these smelting works were started solely from the mines acquired by the am-[ prosperity, to be foil!
up,  as  it  was  necessary  to put the corporation, from October to January, time by one of dividend
company's various properties in shape those in charge were in a position to companies that have the 1
n a steady output of ore and judge what the result was from a met- lta'' management ana min
Lo, has been looked after
to. supply an ample
md of ore needed, and
consequently, passed
vicissitudes.    From all
and past, and the company is entering
upon a period   of steady  production
it for
-    While the mines
well developed and
themselves
equipped
quired   many   things,   like  large
bunkers, etc.    As a sample of reqt
the  company  has  placed  orders
imber for various purposes
It n
it be a
e of s
this furnace has been operated without interruption. A few days before
the new year a second furnace was
started. A third is being erected, an
ample amount of ore for all three now
being practically assured.
The company will very shortly be
in a position to mine and ship from
its own properties all the ore, in both
quantity and variety, required to keep
its works going at full capacity, which
will be about n£>o tons daily for the
allurgical standpoint, and it is popular
knowledge, although the Pioneer has
not been informed officially to that
effect, that the outcome has been fully
as satisfactory as anticipated. It must
be remembered that the Brooklyn-
Stemwinder group had 'never shipped
any ore previous to its acquirement
by the Montreal & Boston Consolidated, with the exception of about   150
—, for those i ...»
as for those directly in charge of I
operations of the company in t
Boundary, to know that their effc
have   been   rewarded   with   a   la
ton the company evidently has a 11
who has had a good business traini:
and will take good care of that part
In Mr. Collins, as s
itendet
heyl
Mr.
yhas
ago.
le furna
ompai
atively large production of
ith the precious metais asso-
h it in district, ores, is looked
-the 11
with
Montreal & Boston smelter were..the
Brooklyn-Stemwinder-group, the Sunset, the Athelstan-Jackpot, the Rawhide,   the  Mountain  Rose   and   the
mfiden
ciated w
forward
installation  of a  converting  plant is
proposed, and this will no doubt   be
provided as soon as shall be practica-
The Rawhide, also, had never shipped
any ore at all, and although the exhaustive reports of mining engineers
had all been most favorable, and the
properties had been acquired on what
was then known of them, it remained
for a considerable smelter run to prove
their actual worth. It also remained
for the officials of the company to prove
uperintendent who'se work speaks for
[self, and it is, after all, the actual re-
ults in dollars and cents that count.
It has been the policy of the man-
gement to cut expenses to the lowest
otch, consistent with getting the re-
ults aimed at, and this policy is
■eing steadily adhered to.    That the
Bed with t
s thus far a
o feel si
thout saying.    '
Tiere is,
beh
5ve that
what was
predicted of
, if the
continued-
ely.one
mportant 0
the
copper THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
PROMINENT  HOTELS  OF  PHOENIX.
ONE   of  the  nj
hotels in Phoenix is the Br<
lyn, located on the come
and Phoenix
upper
:nob Hill avenue and First
street, opposite the Bank block. The
building is one of the best constructed
in the city, and was originally intended
for office purposes. Last October J.A.
McMaster leased the building, and
since then the interior has been completely transformed, it being one of the
best and most comfortable hotels in
the Boundary. It is arranged for the
convenience of traveling men and the
public generally, and special attention
is paid to the cuisine.
John  A.   McMaster   was   born  at
Orangeville, county of Dufferin, Ontar-
1866.    He c
1897,
locating first for a time in Vancou'
In 1898, hearing of the grpwing acti
of the Boundary, due
tion  of the  C.P.R. into this sectioi
from the Columbia river,  Mr. McMas
ter settled at Cascade, then one of th<
at Eholt, and the year following the
street, directly opposite the postoffice,
Rock,  near  Phoenix, which are well
Union hotel in the same place, where
and within a stone's throw of the new
known here.    There was little encour
fortune smiled upon him until he con
Great Northern passenger station. The
agement for business men or prospect
cluded that he needed a wider field and
hotel was built five years ago, at the
ors in those days, however, and Mr.
a  larger  place  for  his efforts in the
time that Phoenix began to grow, and
Shea concluded to wait awhile before
hostlery line.
is 35x65 feet in size, three stories high,
settling in this locality.
He knew that Phoenix was practi-
containing   about   30   rooms.      The
In the spring of 1899 Mr.  Shea ar
cally the backbone of the Boundary,
Brooklyn is owned and conducted by
rived in the Boundary to stay, living
and was consequently a good place to
Eugene  P.  Shea, . who   has   been in
first  for a  time  at  Greenwood, and
tie to, so he finally secured the lease
the   hotel   business   here   for   several
then coming up the hill to Phoenix.
of the building referred to and started
years.
About three years ago he entered inco
to make a good hotel of his present
Mr. Shea, while a British citizen, was
partnership with James Marshall and
location.
born at Saranac Lake, New York, in
together they conducted for a time the
The Hotel Balmoral has about 20
the heart of the  famous  Adirondack
Bellevue hotel and later the Summit
rooms, with the additions which Mr.
mountains, but came west years »go.
hotel.    Two years ago next May Mr.
McMaster has recently made, but he
For  nearly  twelve  years  he   was   a
Shea purchased the Brooklyn hotel, so
finds that, even so, it is not possible,
resident of Butte, Montana,  where he
named because the well known Brook
most of the time, for him to accommo
was engaged in mining and other pur
lyn mine shafthouse is within 500 yards
date all the guests that desire accommo
suits.    At one time he was on the po
of the building, though situated on the
dation at his house.    Consequently, it
lice  force  of  Montana's   well known
hill above it, and he is is today one
has been practically decided to add a
mining camp.
of the best known, hotel men in the
third story to the hotel some time in
About ten years ago Mr. Shea first
Boundary Country.
the coming spring.   '
postoffice, that has been as
well known as almost any other
in the Boundary is Black's hotel, of
which m S. Doyle & Co. are the pro-
pne
cted  i
. Black, ^
ohad
1899-1900 t
conducted hotels in various parts of
the Kootenays and Boundary for years,
and at last settled in Phoenix, after
satisfying himself thoroughly that right
finished and furnished,
stories—at riie time it was constructed
being the only building of that height
on Dominion avenue—and its nearly
20 rooms, it is in good shape to care
for the many guests that have come
within its doors, there being also' a
commodious   dining    department   in
1
ral f
Central Hotel.
PHOENIX there is but one hotel, not identified with any mining concern, that is close to the
Granby mines.    This is the Cent-
btel, owned and conducted suc-
years at Manchester, New Hampshire.
But young men have always been disposed to take Horace Greeley's advice
to "go west," and in r89o Mr. Anderson   found   himself in  the capital of
Montana—Helena —then  a  mining
camp of no little importance.    After
cessfully for some years past by Frank
and hearing of the rush that had been
The Central Hotel is located on the
rict,   Mr.   Anderson  came to British
corner of Old  Ironsides avenue  and
aC„dUamround&i;hedSlocaTand Aos'sland
Second street, within a few  hundred
yards of the Granby No. 2 shaft.   The
mtni89rMVninrrsoSnticonncluded
ies in height and has  16  rooms, was
that the Boundary country looked good
ed in the year 1901 especially for
wav th'i'ther and^of course cametoPhofr
s'the
mps
ducted it f SER AND BOUND
Bellevue Hotel.
IN THE early days of Phoenix the
construction of hotels, or in fact
of any other kind of buildings,
was no inexpensive matter. When
the Old Ironsides townsite was first
placed on the market, in November,
1899—it being what is generally now
known as the upper part of the city—
intending purchasers came here from
hundreds of miles, and the first day
every desirable lot was disposed of. In
fact, many went away disappointed
that there were not more lots on Knob
Hill avenue. Among those purchasers who were successful was W. H.
Bell, an old Rosslander, who secured
the lot where the Bellevue now stands.
Mr. Bell knew the value of having
practically the first hotel in the upper
town, and he lost no time in putting up
his building, even though it was the
dead of winter before it was completed
and occupied. Rough lumber in those
days cost the consumer about $26 per
thousand on the ground, and had to be
hauled by teams up the steep hill from
Greenwood, a difference in elevation of
some 2,300 feet.
When the Bellevue was completed
it was at once leased, and has always
been occupied and enjoyed a fair share
of the public patronage ever since that
time, and under the present proprietors, Messrs. Greig & McDonald, its
reputation is fully sustained.
Alexander Greig is a native of Kin-
cardinshire, Scotland, and came to
Canada, when he was but ten years of
age, making his home at Ottawa.
Later he removed to Wisconsin and
then to the state of Washington, locating for a time' on the shores of Bell-
ingham bay. In 1893 he came to
British Columbia, and participated in
the rush to the Slocan mines, settling
for a time at Kaslo and Whitewater.
But the drop in the price of silver and
the barring out of lead from the markets of the United States by the lead
:oppei
Boundar
irominence, especially
with the construction of the C. P. R.
to this section at a cost of four or five
millions of dollars. Previous to this
Mr. Greig had made a trip to the Boundary, and was in Greenwood in 1895,
when the town was first surveyed and
platted. But he came to Phoenix to
stay in the year 1900. Not' seeing a
business opening just then, he went to
work in the Granby mines, where he
was employed until he formed a partnership with Hugh I). McDonald, and
embarked in the hotel business.
Hugh D. McDonald comes from
Glengarry county, Ontario, but with
the restless spirit of so many in the
east, he came west and settled at Fair-
have
1891.
Hess
the boom start there and fall down
again, and saw his own savings wiped
out with thousands of others. Since he
left there he has also noted that Fair-
haven, or Bellingham, as the combined
towns are now called, is one of the
most prosperous stctions of Washington. Mr. McDonald reached Phoenix
in 1901, and after being here for a
short time, decided to start in business
with Mr. Greig.
For a time Greig & McDonald conducted a quiet business in the Maple
Leaf hotel on Old Ironsides avenue.
But general business gradually moved
away from them to Knob Hill avenue, and they quickly noted that a
change to the lower street would be
advisable. Accordingly Greig & McDonald purchased the Bellevue hotel
outright from Mr. Bell over two years
ago, and have conducted the business
at that location since then, being regarded as one of the substantial
firms or" the city in their^line of busi-
The Mint Hotel.
JOSEPH H. GRAHAM, proprietor of the Mint Hotel, was born
and brought up at Smith's Falls,
Renfrew  county,  Ontario,  and
before he started out for the west was
in the hotel business in his native town.
Mr. Graham arrived in British Colum-
East Kootenay
Boundary the fi
he decided tha
) the
f that year he built the Union
in lower Dominion avenue,
si he conducted till the V. V.
snsion of the Great Northern
Phoenix, when,   the   survey
running directly through his hotel property, he disposed of the same to the
railway company.
A little later Mr. Graham purchased
the Mint Hotel property, and in June,
1904, opened the same to the public.
The building itself is 30x50 feet in size,
two stories high, and well located nearly opposite the postoffice.
A restaurant is conducted in connection with the hotel, the building itself
being close to the new Great Nortnern
camp will in time become
greatest, if not the greatest,
He  has served   two   ter
Summit Hotel.
THE Summit Hotel, like the
Bellevue, was one of the first
hotels built on the Old Ironsides townsite, in the winter
of 1889-90, in the days before the city
was incorporated, and immediately following the placing of that townsite on
the market. It is located diagonally
across First street and Knob Hill avenue from the Eastern Townships Bank,
and is therefore in a most desirable
situation. It was rented by the owner
to different persons up to last summer,
when David Oxley leased the property,
and later took in John Hartman as
partner, forming the firm of Oxley &
Hartman.
David Oxley is an Englishman by
birth, his native place being Sheffield,
but he has lived on this side of the
big pond for upwards of 25 years.
For the last six years he has been a
resident of the Boundary, most of the
time in and around Phoenix.    For an
the hotel business here.
John Hartman, the partner of Mr.
Oxley, is a native of south Germany.
He came to British Columbia in 1891,
and in 1895 he walked over the well
known Dewdney trail from Spence's
Bridge to Rossland, in looking over
the country, and then had his eye on
the Boundary section, through which,
that old artery of prospectors and trail
blazers passed. Later he returned to
the Boundary, and has been interested
in various hotel enterprises in this see-
Both Mr. Oxley and Mr. Hartman
have a wide acquaintance in this section, and are favorably known to the
traveling public, which serves them in
good stead in their chosen business.
An excellent dining department is connected with the Summit Hotel, known
as the Metropolitan Cafe, of which
Danny Dean, who has long been a resident of the camp, is in charge.
Knob  Hill Hotel.
ONE of the hotels of Phoenix that
has been largely patronized in
the past, and which still enjoys a good steady, trade, is
the Knob Hill hotel, located on First
street, between Knob Hill and Old
Ironsides avenues. While not the
largest hotel in Phoenix, it is compactly
built, and with its 14 rooms does a
business that is very satisfactory to the
present proprietor, James E. Bell.
This house, which was built in 1891
by Morrison & Anderson, is quite
centrally located in the upper part of
the city, and makes a special bid for
the trade of the travelling men.
The culinary department is under
the personal supervision of Mrs. Bell,
which is a guarantee that everything in
this department is well looked after,
and judging by the usual crowded state
Mr.   Bell  was   bom  in   Bradford,
:ating
sufficient to persuade him to stay for
any length of time, and he came farther
west. Attracted by the boom in the
Slocan district, when silver was worth
$1.25 or thereabouts per ounce, Mr.
Bell located in Kaslo in 1891 with his
family, and made his home in and
around that entrepot to the growing
silver.lead district for about nine years.
Like so many others, however, when
silve
it dowr
r 55 c
t thei
if the Mar
tobat
ounce, the effect on that district v
to largely depopulate it, and he turned
his eyes on the Boundary country as a
good location in which to cast in his lot.
Arriving in Phoenix in 1902-, Mr.
Bell finally secured a lease on the
Knob Hill hotel in July, 1904, since
which time he has given his entire
time to that hostelry, and states that
he has done a good business almost
from the first day that he took hold.
The Knob Hill hotel was so-called
after the famous mine in this camp of
the same name, located on the hill
just above the townsite of Phoenix.'in
addition to the general travelling trade
that comes to this hotel, not a few of
those employed at the mines find it a
home-like place to put up at.
___m HIGH   GRADE   MINES   OE   THE   BOUNDARY.
ss, and few there ai
o make  good when
T"
5XplC
An advantage of the high grade
mine over the low grade property is
that the high grade mine can be worked
with few men, comparatively small investment for machinery, and returns
from shipments can be had quickly;
while the low grade mines require large
capital expenditures, extensive machinery equipments, heavy payrolls, years
of development, and smelters of their
own to be worked most profitably. In
other words, the high grade mine gives
the small investor a chance to get
quicker returns.
It will be impossible to treat here of
all the high grade mines of the Boundary, but mention will be made of most
of them, and a description of a few, as
space will permit. The banner property in this class is the Providence,
the history of which is well known,
having been a profitable undertaking
for three years, and now looking as
well as ever. Some $22,000 in dividends have been paid to the shareholders in this property, with the almost
certainty of their getting many more
dividends.
The Elkhorn, adjoining the Providence, owned by Phil McDonald and
James Sutherland, has paid from the
grass roots, and is paying handsomely
now. vIn the same locality are the
Gold Bug, Strathmore, Combination
and others, that so far are coming up
to expectations. These claims are all
located north of Greenwood within a
Coming nearer to Phoenix, we find
a group of properties in what is known
as Skylark and Providence camps, that
:  proving   1
itifyirig
who have them under development.
These include the Last Chance, which
shipped years ago and is now doing so
once more, the Crescent, Lake and
others near by. Then the Skylark
also is once more making an enviable
nix and Greenwood, B. C. These
claims were discovered in 1892 and
were worked for some time with very
good results. Later, however, owing
to the drop in the price of silver and
to the excessive cost of transportation
it was found necessary to discontinue
work on this group as well as on all
other high grade properties in this part
of the Boundary.
It is hard to say when the high grade
properties would have been worked
again had not the very low grade properties in this vicinity turned out so well
and made a name for themselves all
over the world. It is due to this fact
alone that the Boundary country has
been opened up by the railroads and
that three large smelters have been
built and put into operation.
Even after the railroads and smelters were built it was some time before
mining men turned their attention to
the high grade claims in the Boundary.
People seemed to. have forgotten that
the Boundary had any high grade ore,
and it was not until 1902 that eyes were
opened by the wonderful showing
made by the smalfigrojrjjjPtfrrnen who
bonded the Providence claim near
"Greenwood. From this time on everybody realized that the future of this
country did not depend wholly on the
immense bodies of low grade ore, but
that the small veins of high grade ore
were to do their share in bringing the
country to the front.
The following, being a small portion
of an article written in October 1893,
by Major Megraw, now of Hedley, will
be of interest to those following the
work now being done on the Skylark.
Mr. Megraw wrote: "Leaving Greenwood camp (Phoenix) the trail leads
northerly through thickly timbered
mountains. This is a very difficult
country to prospect owing to the thick
brush and the depth of the soil which
covers up the formation. Turning
westerly again,  the trail  occasionally
grade and at the time of our visit only
three claims had been located on the
ledge, but others had been located indifferent directions. The camp is watered
by a small stream known as Twin
creek, which empties into Boundary
creek. Taking the camp as a whole
it may be most briefly descibed as a
high grade silver proposition. The
principal value is in silver but there is
also a fair showing in gold. The Skylark claim not only gave a name to the
camp but also made a name for itself
and money for its owners. It was
leased for eight months to Messrs. Mc-
Carron, Wallace and Currie. They
were required to work on the vein and
were to receive one-third of the ore
that was fit to ship and $10 a ton for
mining, sorting and packing.    About
is of 01
5 being sent c
weekly by pack train to Grand Prairie
(Grand Forks), from which point it was
teamed to Marcus and thence shipped
to Tacoma. All second class ore that
will not pay to ship that way is left on
the ground, and in sorting out the ore
nothing less than that going 150 ozs.
in silver is selected. In speaking of a
mine, nothing talks so eloquently as
Tesults, and the following figures we
obtained from a report on a shipment
of 344 sacks which were sampled and
sent forward—gold, 1.13 ozs. per ton;
silver, 261 ozs. per ton."
Major Megraw's article says no more
about the Skylark claim, but goes on
to mention other claims further down
the gulch toward Greenwood.
The Skylark and Denver mineral
claims were bonded from Giovanni
Lavagnino, of Salt Lake, on October
1st, 1904. W. J. Wood secured the
bond and associated with himself
Messrs. A, B. W. Hodges, R. B.
Boucher, H. A. Wright, W. S. Macy
and O. B. Smith, Jr., all of Phoenix,
B.C. Since that time Mr. Wood has
had to leave Phoenix for England and
was easily picked up again by a crosscut, and a winze has been sunk on it
for another 20 feet. This winze will
be sunk 50 feet more as soon as possible. On the 80 foot level a drift has
been run on the ledge for a distance of
over 250 feet. This drift will be carried north and south as fast as possible.
The ledge itself runs north and
south and dips to the east. It is very
regular and varies in width from a few
inches to over a foot. It carries a
great deal of antimonial silver and
native silver. The ore is easily mined
as the .walls are exceptionally good and
the ore is  not   frozen to them in the
During October, 1901, the number
of men working on the Skylark, under
Foreman Rowe, was six. On November 1 st the force was increased to
eleven, which force is still working.
As stated before, it took over a month
to get ready to. mine, so that no ore
was shipped until November 25th,
1904. From that time to the present
(January 1st, 1.905)' three cars have
gone out, one of first-class ore, one of
second-class ore, and one of third-class
ore, making a total of 52 tons shipped.
These three cars brought in $4,970.
The total expenses during the three
months for wages, machinery, buildings, etc., was $3,900.    At the present
there
s  ready to  ship a
car of
nd-class
3re and about ten t
nsof
first
class   or
e.     This will  easily net
'SpB
rom the <
bove it will be seen
that,
alth
ough  no
ore  was  shipped
for  a
th and a
half, the  people  0
wning
the
bond on
the  Skylark have
been
able
their first payment c
nthe-
bond and pa
all expenses of th
i first
three months
out of ore actually n
5t-class ore each month and from 4 THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
to 50 tons of second-class ore every
other month.
At the present time a development
company is being formed, to be known
as the Skylark Development Co., Ltd.
This company will probably take over
and it is being sacked preparatory to
shipment to the Trail smelter early
next month.    The ore in sight exceeds
i  been  exposed  and
1 for
s  of  :
ch side of the shaft Ore
1 the galena outcrop gave an
Isay of $78.60 per ton in
r and lead. The Barbara
>arallel lead to the veins on
and  silver  in  the sam
e orde
One
ore exposed on three of the properties,
sample ran  $525 per
on.    1
drift
the permanence and  continuity of the
has been extended far
m
uth
3rd
e di-
leads, coupled with the smelter returns
all combine to demonstrate that the
Boundary is about to add another producer to its growing list of   high grade
From the point in th
40 fc
propositions.
cut where the ledge wa
The Republic group  comprises the
this incline shaft was su
the ore.    This working
ik 50
end"
Last Chance, Republic, None Such
and Hidden Treasure mineral claims
ed to a depth of 200 f
situate in Smith's camp, one mile west
north and south on  th
nter-
of  the   Montreal   &  Boston    Copper
been  overcome  the  le
81
Co.'s smelter at Boundary Falls. It is
owned by the Republic Gold Mines,
Ltd., of which W. T. Smith, a pioneer
Mr. Smith has just received the smelt-
The Barbara.
THE BARBARA, separated from
the Helen by one claim, was
acquired last summer by Chicago parties and is now being
developed. It lies directly east of
Greenwood, Copper street abutting on
its west line. A vein from seventeen
to twenty-six inches in width constituting one of the bipgest quartz leads in
the camp, crosses this property in a
northerly and southerly direction and
traverses other adjacent claims. Its
trend is north and south. The lode
has thus the same characteristic strike
and dip of all the parallel veins so far
discovered and opened up in the south
belt. The mineralization closely resembles that of the Helen, from which
it is separated by one claim ; and also
that of the E. P. U.
An incline shaft on the lead extends
40 feet to the first level, where the
vein was found to have broken over
for a distance of 40 feet. At the
point where the ore was again encountered the shaft was sunk on the
lead for a distance of 84 feet, giving a
vertical depth from the surface of the
slope of the hill of 140 feet. From
the 40 foot level of the lower incline
shaft drifts were run north and south
on the ore for 54 and 24 feet respectively. It is the intention of the management to continue the work of sinking to the 200 foot level, whence drifts
will be driven north and south, thus
providing additional stoping ground,
and greatly increasing the present ore
The lead in the lower level looks
exceedingly well, being well defined
throughout. It averages 14 inches in
width and is composed of fine grained
galena, iron pyrites and copper sulphides, varying in value from $60 to $82
per ton. W. H. Jeffery, M.E., has
been the recipient of many compliments for the efficient and economical
manner in wiiich he has conducted
the development work. There are
twenty-five tons of ore in the dump,
The Helen.
IF UNIFORMLY high assays form
any criterion, the Helen promises
to prove a veritable bonanza.
The surprisingly high values in
gold, corresponding to, but surpassing
the returns from adjacent properties,
have about established the fact that the
mines in the south belt will be mainly
gold producers, in contradistinction to
the Providence and'Elkhorn, and other
properties in the north beit where silver values predominate.
The Helen is situated on the east
side of Boundary creek, adjoining
Greenwood on the south and Anaconda
on the east. In an air line the Greenwood smelter is 1500 feet distant from
the mine workings.
The property was bonded last March
by local parties and the work has proceeded under the direction of W. H.
Jeffery, M. E.
At various periods in the past different individuals had thrown up bonds on
the Helen, owing to their failure to obtain uniform values and the discouraging difficulties presented at the bottom
of a 40 foot shaft where the lead virtually pinched out. The best assays
which have been obtained from the pay
streaks varied from $2 to $20 and
$30 per ton in gold and silver. The
parties now holding the bond, however, have had exceptional success. By
cross cutting and following a horizontal seam an inch wide from the fault at
the bottom of Jhe shaft to a point forty
feet east, the lead was again recovered
at its natural size on its original dip at
an angle of fifty degrees to the east, the
strike being northerly and southerly.
Concurrently a drift was run south 29
feet on the vein above the fault on the
At a point 19 feet south of the shaft
a series of samples gave average values
of $ir5 per ton in gold and silver, the
former predominating. Ten feet farther south on the same lead just above
the fault another series of samples gave
average values of $225 per ton in gold
the walls is singularly free from
and the recent development
has been skilfully planned and
ed.
j ore is so high grade in charac-
.t it is being sacked preparatory
•  outlook  for the Helen is ex-
the
ceedingly bright as three other quart;
leads to No. 1 vein can be traced or
the surface north and south
Helen and several adjacent properti
Prospect holes and stripping at frequ
intervals on all these lodes have pr
They
from
) feet
As
hey a
e parallel to
and have t
sam
e  min
eralization as
the lead no
beii
g  dev
eloped, the sa
me values
$$
No. 1
vein, from w
rich they a
sep
rated
3y distances a
800 feet, ■«
ill- be encdunt
sfed.    Astl
He
en  grc
und  rises  ab
uptly  to tr
east
Mr.
Jeffery propo
es to exten
the
cross c
uts from No.
incline sha
and
tap th
rorri   t
jse parallel le
re above sho
ids at dept
t  descriptic
of
he Hi
lenand Barbs
ra propertie
the
owners
of the mines
have, appa
ently, ever
/ reason to be justified
the
belief
that they are
possessed
valu
able cl
aims, which wi
ation (
f developmer
t, as   in  th
past
prove
up to their e
ntire satisfa
tion
many  high
grade   min
Green
wood have do
re in the la
year
or twc
, and be a so
rce of pro
to t
hose interested.    Both the min
hav
been
operated   th
us   far  in
bus
nesslike manner, and
1 continuanc
of t
his  po
icy with  such
encouragin
prop
hould bring it
s own rewar
width,
he
Republic Group.
load shipment from the same claim
have not yet been received but are
expected daily; however, the average
check samples ran about the same as
the prior shipment, indicating uniformity in values. The Last Chance lead
varies from eight to ten feet in width
and runs northeast and southwest,
being traceable on the surface for hundreds of feet. The gangue is quartz; the
richest ore being from one foot to eighteen inches wide on the hanging wall
side; and the ore on the foot wall var-
in thickness, but is of lower grade.
The contents of the entire vein will
concentrate at the ratio of five to one.
The formation is ideal, the vein occur-
diorite on the hanging wall, and slate
on the foot wall;
The None Such claim also made a
similar carload shipment, which averaged $10 gold and 2 oz. silver per ton.
The vein occurs in the same formation
and averages from three to five feet in
width. It is the same lead as the one
on  the  Last  Chance,   the   adjoining
Tne carload shipment from the Republic claim proved even higher, the
ore averaging $17 gold and 7]^ ozs.
silver per ton. The vein runs at right
angles to the other lead and is from
12 to 18 inches in width. It occurs
in identical formation.
y is indeed exceedingly bright. PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUN
- M&t   IiiS lis Si     in «^:'iiiii^^
^^^JUi MJL^gp.^
■JL
Mm
Slfe***
The  Hunter-Kendrick Co.,  LrJ.
B
Grand Forks, Greenwood ai
the latter being perhaps th
ary that is without ps
filled to overflowing
goods of every descr
ware.    In addition  t
ample room
pmpany today
in the Bound-
i a'complete-
sn and hard-
this, the c
.^flB
isi' s^
0
pan>
.  large
the
1899, securir
a  building c
ployed by this establishment are a busy
lot. The last year has been one of
the bu.iest in the history of the com-
ery  probability   of   i
:r this year,
age    enjoyed    by   tl
ck   Co. is  that  the e
nents of the three lari
he si
ner of Knob Hill avenu
street, was being erecte.
Graves and Wm. Yolen \
the Hunter-Kendrick &
lower floor of the largs
term of years—with the
ing the Boundary in 181
Rumberger, although no
Houtzdale,  Penn.,  was
purchases spending a year in Phoei
iuch  large berger  returned   to his
ces of the home, but still retains hi:
■untry  are Mr.   Morrin  and   Mi
ompanyin formed  a  partnership  i
ess, both bought the lot where the
building thereon that fa
Mclntyre & McDonald.
THE PALACE Livery Stable, of
Phoenix, is known throughout the Boundary country, as
well as the proprietors themselves, Mclntyre & McDonald, who
have been engaged in this business
here for several years. The location
of the stable on Knob Hill avenue is
an excellent one, and this coming
spring the firm expects to build another
stable adjoining the present location.
Both Mr. Mclntyre and Mr. McDonald take an active interest in their
business, and with their 30 head of
horses and complete outfit of rigs of
all kinds, do an extensive and lucrative
livery and drayage business to all parts
of the Boundary. In addition to this
they also handle wood, ice and Gait
coal, which is delivered as desired to
for the west, and for a few years was in
business in various parts of Idaho and
Montana, till he reached the Boundary
in 1899, shortly after which the present partnership was formed.
Alexander McDonald was born at-
New Glasgow, Pictou county, Nova
Scotia, and started out west somewhat
earlier than his partner. In 1885 he
was in California, and for four years
remained a resident of the Golden
state. Then he gradually worked his
way north, spending a couple of years
at Portland, Ore., and reached British
Columbia in 1892, being engaged in
business in Nelson and Slocan for a
number of years. In 1898 he was in
the hotel business in Cascade, coming
to Phoenix the following year, since
which time he has heen a resident of
this place,  being elected in  1904 to
ethe
alder
It i
Murdock Mclntyre is a nai
Atlantic coast, having been
Sydney, Cape Breton, wheri
brought up.    In  1896 he s
M ENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOUR
T
Eastern Towns
HE   Eastern
Dominion. The headquarters of the
bank are at Sherbrooke, Quebec, and
altogether the bank has 42 offices.
The only western offices are at Winnipeg, Manitoba, and Grand Forks and
Phoenix, British Columbia. During
1904 ten new branches were established, mostly in the eastern part of
Canada, as reported at the forty-sixth
annual meeting held at the Head Office on December 7th last.     Earnings
greatest magnitude. This bank recent-
money orders payable at any banking
town in Canada at very-low rates.
For the last year business has been
most satisfactory at all offices of the
bank, and the directors report-that the
outlook  for   the  future  is   excellent
oftf
It has a
luthor
026, and the loans stand
neary
ank has
.;vr-r—-—7-—yf——■'-■ ---- -              - - -"*™**8£!
Bedford, Quebec.
Beloil, Quebec.
Coaticook, Quebec.
Cookshire, Quebec.
Cowansville, Quebec.
Clarenceville, Quebec.
• 2a*|ii I8i|
serve fund of $1,500,000. The officers of the Eastern Townships Bank
are as follows:
President, -William Farwell; vice-
president, Israel Wood. The directors are, N. W. Thomas,' Gardner Stevens, S. H. C. Miner, A. C. Flumerfelt,
C. H. Kathan, H. B. Brown, K.C.,
James S. Mitchell and Frank Grundy;
general manager, J. Mackinnon; inspector, S. F. Morey. William Spier
is the manager of the Grand Forks
branch and A. B. Hood the acting
manager of the Phoenix branch.
In addition to transacting a regular
banking business, buying and selling
exchange on any part of the world, the
bank has a savings department, where
interest is paid at the rate of three per
cent per annum—the same as by all
chartered banks in Canada.   The bank
mby, Quebec.
Huntingdon, Quebec.
Iberville, Quebec.
Lacolle, Quebec.
Lake Megantic, Quebec.
Lawrenceville, Quebec.
Montreal, St. James St.
Montreal, St. Catherine St.
Montreal, St. Lawrence, Main St.
Magog, Quebec.
Masonville, Quebec.
Ormstown, Quebec.
Phoenix, B C.
Richmond, Quebec.
Rock Island Quebec.
Roxton Falls, Quebec.
Stanstead, Quebec.
St. Gabriel de Brandon, Quebec.
St. Hyacinthe, Quebec.
St. John's, Quebec.
St. Joseph, Beauce, Quebec.
Sutton, Quebec.
Valcourt, Quebec.
Waterloo, Quebec.
West Shefford, Quebec.
Windsor Mills, Quebec
Winnipeg, Manitoba.
P. Burns & Co.
IT IS probably a safe
no firm is better or more widely
known in  western Canada than
that of P. Burns & Co., wholesale
and retail dealers in cattle and general
The firm has markets in all the principal cities and towns
of British Columbia, Alberta and the
Yukon,   besides  several in Montana,
U.S.A., with cold storage plants at Calgary, Revelstoke, Nelson and Vancouver.    The head office of the concern
is located at Calgary, Alberta, and the
head  office and  stockyards   tor   the
Boundary are situated at Green-
The business of the firm in Phoenix
for the past year has been far in excess
of that for any previous year, and has
kept four employees busy most of the
time.    While this increase of business
was partly due to the large number cf
imployed in the Boundary during
.st fall and summer on the con-
the Great Northern railway
1 Phoenix, the general business of the firm here has also shown a
healthy increase as well.    Not only is
but every-
in an up-
.e had.
like forty different
tered all over the
, P. Burns & Co.
As showing the wide scope of the
business of P. Burns & Co., the following partial list of the concern will indicate the territory where the name of
the firm is almost a household word:
Ainsworth }
Nelson
Cascade
New Denver
Cran brook
Phoenix
Eholt
Revelstoke
Elko
Rossland
Fernie
Sandon
Field
Silverton
Golden
Slocan
Grand Forks
Three Forks
Greenwood
Trail
Kaslo
Trout Lake
Midway
Vancouver
Moyie
Ymir
Naksup
Etc.
Anthracite
Coleman
Banff
McLean
Calgary
Wetaskiwin
Canmore
Etc.
of
g that
irmy
Dawson Whitehorse
' And many others.
As soon as Phoenix became a town
of some importance, in the fall of 1899,
P. Burns & Co. recognized that it
should not be overlooked by their concern, and although there was already
another shop being conducted here in
the upper town, P. Burns & Co.
opened one in the lower town. Both
shops thrived as Phoenix thrived, but
eventually P. Burns & Co. bought out
consolidated the two.   With their cattle
N
The Wm. Hunter Co,
O   MAN,   probably,
■ Wil
in the Kootenays thar
1 Hunter, who makei
only line handled in the store, together
with men's goods of all kinds—and has
made many friends here since making
is homi
his home at Silverton, on'
Slocan lake. Mr. Hunter was literally
one 'of the earliest pioneers of the
Kootenays, establishing a store at New-
Denver in 1891, which business he
gradually extended until he had stores
at Nelson, Sandon, Silverton, Alamo,
Three Forks and last but not least,
Phoenix. Mr. Hunter finally disposed
of all of his extensive merchandising
interests with the exception of the
Phoenix store, and is now devoting a
large part of his time to silver-lead
mining in the Slocan district, where he
lives. The Wm. Hunter Co., Ltd.,
has a capital of $100,000.
C. H. Reeves is the capable manager of the Phoeqix store, of the Williani
Hunter Co., and has been for more
than a year. He is thoroughly conversant with the dry goods trade—the
When Mr. Hunter decided to start
his business in Phoenix, he purchased
one of the most desirable lots on Do-,
minion avenue, a few doors from the
postoffice and built a two story structure for the business. In the winter of
1901 this was wiped out by fire, which
also took the Imperial hotel, then
adjoining. But Mr. Hunter at once
erected a better building than before,
and having the only exclusive dry
goods establishment in Phoenix, the
store has always had its share of the
trade of the camp. The aim of the
firm has evidently been to anticipate
and to keep in advance of, while at the
same time fully meeting the  require-
Phoenix. The past year has been one
of the most prosperous in the history
of the company.
The  Phoenix  Pioneer.
SOME persons are kind enough to
think that the Phoenix Pioneer
is one of the institutions of
Phoenix. Whether this be so
or not, the editor • can only say that,
within the scope of his abilities, it has
been his endeavor to publish just as
good a weekly paper as was possible
here—and from the reception that the
paper has met with since its inception
more than five years ago, there is
reason to think that his efforts have
been appreciated, with a few exceptions, by the community.
The first copy of the Pioneer appeared on November 18, 1899, from a
building in which there were neither
windows nor doors. At that time it
was a six column folio sheet. In a
few weeks the size was increased  to
Willcox, and is now living in Seattle.
It was the aim, from the first number,
to publish all the news of the Boundary, paying special attention to news
of a mining or smelting nature, in
which every resident of the Boundary,
and many non-residents, are interested
directly or indirectly. This policy
has been pursued steadily, and we believe that it has won many friends for
the paper, who are kind enough to
say  many pleasant things about  the
offers.
In
1 far
3 the
and r
iling all through British Columbia,
ice then, this paper has never hung
it the flag of distress by reducing its
At tl
e and for the last
the Pioneer has
a building erected
their lot in the Boundary,
of years after starting Mr.
sed off his interest to Mr.
as it has been possible to do so, the
Pioneer has always endeavored to
verify figures that have appeared in its
columns, so that the element of uncertainty or inaccuracy might be elim-.
inated to the greatest possible extent.
It was not to be expected that the
Pioneer would please everyone, and
the man who has any idea that he can
do this has yet to learn a great deal.
But we have spent such time, energy
and money as was at our command to
issue a paper that would be not only
reliable and a credit to the town and
district where it was published, but
one that might be recognized as such
abroad. In accordance with this
policy, we have used good stock for
the paper itself—as we believed that
nothing was too good for the readers
of the  Pioneer—and  have exercised
lake 1
s of
equipped
ie highest J"
to Colorado, where he also followed
mining, and thence to Idaho and Washington, when he became interested in
In July, 1891, Mr. Rumberger came
railway at Marcus, Wa'shington, and
walking into this section, then without
roads or even trails. Wandering over
Boundary mountain, he made locations
in this camp, and staked or became
interested in the Brooklyn, Rawhide,
Monarch, Idaho, Cimeron and other
well known properties. The mere performance of assessment work on claims
No one in the Boundary is better
informed in regard to mines and mining properties than is G. W. Rumberger. Living here for fourteen years,
knowing all the old time prospectors,
and, indeed, having handled the pick
and drill himself for many a month,
he has made a study of the business,
and today has extensive and valuable
interests. In real estate in Phoenix,
also, Mr. Rumberger is an authority,
from the nature of the case,' and has
bought and sold a great deal of property for home people and non-residents.
More than one man who has had
hard luck in the past has had occasion
to be thankful to George Rumberger
for timely aid extended, and done so
that his left hand did not know what
his right hand was doing, j
Ed. H. Mortimer.
INVESTMENTS in Phoenix real
estate and its surrounding mines
are giving excellent returns, and
Mr. Mortimer has on his list several buildings giving a return of at
least twelve per cent, on an outlay of
from $500 to $5,000. Those wishing
-an investment of this sort or who are
looking'for good farming land should
drop him a line. He has a four-
roomed house for sale at $600, bringing
Birkbeck Investment and Savings Co.,
and the Mason & Risch Piano Co. In
fact, Mr. Mortimer does a general
agency business, and is a notary public.
Mr. Mortimer is an Englishman by
birth, being a native of Southampton.
Rossland in the fall of 1896, and to
the Boundary in 1898, where he has
since made his home. He will deem
it a pleasure to answer correspondence
Mr. Boyle was born at Elora,
tario, in 1870, and spent several y
with the great drug house of Evan
George E. Dey.
VI established himself in business
here as a watchmaker and jeweler. Mr. Dey is a native of Ontario,
and after a good education and spending the required time to thoroughly
acquire a knowledge of his chosen
business, he decided to launch out for
himself. His brother, O. W. Dey,
then being the agent of the C.P.R. in
Phoenix, and believing that there was
a good future for this city, persuaded
Mr. Dey to locate in the chief mining
town of the Boundary.
At first Mr. Dey started business in
a modest way, but his close attention
to work, and his proved ability to
handle anything in his line, soon became known throughout the Boundary
and he was forced to largely increase
his stock, which he did, carrying almost everything that should be found
in a well stocked jewelry establishment.
But it was not only as a salesman that
Mr. Dey obtained a good reputatk
Iftl
ere is a preference for  mining,
st Chance, Gold Bug, Provi-
Granby, Montreal & Boston or
itional Coal, and will be pleased
a  group  0
high   grade
ning one of t
le best prop-
camp, and
options  and
nds   will   be
secured for
in to his  re
il estate and
ness,   Mr.   Mortimer also
insurance bu
siness, and is
the   followin
g companies:
pool, London
and  Globe,
surance   Co.
of London,
erica,   and
Canadian   of
1 of which ar
3 Board com-
also represen
ts the Mutual
of Canada, the Canadian Railway
e Co., Lloyd's Plate.
:  Co.,   the   Canadian ■
It v,
itilhewi
One of the best evidences of Mr.
Dey's ability is the fact that he was selected some years ago as the time inspector of the C.P.R. for the Boundary
country, and has discharged his duties
so well that he still holds that position.
Officially it is his duty to examine and
inspect periodically all timepieces used
by the employes of the C.P.R. in this
Mr. Dey is a Free Mason of several
years' standing, and a few weeks ago
was honored by his fellow members of
King Edward Lodge No. 36 of Phoenix, by being chosen as worshipful
master of that lodge. He is also chairman of the board of public school
trustees and on the board of managers
for St. Andrew's Presbyterian church.
D. J. Matheson.
DONALD JOHN MATHESON
was born in Victoria county,
Nova Scotia, and came west
when a young man, having received a good high school education in
Halifax, on the shores of the Atlantic
ocean. In 1897 Mr. Matheson first
came to the Boundary, living in Cascade, where he taught the public
school for about two years, then settling
In Phoenix, which was just beginning
to attract the attention of the outside
world.
Mr. Matheson followed Thos. Roderick as postmaster of Phoenix in Jan-
holds, and performs the important
duties thereof to the universal satisfaction of the public.
In 1901 Mr. Matheson was chosen
odd.
strongest companies 11
represents the Royal Insurance Co.,
the Norwich Union, the National of
Ireland, the London and Lancashire,
the Western Assurance Co., the Union
Assurance Co., the Queen Insurance '
Co., and the Phoenix of Hartford,
among others. He is also agent for
casualty and plate glass insurance companies, and his universal courtesy and THE PHOEtilX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
Clark & Binns.
IN THE spring of 1895 the firm of
Clark & Binns was established in
the furniture and undertaking
business in the town of Trail, at
that time the entrepot to Rossland by
way of the Columbia river from North-
port and Nelson—and the business is
still carried on there.
In September of the year 1899 the
firm established itself in Phoenix, putting up a 30x60 foot two-story building
on Old Ironsides avenue, which is still
occupied by them. One story is used
for warerooms and the other for manufacturing purposes. They carry a large
stock ^f furniture, carpets, linoleums,
house furnishings, pictures, mouldings
and undertaking supplies, and import
direct in carload lots.    James A. Clark
has been in charge of the Phoenix
store since its establishment over five
years ago, while Mr. Binns remains at
Trail.
Mr. Clark is a native of Ontario,
born at Ingersoll. After leaving,school
he went into the furniture business and
has never worked at anything else.
At the first council election, November, 1900, Mr. Clark was elected alderman with a good majority, and he was
also elected as a member of the school
board several times.
Noble Binns was born in the land
of the Shamrock. He sailed for Canada, about twenty years ago, where he
was also in the furniture business.
There he met Mr. Clark, and they
came to British Columbia together,
forming the partnership that has been
Phoenix Brewery.
A WESTERN town of any size or
pretentions in this day and
generation that has not a brewing establishment is the exception rather than the rule, and Phoenix is not the exception to this rule,
having what is said to be one of the
best appointed and ' most successful
breweries in this section of the country.
Julius Mueller, the proprietor of the
Phoenix Brewery, began the work of
building his present commodious structure in the fall of 1899, and completed
it -that winter, fitting it-with -the latest
appliances for his business. It is 60 x
36 feet in size, three stories high. Since
that time he has added to and perfected the arrangements of the concern
until none are better able to turn out
the purest and most satisfactory beer
to be brewed. Mr. Mueller has piped
the clearest water from a mountain
spring to the brewery, and so is sure of
a never failing supply that has no danger of being contaminated
Mr.   Mueller  was   born  at Baden,
Germany, and learned the business of
Ph<
C
brewing in that country so famous for
its unexcelled beer. In the year 1880
he came to America, and settled in
Chicago for a time, but the  west   had
located at Missoula in Montana,   Spo-
to business for himself at Rossland.
But for the time being, at least, Rossland had seen its best days and competition was exceedingly keen there,
with several in the same line of business, so Mr. Mueller decided to cast
his fortunes in with the Boundary,
which he did, as mentioned above, in
1899. As with almost every business
man in Phoenix, the last year has been
a good one with the Phoenix Brewery,
and his present winter trade is one of
the best Mr. Mueller has ever had.
With an abiding faith in the permanence of Phoenix as a mining ramp of
the largest importance, Mr. Mueller has
made a heavy investment here in his
brewery, the capacity of the concern
being much greater than that at which
it is operated now. However, believing
that his judgment would be justified in
the course of time, he has prepared accordingly, and in the meantime is transacting a satisfactory business.
oenix Electric Lighting Co. Ltd.
no extensi
ve sources of supply near at
hand.    Tl
lis has been the case during
APITALIZED at the moderate
t months, and alt' ough Sec-
sum of $50,000, the Phoenix
retary Mai
-tin has done everything that
Electric   Lighting  Co..   Ltd,,
he cou'd t
0 keep up the supply, Mar-
has been in business here for
shall lake,
north of the city, where the
nip is located, hasnot'been
st three years.    In the year 1902
ItTslfkdy
"howeve^thatstepl^ft
The Granby Laundry.
' business which has always been handled
Woostei
|ky|RS. T. GRIFFIN, who is the
by this laundry.   There being no Chin
1905 th
1 TF I     proprietor   of   the   Granby
ese in Phoenix—the  elevation   being
glfi
j       1     Laundry,   has   been   estab
pretty high for them—it makes all the
lished  -about   three   years,
more  business  for  those engaged in"
Hower
and in that time has had a. large part
laundrying, and Mrs. Griffin undoubt
ficers to
of the trade of the men employed at
edly succeeds in getting her share of
From
the Granby and other mines, as well
the general patronage.
has bee
as  a  general  miscellaneous  business
If careful attention to the wants of
attained
throughout the city of Phoenix.
her customys, and never letting work
Mrs. Griffin looks after the details
go out that is not believed to be .all
of the business herself, which is a guar
right in every particular, are business
antee that everything is as it should be
getters, the secret of Mrs. Griffin's sucr
Ax
—and this is saying not a little when
cess'since" she   started   the Granby
1 1
it comes to the busines
Her place of business
part of the Wynkoop-S
Phoenix Dairy.
WM. D. PARKER is the pro
prietor of the oldest established dairy in this neighborhood — the Phoenix
Dairy. In the summer of 1898 Mr.
Paiker came up through the Boundary
from the state of Washington, at the
time that the C.P.R. was'building its
Boundary branch from the Columbia
river, and after looking, over the field
decided that there was an opening
here for a good dairy. On the 22nd
of June of that year, he settled on what
is now his milk ranch, about a mile
below1 Phoenix, on the Phoenix Greenwood wagon road, and established his
dairy. At that time and for more than
a year afterward, till the new railway
had trains running into Phoenix, all of
the travel into this camp came over
that road, and the Parker ranch was a
familiar sight to all travelers coming
into or going from the chief mining
-camp of the Boundary.
Mr. Parker at once obtained a good
-trade in this camp, for the need of a
dairy had long been felt here. Between  supplying  the  mines arid the
looks forward to another year of comparative prosperity during 1905.
general trade, including the hotels and
families in the camp, he soon had all
the business that he could handle. At
the present time there are about 30
cows at the Phoenix dairy, besides
which Mr. Parker does a large business in poultry.
W. D. Parker is a native of Indiana,
but in 1877 he started out for what
was then the west, and lived in the
state of Iowa for several years. However, the west seemed to be moving
towards the setting sun, with the settlement 'of the Pacific slope and the
Rocky mountain regions; and Mr.
Parker came farther west, reaching the
state of Washington m 1880. Here he
settled in the beautiful and fertile Col-
ville valley, near Chewelah, where he
still has considerable property.
Any place where snow remains on
the ground for at ieast five months of
s it doe
thing but easy to secure feed on the
nearby ranges. But the cattle in the
Phoenix Dairy are kept up with the
best of feed duriug the long winter
months, and in this way Mr. Parker is
able to supply his customers during the
hibernal season, By taking an active
part in the conduct of his dairy, Mr.
Parker has been successful in bringing
it up to its present successful standing.
/VE 0F the pro-ressive young
1    1    concerns of the Boundary  is
prepared to launch out for himself on
the sea of business.
\B    the watchmaking and jewelry
establishment' of  Ed.   Black,
located adjoining the Knob Hill hotel
makes a specialty of high grade watches
of all kinds, in the supplying of which
he has  done a good  business.    He
Mr   Black  has been a resident of
Phoenix for nearly two years, and in
seasonable jewelry in variety, including
that time he has built up a trade in his
rings,  brooches,. chains,  etc.    In ar£
business that has proved most satisfac
dition  to  this  he does an extensive
tory.      He  lived  in  Phoenix Several
months before deciding to embark in
business in watch and jewelry repairing
of every description, and guarantees all
of his work or will refund the money.
business for himself, but from his own
From his wide acquaintance among
statement, the venture has been a most
the   miners  and   business   men,   Mr.
satisfactory and profitable one in every
Black is given a generous patronage
way.    Mr. Black was born in Nebras-
generally, and negates that: his holiday PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY Mil
BOUNDARY  DATA  AND  STATISTICS.
For the convenience of interested
readers, we have prepared data and
statistics regarding the ore and metal
production of the Boundary, not
only for the year 1904. but for pre-
igures which will
befc
ind o
pared with all p
i have
sible
ire under the     Co.'s
to the proper authorities to secure
them. It is, therefore, believed that
they may be taken as practically correct, except in the cases of some of
the smaller mines, where they are approximate, the request for definite
figures   not   having   been   complied
Copper, 17,843,399^5.
Total- 1904 output  $3,4
Total Boundary Values, 1904.
Gold    '   35,403-84? oz
Figured-on a basis of an average
price for 1904 of 57 cents per ounce
for silver, 12.8 cents per pound for
copper and $20 per ounce for gold, the
Copper,   5,0^1,743   lbs
2,507,727 Tons 9f Ore.
1,603,7
January.. . .
February.. .
March	
June
July ,
September.
October ...
November..
December..
In the year 1904 there were 5,783
eet of crosscutting, drifting, raising
.nd sinking done at the Granby mines
B. C.  Copper   Co.
According to official figures furnished by the British Columbia Copper Co., the company's Mother Lode
March .
May.'.'.
June.. .
July   ..
October
total of  26,844   feet  of development
December..      12,940
work done in these mines, or over five
miles.    This does not include any  of
the work  done  in   the  immense  ore
quarries.
In 1904  there  were 3,148  feet  of
diamond drilling done at  the  Granby
Total 1904.    i74,298
In the year 1903 the Mother Lode
mine had an output of 138,079 tons of
ore, so that during 1904 there was an
increase of 26,219 tons or a trifle un-
mines, or a total of 4,641 feet to  date.
GRANBY  SMELTER.
The exact amount of ore treated at
Detailed and corrected figures have
the   British   Columbia   Copper  Co.'s
been   obtained    showing    the   exact
two-furnace  smelter  in  1904  was as
amount of ore that was reduced at the
follows, including the custom ore re
smelting works of the  Granby  Co. at
ceived from 30 different outside mines:
Grand   Forks   for  the  past   calendar
year.    The total  is  a  little   short of
600,000 tons of ore—the exact amount
being   596,252   tons.      In   the year
January      18,159
February      17,263
March      19,412
Montreal  &  Boston.
The Montreal & Boston Consolidated only operated its first furnace about
three months of 1904, putting through
about 30,000 tons of ore, nearly all of
which was produced by the company's
The production of copper matte was
about 1,225 tons, and the approximate
production of metals was as follows:
Gold,    3,435 ozs.,at $20 $68,700
Copper, 920,.
:i7,7°o
Value 1904 output . .$194,184
While the above estimate of values
is not official, it is believed to be fairly
conservative, as the average prices for
the year 1904 have been used and the
market prices for the last three months
of 1904 were higher than earlier in the
year, especially as regards copper.  .
Brey Fogle	
'No. 37    	
Reliance	
Winnipeg	
Golden Crown.. .
King Solomon. .
No. 7 mine	
City of Paris.. ..
Jewel.....	
Providence	
Elkhorn	
Skylark	
560
70,077
31,937
'3,8'3
5,336^.
BOUNDARY ORE TONNAGE.
mm
,506,727
.901, .or A
previous year. The following table
shows the tonnage treated by the
smelter for each month of 1904 :
January  57,255
February  56,986
March  55,76o
April  f
July  37,042
August  47,308
September  49,795   ■
October     45>7I4
November  49,4"
December  52>361   .
Total for 1904 596,252
Of this total there was shipped from
the company's Phoenix mines a total
of 549,7.o3 tons of ore- Tms leaves
46,548 tons of custom ore that was received during the year,, this custom
ore coming from Republic, Rossland',
Ymir, Ori.
In the year 1903 this smelt
duced 162,913 tons of 01
during 1904 there was an j
47,571 tons treated, or almost 30 per
cent. Of the 210,484 tons smelted,
172,753 tons were from the company's
Mother Lode mine, while the balance
of 37,731 tons came from the follow
ing properties in the Boundary, Rossland, Republic, Ymir, West Fork and
other camps: Gold Finch, Emma,
LeRoi No. 2, Athelstan, Non Such,
Providence, Senator, Elkhorn, Butcher
Boy, Hunter V., Bay, View, Gem,
-Preston, Silver Cloud, Columbia and
Kootenay, E.P.U., Eureka, Cliff, Che-
9-851
6,624
6,655
♦    Zoo
♦ m!™
♦ b.cj
♦ R.Bel
so that
iEmm»
crease of
is?
Kg
I jewel...
IBS
for December bei THE PHOENIX PIONEER AND BOUNDARY MINING JOURNAL.
The Phoenix Pioneer      oPp9rtunitiesjn_ths B2Undary.
Employed in the Boundary.
PIONEEE PUBLISHING CO.
I, B. WILLCOX. Manager
It is a time worn saying that gold is
where you find it—and the same may
be said with truth of the other metals,
the rock formations of the Boundary
gained  currency that large capital is
Midwinter Number
One year ago the Pioneer sent out
an illustrated extra number of this paper, for the purpose of calling attention
to the magnificent possibilities in a
mining way that are to be found in the
Boundary district of southeastern British Columbia. It consisted of sixty
pages of text and illustrations and cover, and was received far and wide with
expressions of approval and commendation. • In the publication of that
number it was the intention of the
publisher to present the advantages of
the Boundary to those interested, or
who might become so, that they might
fco&ve^a clear idea of the conditions
pre""0 -flg here. There is every reason
'"^Jv^iKve that the object of the publication, to a large degree, was accomplished, and such being the case, the
publisher feels well repaid for his
efforts. ,
With the advance made in all
lines of mining in the Boundary during
the past year, it was believed that the
time was even more opportune for the
issuance of a similar publication, bringing it, as far as possible, down to date.
This year the size of each page has
been more than doubled over last year,
to give a better setting to the many
large halftone engravings in the publication. The result is that the publication now before the reader is the
equivalent of being five or six pages
larger than last year.
In the articles regarding the different
mines and smelters of the Boundary
which are now in operation, it has
been the intention to confine the stories entirely to facts, it being our idea
that the facts themselves—-In cold type
—are sufficiently strong to attract at-
ention, if properly presented.
Last year, besides the regular list of
readers of the Pioneer, copies were
sent all over the world, from the Shet
land    Islands
and  even  Chir
Daws
mining proper
it least been
arted it
vith a
few thousands of dollars as a capital to
exploit a low grade proposition, only to
discover that low grade mines require
large expenditures by the owners, years
of development and the erection of
smelting plants by the mining companies, to wrest profits from mother earth
But this has been done—make no
error on that score. When ample
capital was mixed with brains and mining experience on a large low grade
proposition here, it has succeeded
eventually, and we fully believe that
there will be many more such in the
future, as the possibilities of the Boundary become better known to those possessing the requisite capital and brains.
For such, opportunities exist on all
sides of us—opportunities as promising as any that have been taken advant-
And yet, we would not have it understood that only low grade mines can
be found here, for the contrary is the
case. Almost side by side with the
low grade copper-gold mines are found
high grade gold and silver mines—
mines that have yielded and are today
yielding ore that gives smelter returns
' of $150 and even $200 per ton.
These are what are known as poor
men's, propositions, for the reason that
a man with limited capital can often
take out enough ore in the course of
development to pay all expenses and
leave a handsome profit beside. In
fact, this has been done in many cases.
During the last year more attention
than ever has been attracted to the
mines in th4 high grade belt, which is
largely around the city of Greenwood.
Goodly profits have been paid, more
claims have been bonded and taken
-hold of than ever before in the same
time, and that part of the industry of
mining has received a well deserved
impetus as a result. Probably 15 or
20 of these high grade properties are
now being worked, and most of them
with most'satisfactory results. Therefore, to the man of limited means also,
the Boundary offers a most inviting
field.
of the Boundary.
gentle
ike th.
Granby mines for an exam
present they are known to
largest explored copper-gold [
in Canada, and some think in the
world, but there are others that are
only just being opened up, as it were,
that will doubtless be almost as important when an equal amount of development work is done. Now, then,
is your pencil sharp?
In the Granby mines, the ore body
has been defined roughly from 300
to 500 feet. It has been explored
for a length of about 3,000 feet, and has
been, cut with shafts for a depth of
from 325 to 400 feet from the apex of
the Knob Hill mine. Remember,
also, that this ground has all been developed with crosscuts and drifts, many
of the stopes in the Old Ironsides and
Knob Hill mines being large enough
to hold the largest building in the
Boundary, with plenty of room to.
spare. If you multiply these figures
together, taking the minimum in each
case, you will have something like a
total of 243,750,000 cubic feet of
ore. Divide this by 12, to be on the
conservative side, and you get 20,000,-
If not another
how long would it last
rate of 2,000 tons daily?
those reading these lines may live.
Then it must be remembered that,
while we have taken the minimum
figures, the diamond drill has proven
the ore body to extend hundreds of
feet deeper, adding untold millions of
tons to the total. Now, then, do you
think there is anything of an ephemeral nature about the Boundary mines?
Two great transcontinental" railways,
the C. P. R. and the'Great Northern,
have spent millions in money to lay
their rails to the Boundary, to secure
the tonnage from these great mining
propositions. This fact itself is a
most significant one, as railways are
not spending millions unless they
know a permanent tonnage will come
to them as a result.
We leave the reader who has followed these lines to his own reflections,
and if he cannot see here the beginning of one of the greatest copper
manufacturing industries in the world
—in the face of these stubborn facts—
he must indeed be blind.
is discovered,
at a shipping
Longer than
n  the
e of the 1
forces of rr
B. C. Output, J 904,
From Victoria comes the report that
the total value of the minerals produced within the confines of British
Columbia during the year ended December 31st, 1904, was $19,770,000.
This was an increase of $2,274,046
over the amount for 1903.
The total  amount of mineral  pro-
Boundary in the last five years, the
duced  other  than  coal  in  the  year
future bids fair to show an even great
amounted    to    $15,300,000.      The
er ratio of increase in the actual value
amount of sold   produced, both from
of the output in dollars and cents.    In
quartz and placer, during the year that
the year 1900 not quite 100,000 tons
has gone into the care of the historian,
of ore  were  taken  out  and shipped
was in excess of that of the year before.
from our mines.    In  1904 this figure
In 1904  the  amount  of gold  taken
had been increased more than eight
from the earth amounted   to  $6,400,-
000; that secured in I9o3 was $5,873,-
in the year just closed, as will be noted
030, s.ightly over $500,000 less than
that of the  year just  passed.     The
from the figures published on page 29
silver product of the province in 1904
was also in excess of that of the year
of this issue.    And this is the result
of but five years of work.    What will
previous.     1 he silver output of  1904
it be when  ten or fifteen years have
was $2,200,000, which  was  $678,528
in excess of the year 1903, when the
amount of silver taken from the Brit
ish Columbia  mines totalled $1,521,-
We think we hear someone saying
472.    J he copper produced last year
was slightly in excess of that mined in
Boundary will most likelv hav   h
1903.    During-1904 the total output
was $4,600,000.    The lead mined  in
worked out and perhaps deserted, as
1904 was valued at  $689,744, a total
s of the Boundary, and by
the railways that haul ores and fuel to,
and the metallic products from, the
Boundary smelters, varies from time to
the Pioneer has obtained data regarding the men employed, and the following  figures are believed  to be fairly
Granby Mines	
Mother Lode	
Brooklyn	
Rawhide	
Providence	
Elkhorn	
E. P. U	
Last Chance	
Skylark	
Emma	
Oro Denoro     |
Senator	
Bay	
Silver Cloud    	
Betts and Hesperus	
Lancashire Lass	
Mountain Rose	
Up  North  Fork  Kettle   river,
Up West Fork and main Kettle
Hope No. 2, Coronation, Combination, Strath more, Barbara, Coro-Canadian,   etc.,
Miscellaneous	
t Total	
SMELTER   EMPLOYES.
Granby smelter	
B. C. Copper Co. smelter	
Montreal & Boston smelter....
Station help    30
Bridgemen  15
Train crews, 7'of 3 each  21
Engine crews, - 8 of 2 each  16
Yard crew  3
Eholt, shops, round house and
fueling depot..'.  35
Other train crews running into
Boundary points  45
Great Northern, estimated      100
1830
C. P. R. payroll, $10,000 to $20,-
000 per month.
Mine  and  smelter  payroll,   about
$135,000 per month.
Eholt is C. P. railway headquarters
for the Boundary.
was $19,770,000.
much less than that of 1903. The
coal and coke produced in the province
were valued at $4,332,267, the amount
being the same as that mined in the
year that preceded.
The approximate  statement of the
mineral output for the year 1904 is as
Gold $ 6,400,000
Copper     4,000,000
Miscellaneous        600,000
Total mineral production
other than coal $15,300,000
Tons.
Coal, Crow's Nest Pass ..        370,000
Coal, Vancouver Island ..      '720,000
Total coal tonnage      .     1,090,000
v*'ue '..  $3,270,000
Coke, C. N. P  220,000
Coke, V. 1  20,000
Total coke tonnage 240 000
Value ;:.$ I)20o,ooo
Total   mineral   output
for '903 $17,465,954
=^ 'HE PHOENIX PIO
BETTS AND HESPERUS GROUP.     SOME OTHER BOUNDARY MINES.
land. There are 150 tons of ore on
the dump and an experimental shipment to the Granby smelter gave most
mined. The capping consists of
decomposed lime and quartzite impregnated with copper stain, and it
appears to be from seventy-five to one
hundred feet wide. The mineral zone
lies between a contact of diorite and
porphyry and can be traced across
both claims; in fact, half a dozen open
cuts, in addition to the main workings,
have disclosed the ore in place.
The first work was to run an open
■cut 100 feet long through "wash" to
strike the ore body. When this had
been accomplished the miners then
ran in on the diorite foot wall, which
trends north and south with a dip to
the east. Ten feet further in the workings, 18 feet wide, are all in ore with
no hanging wall in sight. This part of
the workings was also extended 50
feet further in ore, arid at the face a
winze, also in ore, -was sunk 40 feet,
giving a depth of over 75 feet from the
surface on the slope of the hill.
If surface showings count for anything, the Betts and Hesperus will
soon rank as one of the big propositions in the Boundary, not only in regard to values but equally so in respect
of width. The ore is a typical sulphide with a matrix of lime, iron and
silica in the proper proportions to
make it self fluxing. The lowest assay
obtained was $5 per ton. Several
yielded $60 per ton. Careful sampling
places the average value of the face of
the workings at $12 per ton in copper,
gold and silver in the order named.
The present main working is on the
Betts, about the centre of the claim.
In either direction for a distance of
of about 1,500 feet a series of open
fore the tunnel had been extended 30
feet. The strike has greatly encour-,
aged the management, as the belief
prevailed that ore would not be encountered until a distance of 250 feet
had been traversed. There is likelihood that the ore now in the face of
winze in the old workings, and with an
upraise from the long tunnel, is destined to connect. Should the ore zone
prove to be(from 300 to 400 feet wide,
as is anticipated, the gioup has every
prospect of growing into one of the
the Boundary.
Two shifts are now at work. The
plant recently installed comprises the
Rand compressor referred to, and a 60
h.p. boiler. The company has also
recently erected a compressor building,
boarding and bunk houses, store house
and office, blacksmith shop, water
tank, and laid 600 feet of pipe line.
The recently installed power plant is
being utilized in driving the tunnel.
The original group has been increased
by the purchase of the Lancaster and
Chicago fraction, embracing 50 acres
and giving right of way down the
mountain to the Great Northern track
along Fourth of July creek.
The officials of the Hesperus Gold-
Copper Mines 'Co. are: President,
Chas. J. Magee; treasurer, P. B. Frid-
kyn; secretary, John Claney, all prominent Chicago business men, and T. H.
Rea, of Grand Forks, superintendent.
Theodore Herchmer, the foreman, is a
competent mining. man, enjoying a
wide experience in Canadian and Am-
The Betts and Hesperus claims were
purchased by the present owning
company from John A. Finch, the
wealthy mining operator, of Spokane,
who had previously done a large
amount of development work on the
properties. The equipment at the
mines has thus far cost the company
about $r 0,000, and it is the intention
of the managemen
opment   until   tt
steady shipping si
reach   the
Coro-Canadian.
THE CORO-CANADIAN group
recently acquired on a working bond by a Grand Forks
syndicate is likely to prove
one of the best high grade propositions
in Skylark camp. The quartz lead at
the bottom of a 30 foot shaft varies
from four to ten inches in width, re
cent assays of the ore giving returns of
$2t, $52, $83, $90 and $164 respectively per ton in silver and gold. Silver
constitutes 85 per cent of the values.
Development work is in charge of W.
H. Jeffery, M.E., who proposes to
drift on the vein after reaching the 50
foot level. .
the Cresce
the Lake
the Prestot
main lode or vein commonly known as
the Crescent lead had been traced by
open cuts across the Canadian, the
shaft being located about the center-of
the claim.
No work has been done on the Coro,
lying to the south, as the surface is
covered with wash, but the veins on the
Silver King and Silver Cloud head in
that direction. The formation consists of granitic rocks covered in places
by metamorphosed rock, which has
been much altered in eruption. The
Canadian is also traversed east and
west by a vein which has been opened
up on the Preston and disclosed high
grade ore. There is an abundant supply of excellent mining timber on the
The War Eagle, adjoining the Granby mines on the south, has had considerable development done, and is
equipped with a compressor plant. It
has not been operated for several
years, although there is considerable
ore exposed. It is owned by a company of Sherbrooke, Quebec, men and
is well thought of by those best acquainted with it.
The Nellie Cotton group, also south
of the Granby mines, has been taken
over this last year by Chicago men,
who have formed a company to operate it, and work is expected to be
started this spring.
The Marshall group, north of the
Brooklyn group, are claims that not
much is heard of, but they have an
immense surface showing of ore of a
fair grade, and bid fair to develop
some day into one of the important
groups of the camp. The owners
have refused large sums for the  prop-
For quite a time Wellington camp,
two miles east of Phoenix, has been
comparatively quiet, properties that
formerly were much in the public eye
in this camp now being idle because
of financial troubles. In this class are
the Winnipeg and Golden Crown, both
of which have shipped considerable
ore in the past, and both of which are
served by spurs from the C. P. R. It
is not improbable that one of them
will have something done with it this
year.
The Athelstan mine, owned by the
Montreal & Boston Consolidated, is
the only property in Wellington camp
that has shipped ore during the. past
year, sending out over 4,000 tons. It
is largely a gold proposition, and the
values are considerably higher than
most of the low grade mines. It is
handicapped by being a mile or more
from the Winnipeg spur, necessitating
a wagon haul. It will probably be
operated again this year, it being an
easy matter to build a tramway to the
new line of the Great Northern to
Phoenix. The Iron Clad, in this
camp, has been operated this last year
with excellent promise, but has not yet
shipped ore.
In addition to the Mother Lode and
Sunset groups, elsewhere mentioned in
this number, Deadwood  camp  has a
more than paid for itself from the  ore
taken out, according to report.
In this camp, also, the Oro Denoro
is one of the properties Of which much
is looked for in the near future. It
has a great showing of iron and copper
ore, that can be quarried out cheaply.
In the past the Oro Denoro has shipped upwards of 30,000 tons of ore to
the district smelters. While it has not
been operated to full capacity the last
year, some ore has been kept going out
all the time, and it has the best of
shipping facilities with both railways
traversing the property. The Oro
Denoro adjoins the Emma,- which has
shipped some 70,000 tons in the last
The Senator, in Summit camp, is
another copper and iron property
which is steadily making an outpu^S
ore, having shipped some 3,80' ®
so far to the Granby smelter, to'wbiSSUtj
company it is under bond. A number
of other properties in this camp have
been worked to a greater or less extent,
and are believed to be worthy of exploitation when properly taken hold of.
-Long Lake camp is the location of
several promising mines, the most
notable of which is the Jewel, owned
by an English company, which has
spent several thousands of dollars in
development and in equipping the mine
with machinery. It is confidently believed that this is an excellent property,
and it is understood that the coinpany*
will take it up again this year and
actively operate it. - Some shipments
White's or Central camp, never having had any railway transportation of
any kind, has not progressed in the '
last few years, although previously
much development had been done on
several of the claims. The City of
Paris group, only half a mile from the
W. H. JEFFERY, M.E.
GREENWOOD Mining Machinery
Of Every Description,
The 42-inch by 120-inch Copper Furnace shown below,
has been in operation at the Tyee Copper Co.'s plant at Lady-
smith, B. C, for i-everal years, where it attains an average
yearly capacity of 150 tons per day.
This furnace forms a very economical and convenient
unit for moderate sized copper smelting plants.
The Ceiverter shown above is the most modern and
highly dev<Top*d type of copper converter built.
Heads irk made of cast steel, solid in one piece with riding rings, wh.ch allow a continuous riding ring and prevents
tr<juhtsome joints connecting upper and lower sections of
shell, existing in other converters.
Now used by
Granby Consolidated Mining, Smelting and Power Co,
Tfic.ma Smelting Co.,
Nichols Chemical Co.,
and ether prominent companies.
We build all equipment necessary for modern converting plants of any capacity.
m Allis-Chalmers Co.
CHICAGO, U. S. A.
Canadian Representatives, Allis-Chalmers-Bullock,  Ltd., flontreal.
l$M!

Cite

Citation Scheme:

        

Citations by CSL (citeproc-js)

Usage Statistics

Share

Embed

Customize your widget with the following options, then copy and paste the code below into the HTML of your page to embed this item in your website.
                        
                            <div id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidgetDisplay">
                            <script id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidget"
                            src="{[{embed.src}]}"
                            data-item="{[{embed.item}]}"
                            data-collection="{[{embed.collection}]}"
                            data-metadata="{[{embed.showMetadata}]}"
                            data-width="{[{embed.width}]}"
                            async >
                            </script>
                            </div>
                        
                    
IIIF logo Our image viewer uses the IIIF 2.0 standard. To load this item in other compatible viewers, use this url:
http://iiif.library.ubc.ca/presentation/cdm.bcbooks.1-0348110/manifest

Comment

Related Items