UBC Graduate Research

Iona Jetty : Ten Shades of the Same Scene Loo, Ee Jay


In his essay, “The Beholding Eye: Ten Versions of the Same Scene”, author D. W. Meinig offers ten different frameworks for defining landscape as: nature, habitat, artifact, system, problem, wealth, ideology, history, place, and aesthetic. Each framework focuses on different aspects of a landscape. Each of the ten frameworks, or perspectives, is assigned to a different actor: ecologist, conservationist, engineer, geomorphologist, environmental activist, developer, politician, Musqueam elder, writer, and artist. Because each actor has a different viewpoint on the landscape, the designer needs to radically shift his assumptions and approach with each new collaboration. This thesis is about ten actors with ten unique perspectives, one designer and one site, and ten unique proposals.

Item Media

Item Citations and Data


Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International