UBC Theses and Dissertations

UBC Theses Logo

UBC Theses and Dissertations

Four pieces for quartet : a composition for violin, violoncello, piano, and percussion Young, Aaron


“Four Pieces for Quartet” is a 27 minute chamber work for violin, violoncello, piano, and percussion. Influenced by various elements of jazz composition and practice, its four movements draw from various eras of jazz history for source material. The chosen material from ragtime, bebop, modal, and modern jazz sub-genres functions as the impetus for motive and rhythmic development, gesture, compositional structure, instrumentation, orchestration, and instrumental interaction throughout the work. With the appropriation and incorporation of these materials, the composition seeks to subtly merge jazz and classical compositional techniques into a hybrid style.

Item Media

Item Citations and Data


Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International