

INTERDISCIPLINARY PRIZE AWARDED TO UBC TRIO

UBC's Drs. Walter Hardy, Doug Bonn and Ruixing Liang were awarded the 2005 Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering.

Since 2000, the trio has worked on refining pure, hightemperature superconducting crystals that allow them to monitor the behaviour of electrons at extremely cold temperatures. Their research aims to create superconductors that could be conveniently used in a variety of commercial applications, such as computers that do not generate heat.

Currently, their lab is the leading source of these crystals, allowing them to collaborate with more than a dozen labs around the world. The Brockhouse Canada Prize is an interdisciplinary research award that comes with a \$250,000 team research grant from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).

From left to right> Drs. Walter Hardy, Doug Bonn and Ruixing Liang. Photos> NSERC



UBC RESEARCH COLLABORATION EARNS TOP AWARD FOR INNOVATION

A partnership between Dr. Helen Burt's research laboratory in UBC's Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Angiotech Pharmaceuticals Inc. has earned the 2006 NSERC Synergy Award for Innovation from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).

Their drug-eluting medical device, called Taxus, offers an innovative new way to treat coronary heart disease. Taxus is a combination of Angiotech's water-insoluble drug Paclitaxel (which inhibits cellular mechanisms involved in angiogenesis, inflammation and scar formation) with Dr. Burt's development of a polymer-based carrier that efficiently delivers Paclitaxel to the body. More than two million patients were successfully implanted with Taxus within the first 18 months of its launch in the U.S.

UBC's Burt Lab has worked together with Angiotech to create two technologies with 43 patents in 26 countries. Vancouver-based Angiotech specializes in the science of adding drugs to medical devices and now has 14 facilities in six countries.

Dr. Helen Burt. Photo> Martin Dee

ROYAL SOCIETY OF CANADA ELECTS SEVEN UBC FACULTY MEMBERS

Seven UBC faculty members were recently elected to the Royal Society of Canada's (RSC) Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada as Fellows. Founded in 1882, RSC consists of approximately 1,700 Fellows chosen by their peers for their exceptional contributions to the natural and social sciences, and the humanities. Election to the RSC is considered the highest honour attainable by scholars, artists and scientists in Canada.

Dr. Clyde Hertzman

(Faculty of Graduate Studies) investigates human development through the entire life cycle.

Dr. Eva-Marie Kröller

(Department of English) specializes in comparative Canadian and European literature.

Dr. Sarah P. Otto (Department of Zoology) studies ,

genetics and evolutionary biology.

Dr. William Rees

(School of Community and Regional Planning) focuses on the public policy and planning implications of global environmental trends.

Dr. Laurence Ricou

(Department of English) is a specialist on Canadian Prairie regionalism and Prairie writing.

Dr. Natalie Strynadka

(Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) explores structural characterization of bacterial membrane components.

Dr. Yu Tian Wang

(Brain Research Centre) researches the molecular mechanisms responsible for regulating the function and intracellular trafficking of neurotransmitter receptors critical to brain function.