The Open Collections website will be undergoing maintenance on Wednesday December 7th from 9pm to 11pm PST. The site may be temporarily unavailable during this time.

UBC Theses and Dissertations

UBC Theses Logo

UBC Theses and Dissertations

Three works for bassoon (ca. 1780-1815) by the composers Brandl, Schneider and Schacht, including histories, scores and commentaries on editing Thorpe, Allan Ross


This document presents performing editions of three lesser-known works from the classical period which feature bassoon. The works discussed are Johann Brandi’s Ouintetto Op. 14, Theodor von Schacht’s Concerto B-dur per due Fagotti and Georg Abraham Schneider’s Grand Concerto. Each of these works survive in only one source -- either a manuscript or an early edition. Prior to the discussion of the pieces, a brief discussion of editorial procedures is included. This discussion begins as a survey of common editorial procedures and leads to a presentation of the editorial procedures used in the preparation of the scores included in the document. Some brief comments regarding the computer software packages used in the production of these scores are also included. The discussion of each composition begins with historical information -- a biography of the composer, a list of his works for bassoon, and comments on the composition’s performance history. Next the source for each composition is identified, and its condition noted. This is followed by a discussion of the difficulties encountered in preparing the editions. The scores are presented are presented at the end of each of the three main chapters. A comprehensive list of editorial changes is provided for each work in an appendix.

Item Media

Item Citations and Data


For non-commercial purposes only, such as research, private study and education. Additional conditions apply, see Terms of Use