Open Collections

BC Sessional Papers

PART D. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL MINERAL SURVEY DISTRICTS (Nos. 3 AND 4). BY PHILIP B. FREELAND. British Columbia. Legislative Assembly 1936

Item Metadata

Download

Media
bcsessional-1.0305848.pdf
Metadata
JSON: bcsessional-1.0305848.json
JSON-LD: bcsessional-1.0305848-ld.json
RDF/XML (Pretty): bcsessional-1.0305848-rdf.xml
RDF/JSON: bcsessional-1.0305848-rdf.json
Turtle: bcsessional-1.0305848-turtle.txt
N-Triples: bcsessional-1.0305848-rdf-ntriples.txt
Original Record: bcsessional-1.0305848-source.json
Full Text
bcsessional-1.0305848-fulltext.txt
Citation
bcsessional-1.0305848.ris

Full Text

 SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 1
PART D.
SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL MINERAL SURVEY DISTRICTS
(Nos. 3 AND 4).
Philip B. Freeland.
INTRODUCTION.
Summarizing the year's developments, continued activity accompanied by an increased
output was evident in gold-mining, and a new interest was taken in silver properties, especially
in the vicinity of the producing mines at Beaverdell. Practically all of this work was done in
the older, better-known mineral districts such as Greenwood, Beaverdell, Oliver-Fairview, Hedley,
Stump lake, North Thompson River area, Vernon-Monashee, and Lightning Peak.
Increased interest and activity was shown in placer-mining, particularly on the part of
individual operators. Attractive values w-ere found in the old high channels on Scotch creek;
large-scale operations are indicated along the benches of the North Thompson river; testing
by surface pits suggests possibilities for large-scale mining on Cherry creek (Vernon) ; exploration of Woods Lake old channel continued to produce coarse gold; and the Tulameen and Simil-
kameen River benches still hold opportunities for mining gold, platinum, and iridium. Rock
creek and its tributaries are expected to produce on a comparatively large scale. All the above
operations require capital outlay.
Prospecting.
In the Annual Reports for 1932 and 1933 different areas were suggested as attractive for
prospecting. There is nothing to add, except to say that the Camp McKinney section has not
received the attention it deserves. Both the Fairview and McKinney mineral deposits are
similar in many ways and require careful study on account of the fact that the ore-shoots are
generally buried and only the barren quartz outcrops.
Increased popularity towards the use of the divining-rod was in evidence amongst the
more or less uninitiated prospector and small capitalist. " Doodle-bugs," especially trained by
the operators to dip for every conceivable metal, were in demand. Various " doodle-bug"
methods for finding minerals have been tried out for many years, and the best proof of
their worthlessness lies in the fact that no authentic discovery is known to have been made.
Throughout this report all bearings refer to true north. " Tunnels " are correctly referred
to as adits.
ACKNOWLEDGMENT.
The writer wishes to thank all the mine operators and prospectors with whom he came in
contact for their kindly assistance and hospitality.
Production.
No. 3 District.—Ore, 20,570 tons ; gold, lode, 9,779 oz.; silver, 25,794 oz.; copper, 45,525 lb.;
lead, 178,223 lb.; zinc, 40,681 lb.; placer gold, 223 oz. Miscellaneous metals, minerals, and
structural materials produced had a value of $149,550. Coal production for this district was
24,611 tons.
No. 1, District.—Ore, 39,279 tons; gold, lode, 8,614 oz.; silver, 651,490 oz.; copper, 460 lb.;
lead, 490,843 lb.; zinc, 547,904 lb.; placer gold, 510 oz. Miscellaneous metals, minerals, and
structural materials produced had a value of $66,872. Coal production for this district was
116,001 tons.
GRAND FORKS MINING DIVISION.
This group, owned by the James Hutchinson Estate, of Montreal, and con-
Yankee Boy.     sisting of the Crown-granted claims Yankee Boy (Lot 1559), Yankee Girl (Lot
1558), Bell (Lot 1560), as well as an unknown number of recently staked
claims, has been optioned by the Royal Development Company, of Spokane, Wash. The
property, located on Hardy mountain 2% miles due west of Grand Forks, can be reached by
a narrow road.    In the neighbourhood of the workings the ground stands in high relief, with  SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 3
open, gently rolling country to the north.    Water is scarce in the immediate vicinity of the
mine.
Two or more veins mineralized with pyrite and lesser amounts of chalcopyrite and galena
in a gangue of quartz occur in fissures and fractures with free walls in greenstone. They vary
from a few inches to 3 feet in width, strike between north-east and east, and dip generally at
steep angles to the north.
For production and history see Annual Reports for the years 1900, 1901, 1905, 1919, 1920,
1923, 1924, 1925, 1930, and 1931.
Development on the surface consists of numerous open-cuts and trenches along the strike
of the veins. Underground work carried out this year (see map) consists of extending the
No. 2 adit westerly and southerly, connecting it with a raise to the bottom of the winze from
the No. 1 level, and driving two sub-levels at 55 feet and 105 feet respectively below No. 1 level.
At a point in the winze about 80 feet below No. 1 level the vein has been faulted probably
to the north. No. 2 level was driven in a westerly direction to locate the vein under the fault.
At a point about 90 feet in from the portal of this working a narrow quartz-filled fissure was
intersected.    No drifting was done to prove its value.
A picked sample of ore from the winze assayed: Gold, 9.70 oz. per ton; silver, 2.5 oz.
per ton. A shipment of sorted ore is being prepared for the smelter. About 11 tons of sorted
ore was shipped in 1926 and, according to the 1905 Annual Report, several shipments were
made prior to that date.
Work at the Union mine in Franklin camp was discontinued about November
Union. 1st.    During the summer the mill tailings were cyanided.    Some ore left in
No. 2 level sill was mined and stored in the stopes until next year, when
operations will be resumed.
These groups of claims, situated between the old Granby smelter and a point
McLeod, Blue    several miles south-easterly, were staked following spectacular assays from
Bird, etc. samples taken by Wm. Puritch and McLeod from an old 200-foot adit on the
McLeod claim. The area covered by the claims consists chiefly of schistose
rocks containing many parallel well-defined and often banded quartz veins which have been
intruded and replaced by comparatively recent quartz porphyry and porphyritic granite. In a
few localities pods of practically pure crystalline limestone impregnated along the contacts with
pyrite and minute segregations of galena were observed.
In other areas quartz veins contain pyrite and sphalerite. Samples taken by individual
owners from other outcrops portrayed the presence of gold and silver in paying quantities, so
that further prospecting along the strike of the veins appears to be warranted. Due to the
fact that the schistose beds are tilted and fractured in many directions, a full cross-section of
veins at depth can be found in many of the ravines. A careful study of these exposures, with
sampling across the veins every 5 feet, may save a considerable amount of useless work.
General.
Development and exploratory work was carried out on the Winner claim (see 1932 Annual
Report) south of Phoenix; the Athelstan group (see 1932 Annual Report) east of Phoenix;
on properties along McRae creek in the Paulson area; the White Swan group south-west of
Coryell; the Boas, Creek, J akin, and Moody claims on Moody creek; the Canadian Boy on
Hardy mountain.
Some placer-mining was done by R. Campbell and associates on a bench on May creek,
which flows into Fourth of July creek about 5 miles from Grand Forks, and a considerable
quantity of coarse gold recovered. The gold occurs on a greenstone bed-rock overlain by partly
sorted glacial material.
Lightning Peak Section.
Development on the Waterloo No. 3 and Silver Spot consisted of driving No. 4
Waterloo Con-   level to a total distance of about 1,780 feet to the east, with occasional short
solidated Mines, crosscuts -north and south, excavating numerous open-cuts on the strike of
Ltd. the shear-zone to the east, as well as sinking a shallow winze and raising
on one of the better-mineralized shear-zones.    The end of the No. 4 level is
approximately 195 feet below the surface. D 4 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
The shaft on the A. U. was unwatered and the drift from the bottom of the shaft extended
a total distance of 925 feet south and 70 feet north. A fault angling across the length of the
south drift has displaced the vein. A car-load consisting of 49.665 dry tons was shipped to the
smelter, containing: Gold, 1.078 oz. per ton ; silver, 19.6 oz. per ton; lead, 6.70 per cent.;
zinc, 4.7 per cent. Actual development of the mine by the company has ceased for the winter
and the Waterloo No. 3 has been leased on a royalty basis. (See Annual Reports, 1918 to 1922,
1925, 1927, and 1929 to 1933.)
This property, located about 4 miles by road north of the Waterloo mine,
Dictator Gold    and consisting of the Dictator (Crown-granted), the Alpha, Beta, Digmore,
Mines, Ltd.      Betty, Mary, Ronald, Blackie, Pine Tree,  Cordova, Morning No. 2, International, Ontario, Alberta, Quartz, Rip, Penticton, Hope, Tiptop, Excelsior,
Harpan, Dakota, Gold Pan, Fir, Dawn, and Doris Fraction, was bonded by the Dictator Gold
Mines, Penticton, and a public company formed with a capitalization of 2,500,000 shares of
no par value.
The type of deposit, mineralization, etc., was mentioned in the Annual Reports for 1931
and 1933 under the name of Morning No. 2; also in the Geological Survey of Canada Summary
Report, 1930, Part A.
This year a 4-mile road was built from the main Waterloo road and the following frame
buildings constructed: Bunk-house, dining-room, warehouse, compressor building, blacksmith-
shop, 300-gallon water-tank, and a root-house. At the mine a head-frame was erected and a
50-horse-power caterpillar tractor and a 400-cubic-foot Gardner-Denver compressor were installed.
A shaft was sunk for 115 feet on the shear-zone at an 80-degree slope to the east. Considerable trouble was experienced with soft ground due to intense shearing of the quartz-porphyry
dyke which accompanies the quartz, and considerable time was lost on this account. On the
100-foot level an 18-foot crosscut was put in to the east and two workings driven on the shear-
zone, one 60 feet south and the other 52 feet north. According to the management, the quartz
found in the shaft was of low grade, but a gradual improvement took place in both the north
and south drifts as follows: No. 1 north drift across the face, 4-inch streak: Gold, 6.60 oz.
per ton; silver, 42.2 oz. per ton. No. 2, 10 inches, including high-grade streak: Gold, 2 oz.
per ton; silver, 4.6 oz. per ton. No. 3, 2-foot width, including both the above: Gold, 0.71 oz.
per ton; silver, 2 oz. per ton. In the face of the south drift 2 feet of quartz assayed: Gold,
0.25 oz. per ton ;  silver, 0.75 oz. per ton.
The caterpillar tractor, attached to a 15-ton " bummer," was found exceedingly useful for
transportation of supplies, etc. During the " mucking " shift a return trip to and from the
supply depot was made.
This group, consisting of the Thunder Hill, First Chance, West Fork, and
Lightning Peak. Jim Hill Crown-granted claims, owned by C. F. Deither, St. Paul, Minnesota,
has been bonded to W. A. Calder, Fritz and R. Jordan, and B. F. Lundy, of
Edgewood and Vancouver. During the year No. 4 level was extended 17 feet to the south
through a fault, and the vein, about 3 feet wide, with free walls, containing tetrahedrite, galena,
pyrite, and sphalerite, disclosed. This drift has been continued, according to the owners, for
40 feet along the foot-wall, and occasional drill-holes across the vein give an estimated width
of 3 feet. A channel sample taken by the owners assayed : Gold, 0.05 oz. per ton ; silver, 40 oz.
per ton. A raise 32 feet high has been put up on ore the same width as noted with porphyry
on both foot and hanging walls. As in other parts of this camp, there appears to be a
structural relationship between the ore and the porphyry. A new camp has been established
about 300 yards west of the old cabin.
General.
On the Fire Fly group, a short distance north-west of the Rampalo, W. A. Calder et at, of
Edgewood, have done a considerable amount of trenching and uncovered an 8-foot quartz vein
assaying: Gold, 0.04 oz. per ton; silver, 8 oz. per ton. Some quartz float from the same locality
assayed: Gold, 0.74 oz. per ton; silver, 160 oz. per ton. The vein- occurs along the contact of
granite and a quartz porphyry.
Exploratory work was carried out on the Killarney and Pay Day groups. (See Annual
Reports for 1919, 1922 to 1925, 1927, and 1929 to 1933.) SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 5
GREENWOOD MINING DIVISION.
This mine, situated at Jewel lake, 8 miles by road north-west of Greenwood,
Dentonia Mines, was   reported   upon   in   full,   with   map,   in   the   Annual   Report   for   1933.
Ltd. Developments this year are as follows:   A crosscut adit 1,330 feet long was
driven from the Perseverence claim to intersect the downward extension
of the Jewel-Enterprise vein on its dip at a depth of 340 feet. Drifts were driven both ways
from the intersection and a raise is being put up. The 200-foot level was extended north under
the outcrop of high-grade ore found on the Anchor claim and a connecting raise driven. The
collar of the old Jewel shaft was retimbered, a new head-frame and hoist-house erected, and
a new Mead-Morrison hoist installed.
A 15-foot-wide, post-mineral porphyry dyke cuts the area where the main crosscut intersects
the vein, and only remnants of quartz are found at this point. In the raise, now about 100 feet
above the lower level, a high-grade section assaying, according to the management, 3.61 oz. gold
per ton, has been found. For some distance north of the Enterprise ore-shoot on the 200-foot
level the vein is much disturbed and low in value. The downward extension of the Anchor
mineral-zone is reported to have been found on this level. All the shoots rake to the north
and have free walls.
The mill, with a rated capacity of 140 tons, is treating about 90 tons of ore daily, taken
from above the 200-foot level. It is expected that the tonnage will be stepped up when the
500-foot level is prepared for stoping and the ore can be hauled directly to the mill-bin through
the new crosscut.
This company, with headquarters at 6 Cameron Building, Calgary, Alberta,
Superior Mines, and reported as owning a controlling interest in the Askalta Oil Company,
Ltd. has bonded the North Star group of claims,  consisting of the following:
North Star (Lot 1165), Cairn Gorn Fraction (Lot 2853), Old Bird (Lot 1324),
Golden Eagle Fraction, and Eastern Star Fraction, situated to the north-west and adjoining the
Dentonia Mines, and also the old Providence mine located about 1 mile north of Greenwood.
The North Star group, elevation 4,700 feet, lies on the rolling summit and eastern slope of
the range of mountains skirting the east side of Jewel lake, and can be reached by a branch
road from the Dentonia mine.    Timber is plentiful, but water is scarce, except in Jewel lake.
The vein upon which most of the work has been done occurs in schistose quartzite, conforms
to the strike of the formation in a northerly direction, dips variably to the east, and is often
frozen to the walls. Mineralization consists of pyrite, galena, sphalerite, and gold telluride in
a gangue of quartz. The mineral-zones, which reach a maximum width of 3 feet, but average
about 8 inches, lie in isolated shoots, with low-grade quartz between.
The North Star and Cairn Gorn were first bonded by Leslie Hill in 1897 and two shafts
sunk, 50 and 60 feet respectively, on the vein. At a later date (not known) a crosscut 45 feet
long was driven to intersect the vein below the shafts and a drift driven 125 feet on the vein.
At a point about 45 feet along the vein some stoping was done and a shipment of ore made
to the smelter. In 1932 R. L. Clothier and associates, of Penticton, leased the North Star and
shipped three car-loads of ore to Trail. In 1933 W. E. McArthur, of Greenwood, shipped a
car-load of ore from the same stope and drove the main adit ahead, as well as a semicircular
side-drift on a branch vein. In 1934 the Superior Mines extended the main drift in a northerly
direction through a porphyry dyke. The property has been mentioned in the Annual Reports
for the years 1897, 1931 to 1933, under the heading of North Star.
Development on the surface consists of two shafts 50 and 60 feet deep, as well as numerous
open-cuts over a length of about 500 feet. Underground, a total of 299.6 feet of drifting and
crosscutting has been done and a small area stoped. From the point where the crosscut intersects
the vein for 42 feet along the north drift the vein is split, having a maximum width of 14 inches,
averaging about 4 inches on each strand. For the next 83 feet much of the ore has been stoped
above the level; then for 27 feet the vein is narrow and displaced. From this point to within
10 feet of the face only occasional displaced remnants of quartz occur. In the semicircular
side-drift, about 40 feet long, driven easterly from a point about 120 feet along the drift, the
vein is much disturbed and narrow, but generally well mineralized.
In the face of the main drift the vein, varying from 3% to 11 feet in width, is exposed
along the hanging-wall of a porphyry dyke.   It seems likely that the dyke has either replaced D 6 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
and shattered the vein or displaced it to the north-east of the working for at least 50 feet back
from the face. A channel sample across the vein on the north side of the face assayed a trace
in gold and silver. The ore occurrences in the North Star are similar to those found in the
Dentonia, and may possibly rake to the north. In the region where the vein splits the schistose
rocks are generally highly pyritized and stoping-widths of milling-ore may be found.
On the Providence the old workings were unwatered and sampled by the company's engineer,
M. M. Reese. The reported results of this investigation indicate a sufficient tonnage of ore in
the old stopes and on the dump to warrant the installation of a 50-ton mill. The south shaft
was sunk to the 500-foot level.
The mill flow-sheet is as follows: 10-ton coarse-ore bin; %-inch grizzly; 9- by 16-inch
Forano jaw-crusher ; 75-ton fine-ore bin; 6-foot by 22-inch Hardinge conical ball-mill; Dorr
simplex classifier; 6-cell gravity-flow flotation unit; 10 by 4 feet 5 inches by 4 feet deep
settling-tanks. Milling operations commenced on October 25th. The ore is transported from
the dump to the mill by a 5-ton truck.
The Providence mine shipped several thousand tons of gold-silver ore to the smelter in
former years. (See Annual Reports of the Minister of Mines for 1896, 1897, 1903 to 1906, 1918
to 1921, 1924 to 1930.)
This group, consisting of the Amandy  (Lot 2795)  and six other claims, is
Amandy. owned by E. C. Henniger and associates, of Grand Forks. Most of the
work has been done on the Amandy claim, which lies at an elevation of about
5,000 feet on the eastern slope of Roderic Dhu mountain. A trail 2 miles long leads from the
end of the road at Jewel lake to the claims. On the upper part of the group the ground slopes
gradually to the east and becomes more precipitous before reaching the lake. Timber is
plentiful, but water, except for domestic purposes, is scarce in the immediate vicinity of the
workings.   The lake lies 3,500 feet from and about 1,300 feet below the Amandy claim.
A quartz vein with free walls, strike between north and north-west, dip 60 degrees northeasterly, varying from a few inches to 10 feet in width, with cross-veins branching to the northeast, occurs along the bedding of quartzitic schists. It has been traced for over 1,000 feet from
the Alice claim downhill to the south. Mineralization consists of pyrite, with lesser amounts
of galena, sphalerite, and probably gold telluride.
Under the name of Amanda the property is mentioned in the 1897 Annual Report. No
production is recorded.
Ten open-cuts and shafts to 15 feet in depth have been excavated at intervals over a distance
of 1,000 feet on the main vein, as well as other work on the branch or parallel veins. In nearly
all of these workings mineralized bands and segregations were found in the quartz. The old
work consists of a 30-degree inclined shaft 40 feet deep, with a short drift north. One foot of
highly mineralized quartz is exposed near the collar. Downhill to the south of the old shaft
the vein is obliterated for a short distance by a porphyritic granite dyke. Beyond this point
more mineralized quartz has been discovered.
Three samples of the better-mineralized quartz from different shafts taken across widths
of 4 inches to 8 inches assayed:—No. 1: Gold, 0.50 oz. per ton; silver, 8 oz. per ton. No. 2:
Gold, 0.70 oz. per ton ; silver, 42 oz. per ton. No. 3: Gold, 0.80 oz. per ton ; silver, 8 oz. per ton.
The width and persistency of the vein and its location, close to water and within 2 miles of
electric power, appears to warrant further exploration of the property.
General.
Development-work was done on the C.O.D., Roderic Dhu, Lakeview, and Electric In the
vicinity of Jewel lake.    (See Annual Reports as follows:  C.O.D., 1897 to 1900, 1902, 1931, and
1932; Roderic Dhu, 1896, 1921, and 1931; Electric, 1902, 1921, and 1931; Lakeview, 1896, 1897,
1901, 1902, and 1931.)
Greenwood Section.
This group, owned by Ola Lofstad et at, of Greenwood, and consisting of
Helen. the Helen (Lot 691), Capital Prize (Lot 914), Maple Leaf (Lot 1484), Maple
Leaf Fraction (Lot 2040), all Crown-granted, and the Tiger Fraction and
Clifford Fraction recently staked, was optioned by I. B. Flater interests (address, Greenwood).
The property adjoins the town of Greenwood on the south and can be reached by road. The
Canadian Pacific Railway passes within 1,000 feet of the workings. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 7
A quartz vein, strike westerly, dip 62 degrees southerly, varying from a fraction of an inch
to 24 inches in width, occurs along a well-defined fissure in highly metamorphosed greenstones
and quartzites that flank the eastern side of Boundary creek. Mineralization observed consisted
of pyrite, galena, sphalerite, and possibly tetrahedrite.
In 1906 the Helen Mining Company, of Chicago, did a considerable amount of sinking,
erosscutting, and drifting on the Helen claim and 60 tons of ore is reported to have been shipped.
In 1921 a lease was taken on the property by Ola Lofstad and two adits were driven at lower
elevations than the outcrop and a small quartz vein developed. In 1925, 5 tons of ore was
shipped to the smelter by Ola Lofstad.
The Helen vein, upon which most of the work was done, has been traced on the surface
for several hundred feet by open-cuts. Uphill and to the north-east other quartz veins have
been indicated by shallow shafts and cuts.
The old west inclined shaft sunk on the ore with crosscuts where the vein is faulted, and-
the more recent inclined shaft to the east connected with it by drifts, have been unwatered and
the drifts cleaned out. Drifts were formerly run 115 feet to the south-east and 140 feet to the
north-west from the bottom of the west shaft, mostly on a quartz vein varying from 2 to 12
inches in width and mineralized with pyrite, sphalerite, and galena. At a point 60 feet
south-east from the shaft a fault has displaced the vein to the north-east. The vein with free
walls, strike approximately north-west, dip 62 degrees south-west, varies from 2 to 24 inches
in width. Samples generally assay low in gold, but where galena is present from 0.08 to 15.8 oz.
in silver per ton and from 0.40 to 30 per cent, lead are obtained. Three samples of the better-
mineralized material—(1) 12-inch sample across the vein 20 feet south of the shaft in the bottom
level assayed a trace in gold and silver; (2) 8-inch sample across the vein 6 feet from the face
of north drift in the bottom level assayed: Gold, 0.04 oz. per ton; silver, 14 oz. per ton.
A sample from a 6-foot shaft uphill from the main workings assayed: Gold, trace; silver,
0.40 oz. per ton. In the upper levels from the west inclined shaft where the vein has been
twice faulted to the east at 35 feet and 60 feet respectively, a considerable amount of stoping
has been done on the vein, which varies between 1 inch and 1 foot in width. Values were too
low in gold and silver for profitable mining.    The lead contents varied between 8 and 31 per cent.
Machinery installed includes a Jenks 10 by 10 compressor driven by electric power supplied
by the West Kootenay Power Company, a Gardner-Denver steel-sharpener, and a 5-ton 2-drum
hoist. A new engine-house, blacksmith-shop, and office were built and a 5-ton truck purchased.
The operation closed down in the late summer owing to lack of finances.
This group,  adjoining the Helen group to the east,  and consisting of the
Dynamo. Dynamo (Lot 2087), Mamont (Lot 879), Starve-out Fraction (Lot 2944),
Mayflower (Lot 1773), Little Home Fraction (Lot 170s), Hamilton (Lot 1106),
which are Crown-granted, and the Tunnel Fraction, stated to be Crown-granted, was acquired
first by the Dynamo Mines Syndicate, Limited, of 1927 Marine Building, Vancouver, who did
some exploration-work and then formed a public company called the Dynamo Mining and Milling
Company, with headquarters at 1024 Marine Building, Vancouver, and a capitalization of
2,000,000 shares of $1 par value.
Five known quartz fissure-veins with generally free wills varying from 2 inches to 3 feet
wide, and striking from slightly east of north to westerly, occur in greenstones and granodiorite
that invade the area. Mineralization observed includes pyrite, galena, sphalerite, and chalcopyrite associated with gold and silver. Several shipments of sorted ore have been made to the
smelter at Trail from time to time, chiefly from the Dynamo.
Surface exploration consists of numerous open-cuts along the strike of the veins over
distances of several hundred feet. Underground development is as follows: A crosscut and drift
approximately 200 feet on the Dynamo; an old crosscut adit 1,700 feet long on the Mamont
(Argo) ; a crosscut and drift on the Dynamo 780 feet long, as well as numerous shafts and an
adit 60 feet long on the different veins. The long crosscut adits are mostly in country-rock
and have not developed any of the more important veins.
As far as development has gone, none of the veins are consistently wide enough or contain
sufficiently high value at present metal prices to be mined without sorting. The future of the
property appears to lie in the possibility of obtaining tonnage from the five different veins that
will pay to mill.   Transportation, electric power, and gravity-mining facilities enhance this D 8 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
opportunity.    A 270-cubic-foot Gardner-Denver compressor and 50-horse-power Novo gasoline-
engine have been installed.
(See Annual Reports, 1926 to 1930, 1932, and 1933. Geological Survey Report,
Brooklyn- 1908.) This company, with headquarters at 574 Howe Street, Vancouver, and
Stemwinder an authorized capital of $1,000,000, has optioned the old Brooklyn-Stemwinder
Gold Mines, Ltd. and adjacent claims at Phoenix. A. Knox Paton is managing director. New
work consists of cleaning out some of the old surface cuts and shafts, stripping
and open-cutting other likely mineralized zones, as well as reconditioning some of the old
dwelling-houses for domestic purposes. The results of this work have exposed a narrow vein
about 10 inches wide for about 500 feet in length, striking from the old Stemwinder " glory-hole "
towards the Brooklyn workings. A sample from this vein assayed: Gold, 1 oz. per ton; silver,
1.5 oz. per ton; copper, 14 per cent. The 250-foot level in the Brooklyn (under water) is said
to have been driven on this vein for 250 feet. About 250 feet north-westerly, or uphill from
this vein, another similar parallel vein has been stripped for 360 feet. Widths vary from 4 to
50 inches, and samples assayed from 0.36 to 1.30 oz. in gold per ton, from 1.7 to 3.5 oz. in silver
per ton, and from 2 to 12 per cent, copper. Prospecting under a heavy mantle of overburden
a short distance to the east of the Brooklyn " glory-hole " has resulted in the discovery of two
leads, one striking west of north, heavily impregnated with copper carbonates and hematite,
and the other striking east, consisting of leached quartz with free walls. Insufficient work
has been done to prove the extent of these discoveries. Another discovery has been made
downhill closer to the wagon-road between the Brooklyn and Stemwinder " glory-holes," about
44 inches wide, that assays, according to the management: Gold, 0.10 oz. per ton ; copper,
7.5 per cent. A new 30-foot cut and 12-foot shaft at the end of it on the north side and close
to the upper Brooklyn " glory-hole " uncovered a 4-foot vein which may possibly be the continuance of one of the veins of the above system.
A sample across the vein assayed: Gold, 0.84 oz. per ton ; silver, 0.20 oz. per ton; copper,
nil. The water in the Brooklyn shaft-workings has not been pumped out to date. When this is
done, crosscuts from the 250-foot level will determine the value of these new discoveries.
General.
On the Silver Cloud, about 2 miles east of Greenwood, there are two inclined shafts filled
with water and several open-cuts which are caved. Judging by the size of the dumps, the
underground workings must be at least 100 feet deep or else there are drifts from shallower
shafts. Some broken, banded quartz containing pyrite, sphalerite, and arsenopyrite occurring
in what is evidently a highly pyritized greenstone assayed: Gold, 0.34 oz. per ton; silver, 18 oz.
per ton. W. E. McArthur and associates, of Greenwood, obtained an option on the Bay claim
from R. Forshaw, a short distance east of the town, and after unwatering the old shafts sorted
and shipped several tons of high-grade gold ore from a 22-inch vein in the west inclined shaft.
(See Annual Reports, 1905, 1906, 1913, and 1922.)
The W. E. McArthur interests have unwatered the old workings on the Skylark preparatory
to investigating future possibilities. It lies a short distance east of the Bay and has been
mined spasmodically since 1895, several car-loads of ore having been shipped. The same organization is operating the No. 7 mine, approximately 8 miles by road south-east of Greenwood,
which was also worked many years ago. According to the management, five car-loads of ore,
carrying gold, silver, lead, and zinc, have been mined and are ready to ship. (See Annual
Reports, 1901 and later.)
The Republic group, situated 3 miles south-west of Greenwood, was optioned by J. E. Taylor
interests, 1390 Granville Street, Vancouver, and besides reconditioning the old lower adit,
numerous open-cuts and a new drift 40 feet long was driven on a quartz vein from 6 inches to
3 feet wide, containing pyrite, galena, sphalerite, and variable quantities of gold and silver.
On the Dominion (Lot 2587), No. 2 (Lot 2588), and Bristol Boy (Lot 2586), situated 4%
miles north-west of Heed's ranch on Nicholson creek, 9 miles north-east of Rock creek, a
syndicate of men under F. Gorse, of Kelowna, cleaned out the old workings and excavated
several new open-cuts in different pyritized beds occurring in the volcanic rocks which occupy
the area. Samples of the most heavily mineralized sections failed to return high enough values
to permit mining at a profit. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS   (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 9
On the Imperial group, situated about 4 miles north of Rock creek, A. M. Molander and
associates shipped 31.072 tons of ore carrying: Gold, 0.177 oz. per ton; silver, 23.7 oz. per ton;
lead, 2.90 per cent.; zinc, 4.9 per cent.; and contemplated making another shipment from the
underhand stopes in the lower adit. Recent reports state that much higher-grade ore has been
discovered.    Work done on this group is mentioned in the Annual Reports for 1925 to 1928.
Camp McKinney.
Beyond a short campaign of diamond-drilling by the Bralco Company on the old Cariboo-
Amelia claims and exploration by the Camp McKinney Gold Hill Mining Company, practically
nothing was done in this camp during the year. Numerous other claims, including the Ogo Fan
No. 1 and No. 2, Snowden, Datun, Homestake, Climax, Le Roi, War Eagle, Beaver group,
Waterloo Consolidated; and Sailor, were inspected by outside interests, but due to the fact
that most of the old workings are caved or full of water very little could be seen. In most
instances on the above claims mineralization consists of pyrite, galena, and sphalerite, and
occasionally chalcopyrite occurring in quartz veins in the schistose or highly altered volcanic
rocks. On the Datun an oxidized stringer 4 inches wide in one of the open-cuts assayed 4.70 oz.
gold per ton. In past years some shipments were made from this stringer. Former reports
portray the fact that there is still pay-ore in the old Sailor and Waterloo Consolidated mines.
In the Bridesville area, G. Partridge & Sons, of Naramata, drove an adit on the Morning
Glory No. 1 under some massive pyrite-pyrrhotite outcrops, and stripped and explored several
quartz veins found in quartzites and highly altered volcanics and along the contact.
Wallace Mountain Section.
Development, exploration, and production from the mines on Wallace mountain, Beaverdell,
have been quite satisfactory during the year, and as a result a larger output amongst the older
mines as well as some new producers may be anticipated in 1935. The Highland Lass mine
drove an 800-foot crosscut at an elevation of 3,975 feet from the Belle claim and connections
were made with the Highland, Lass ore-zones above. This working gives gravity access to these
ore-bodies. A road was also built to connect this adit with the main highway, so that the ore,
hitherto hoisted, can be hauled direct to the railway. A new ore-bin was also built. On the
Bell the usual production was maintained. The Highland Chief, adjoining the Highland Lass
on the north-east and upon which a considerable amount of exploration by means of open-cutting
and driving was done in the past, lies in a formation almost entirely covered by the Wallace
formation, which up to the present has produced only low-grade mineralized stocks containing
silver, galena, and sphalerite. The depth from the surface to the quartz diorite, in which the
high-grade shear-zones occur, near the Highland Lass boundary, is in the neighbourhood of
300 feet, so that the possible value of the Highland Chief might be ascertained by diamond-
drilling for the quartz diorite. On the Beaver development-work and production continued from
the 100-foot level in the shaft where some ore had been indicated by diamond-drilling. The
same company, it is understood, acquired the Bounty group, which lies to the south-east, and
ore shipments may be looked for from this mine. Production continued throughout the year
from the Wellington. It appears probable that the winze from the lower level will be sunk to
a greater depth and another lift taken on the shear-zones. On the Revenge a syndicate of
Princeton men drove two crosscut adits below and to the south-west of the upper workings.
One shear-zone was cut, but up to the present the objective has not been reached. The Standard
Fraction and Rambler, situated on the south-east side of the camp and mentioned in former
Annual Reports for 1919, 1920, 1922 to 1927, and 1929, have been bonded by Geo. S. Walters, of
Greenwood, and a syndicate will be formed to operate them. Former development places these
two claims in a favourable position for finding more high-grade silver ore. The Buster claim
has been acquired by Penticton interests from the Jim Kelly Estate and probably a syndicate
will be formed to work the holdings.
This group, consisting of the Sally, Rob Roy, Pueblo Fraction, Highland Queen,
Sally Mines, Ltd. Excelsior, Duncan Fraction,  Nodaway,  Sally Fraction,  Alice M.  Fraction,
Hard Times Fraction, and Tunnel Fraction, all Crown-granted, is owned by
the Sally Mines, Limited, Penticton, with a capitalization of 500,000 shares of $1 par value. D 10 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
The property is located in the centre of the camp adjoining the Bell on the north-east and the
Wellington on the south-west, on the west slope of Wallace mountain.
The shear-zones in the quartz diorite are similar to those found elsewhere on Wallace
mountain, and contain most of the high-grade silver sulphides, including argentite, pyrargyrite,
native silver, as well as a low percentage of galena and sphalerite. The usual amount of
complex faulting exists, so that often the top of one section of an ore-body lies at a lower
horizon than the bottom of another section. Strike-faults are also complicated and add to
the cost of mining.
The Sally is one of the oldest operating mines in British Columbia. The property was
opened up and operated from 1901 to 1910 by the Vancouver and Boundary Creek Development
and Mining Company under the management of Robert Wood, who at that time hauled by wagon
45 miles and shipped about 1,200 tons of high-grade ore, which produced roughly $100,000'.
During 1911 and 1912 the property was idle and in 1913 it was leased by James Drumm, who
shipped in the five succeeding years 517 tons of high-grade ore, which netted $68,000. In 1916
the property was optioned to Wallace Mountain Mines, Limited, which company, with a capital
of $10,800, purchased and equipped the mine, did 4 miles of underground development, and
paid the shareholders about $189,000 in dividends. In 1925 it was optioned to the Federal
Mining and Smelting Company, which relinquished its option in 1926. In the years 1926 to
1928 the mine was operated by Sally Mines, Limited, under option from Wallace Mountain
Mines. Deep and intensive development-work wyas undertaken and the company got into debt.
During the period, however, Sally Mines paid on its option by way of royalties $54,000 from
ore returns. Purchase of the property was completed by Sally Mines, Limited, in 1932, by which
company the property is now owned and operated. Production figures from 1919 to 1928 show
the Sally to have shipped 4,004.5 tons of silver ore, which produced 1,162,688 oz. silver, or an
average of 290.5 oz. per ton.
The property has been mentioned in the following Annual Reports: 1900 and 1901, 1903
to 1906, 1908 and 1909, 1913 to 1918, 1920 to 1933.
No up-to-date map of the surface and underground workings is on hand, but several thousand
feet of development and exploration work has been done on several shear-zones occurring in
the area covered by the claims. Most of this work has been carried out on the Pueblo Fraction
and Rob Roy. Development in the lower workings of the Wellington uncovered a shear-zone
carrying high-grade silver ore striking into the Sally ground. This year a 2-compartment
vertical shaft, 7 by 11 feet, was sunk 500 feet about 75 feet east of the Wellington ground and
crosscuts were driven about 90 feet south and 75 feet west. The No. 2 shear-zone, though much
faulted to the south-east, was found and is being mined, and two car-loads of ore have been
shipped. On the Rob Roy the No. 7 vein was explored both by diamond-drilling, adits, and a
winze, and eight car-loads of ore were shipped. According to the management, the work done
on the No. 7 vein indicates that a considerable tonnage may be found in this section in the
future.    The ore is averaging about 130 oz. in silver per ton, besides lead and zinc.
A new double-drum hoist and a 50-horse-power Gardner-Denver full Diesel engine were
installed at the new shaft.
According to the " statement in lieu of prospectus," this company was formed
Carmi Gold      to take over the holdings of the Canadian American Mines, Limited, and the
Mines, Ltd.      York Investments, Limited, Vancouver, which in turn bonded the Butcher
Boy, No. 3, No. 2 Fraction, and a three-quarter interest in the May claim, the
Carmi, B.A. Fraction   (part of Lot 1563s), and the St. Lawrence, all Crown-granted, and
eighteen located claims in the vicinity of the above from the owners, P. B. S. Stanhope, R. D.
Kerr, James Kerr, R. Lyman, W. E. McArthur, H. Fritz, and J. E. Miller.
The claims are located a short distance south-west of Carmi, within a quarter of a mile of
the Kettle Valley Railway, from which a road has been built. The ground upon which most
of the work has been done this year lies on the west side of the West fork of the Kettle river,
where the hills slope gently to the east and north, except where Carmi creek and the river have
cut deep ravines.
The ore occurs in quartz-filled shear-zones and fractures with free walls in the quartz
diorite and Wallace rocks, and theoretically represents a lower horizon of the same shear-zones
found on Wallace mountain. Mineralization consists chiefly of pyrite with lesser amounts of
galena and sphalerite carrying values in gold and silver. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 11
The property has been reported on in the Annual Reports for 1898, 1900, 1901, 1904, 1900,
1913 to 1916, 1920, 1922, 1932, and 1933. A map of the Carmi workings in incorporated in the
1932 Report.
About 109.4 tons of ore containing 68.49 oz. gold and 211.8 oz. silver was shipped to Trail
from the Carmi, and about 55.55 tons containing 18.275 oz. gold and 90.52 oz. silver from the
Butcher Boy.
Work done this year consists of driving the west drift to and connecting with the Butcher
Boy workings and 310 feet beyond, or a total of drifts and crosscuts west of the Carmi shaft
of 1,390 feet, as well as numerous crosscuts, sinking the main Carmi shaft to the 300-foot level,
cleaning out and drifting from the shaft near the river, and exploring the May claim to the
north of the Butcher Boy.
Developments to the west of the Carmi shaft on this horizon and between the two shafts
disclosed only small segregations of ore. The Butcher Boy ore-bearing shear-zone splits into
stringers on this level, with narrow lenses from 6 inches to 1 foot wide, and " horses " of quartz
diorite between. In the Carmi shaft, below the 150-foot level, some well-mineralized segregations and bands of ore were found in quartz widths varying from 4 to 7 feet. The management
states that some good ore has been found on the floor of the 150-foot level for 265 feet along the
east drift. It seems probable that more work will be done under lease, from the shaft under
the east drift, to ascertain the value of this ore-shoot. Most of the ore taken from the Carmi
was mined from above the east 150-foot level.
This syndicate, with headquarters at 312 Pacific Building, Vancouver, bonded
Monashee Mines seven Crown-granted and five other claims, situated about 47 miles east of
Syndicate, Ltd.   Vernon on Monashee mountain, from the New Monashee Mines (see Annual
Report, 1933), as well as staking twelve new locations mostly on Monashee
mountain.    The writer examined the property in September.
The following construction, installation, and underground work is reported by the managing
director, Gordon F. Dickson: The old buildings have been renovated and new ones consist of
a log bunk-house with a frame addition, dry-house, cook-house, dining-room addition, office,
living-quarters, superintendent's house, barn, warehouse, blacksmith-shop, and engine-room.
Air was first produced by a unit consisting of a Model D-770 caterpillar Diesel engine with
6-cylinder W.B.G. Gardner-Denver 2-stage compressor. This was later sold and a larger unit
purchased, consisting of a Fairbanks-Morse 140-horse-power Model 32D14 Diesel engine direct-
connected to a 780-foot Sullivan angle compound compressor. Machine-shop equipment consists
of lathe, drill-press, and power-emery. Electric power is supplied to machine-shop and powerhouse lighting system by a 7%-kw. alternator with belted exciter, driven by a 7-horse-power
Petter Diesel engine. Starting-air for the large Diesel is supplied by a small compressor driven
by a 3-horse-power Fairbanks-Morse " Z " type engine. Blacksmithing equipment includes an
Ingersoll-Rand oil-furnace, a Gardner-Denver steel-sharpener, drill-press, forge, and general
blaeksmithing-tools. Mining equipment consists of one R-51 stoper, one L-74 drifter, and four
D-79 drifters, together with all general mining tools and accessories.
Development underground has been confined to four adit-levels, three of which are old
workings and one new. In each of the old adits considerable work was required in catching
up old timbering, cutting the bottom down to grade, and cleaning out drifts and crosscuts.
Much of No. 3950 adit was badly caved and had to be driven through and retimbered.
The following advances in workings have been made:—Adit No, 4050 (elevation) : Drifting,
532 feet; crosscutting, 125 feet; reopening, 409 feet. Adit No. 3950 (elevation): Drifting,
88 feet; reopening, 390 feet. Adit No. 4150 (elevation): Drifting, 130 feet; crosscutting,
35 feet;   reopening, 76 feet.    Adit No. 3900  (elevation) :   Drifting, 82 feet.
The mineralization, as in veins of similar character, occurs in shoots with free walls, and
in the total distance there are lengths of quite high-grade ore. There are three faults, all
normal, in the length of the working, but in each case the displacement is less than 30 feet
and the vein has been picked up by drifting south on the faults. At present we are continuing
the highest adit, No. 4150; the new lowest, No. 3900; and are putting a raise from No. 4050
to 4150. As soon as this raise is through, No. 4050 adit will be extended on the vein into the
mountain.
A crew of about twenty men has been employed. D 12 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
Placer-mining.
Rock Creek Area.
The Rock Creek Consolidated Placers, a holding company of Penticton and Greenwood,
optioned their holdings (see Annual Reports, 1930 to 1933) to Porter and Condit, 522 Old
National Bank Building, Spokane, Wash.
A ditch approximately 1,600 feet long, 20 feet wide, and 25 feet deep was dug by a 1%-yard
drag-line shovel from the road crossing up-stream. Besides this, numerous test-pits were dug
and an old Star churn-drill was used to put down three holes between the end of the ditch and
White's bar, a distance of approximately 1,800 feet. In the first hole bed-rock was encountered
at 42 feet. The other holes failed to reach bottom owing chiefly to an accumulation of boulders.
Only fine gold was recovered from the ditch and the drill-sludge.
As White's bar and other bars in the creek produced a large quantity of coarse gold in
former years, it seems probable that the " pay-streak" follows some other course than that
cut by the present channel. Exploration along the banks of the creek in the vicinity of the
old worked-out bars may be recommended.
On the Sixty Six placer-ground, one lease below the above, Lynch Bros., of Seattle, built a
small plank dam, installed a pump, and hydraulicked a 50- by 100-foot section of gravel 6 feet
deep on bed-rock at the entrance of the canyon, which returned about 65 cents a cubic yard.
A drain 300 feet long dug to bed-rock in the canyon produced no gold.
On lease No. 98, owned by M. D. Kinney, good " pay " was sluiced from a section of ground
about 90 by 30 by 21 feet deep on a point on the east side and about 33 feet above the present
McKinney creek, by using a Chevrolet engine and high-pressure gasoline-pump and hose.
A section of the pit is as follows: Surface soil 2 feet, 6 feet of.glacial gravel (fine gold
colours), 8 feet of fine gravel and broken clay (18 cents a pan), 4 feet of red sand in and
under which coarse gold is found, 1 foot of clay which forms false bed-rock, and 5 feet of barren
gravel on granite bed-rock. An estimate of values by the owner is stated to be 40 cents per
cubic yard.
For several miles up-stream in the same creek comparatively coarse gold has been panned
by individual miners. As prospecting proceeds up the creek the gold becomes heavier and
rough-edged, which suggests that its source is not far distant. On Rock creek proper, about
a mile up-stream from its confluence with Jolly creek, a considerable amount of gold was taken
from a high-channel rim on the north side of the creek.
Porter and Condit.—From the mouth of Rock creek up-stream for several miles, placer
leases on both sides have been staked and optioned by Porter and Condit, 522 Old National Bank
Building, Spokane, Wash.
In the early autumn tests on a large scale, by means of short drifts from 15 to 50 feet long,
pits, and shafts, were carried on with the result, according to the owners, that between 2,000,000
and 3,000,000 cubic yards of gravel have been outlined containing values varying from 12 to
45 cents a cubic yard in the top gravel and about $1 a cubic yard on bed-rock.
A by-pass dam, intake, and a 7- by 7- by 14-foot penstock have been built 3 miles up the
creek. From this, 500 feet of 30-inch, followed by 5,000 feet of 26-inch, 3,000 feet of 24-inch,
and 10,000 feet of 22- and 20-inch metal pipe has been laid to a No. 5 giant, giving a total
head of 257 feet. The sluice-boxes will be 36 inches wide, holding 45-lb. cross-rails spaced
1 inch apart, with bottoms up.    Operations will commence as soon as weather conditions permit.
Boundary Creek.
Boundary Creek Mining Co., Ltd.—This private company continued operations on the
Dr. Lang leases on Boundary creek, a few miles up-stream from Midway. A 1-eubic-yard
Marian shovel, moving between 200 and 250 cubic yards of gravel in eight hours, is being used
and the gravel hauled a quarter of a mile to the sluice-boxes by two 2%-ton Federal trucks.
A cut has been dug about 30 feet wide and 200 feet long, and, according to the owners, good
" pay " has been recovered. A high rib of porphyry over 150 feet wide is exposed at the north
end of the cut. Coarse gold was found in a shaft a short distance beyond the porphyry. About
twenty men are employed under the superintendency of Thomas E. McElroy. Work was discontinued in the autumn. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 13
OSOYOOS MINING DIVISION.
(See Annual Reports for 1913, 1927, 1928, and 1930 to 1933, under Dividend-
Osoyoos Mines,   Lakeview.)   This company continued exploration upon the Dividend-Lakevieui
Ltd. group of claims at Osoyoos.    During the year the following development was
carried out:  On the Dividend (see map, 1932) No. 1 adit east was extended
to the bluff outside, and some ore stoped above the level.    No. 1 west was driven ahead, with
crosscuts at about 100 feet.    No. 2 level was driven 45 feet east, with a north-east crosscut
55 feet long to the surface.    No. 2 west was driven 110 feet in a south-westerly direction, with
a branch working 40 feet long to the north-west.    Some diamond-drilling was done south from
No. 2 level.    On the Lakeview the lower level was cleaned out and retimbered.    On the Little
Manx the upper adit has been driven ahead a few feet.
Construction consists of two bunk-houses, housing twelve men ; dining-room; office with
sleeping accommodation for two; assay office, built on top of a 10,000-gallon concrete water-
tank ;  and blacksmith-shop.    Roads were built to the Little Manx and Lakeview lower adits.
New machinery comprises an Ingersoll-Rand 10- by 8-inch, type 20 portable gasoline compressor, a steel sharpener and temperer, a 2%- by 4-inch duplex pump driven by a Stover
gas-engine at the irrigation-flume below, and 3,000 feet of pipe to the camp. A 40-foot well
was sunk on the Lakeview and a small typhoon hand-pump installed.
Developments on the Dividend have indicated a considerable tonnage of ore averaging on
No. 1 level 0.676 oz. gold per ton, and in No. 2 level 0.20 oz. gold per ton, as well as two undeveloped diamond-drill sections from No. 2 east drift south, of 1.70 oz. and 4 oz. gold per ton
over 11- and 4-foot widths. In the east side of the mine, according to information obtained
from drill-holes, the mineralized beds roll and dip slightly to the south, whereas the upper
ore-zones dip to the north. It also appears probable that the central section of ore between
the east and west workings has been faulted, dropped, and moved south. This will account
for the lack of ore in the shaft and old lower workings. In the westerly drifts, which have
been extended farther south than the easterly workings, some attractive ore has been discovered.
In the Manx adit 5-foot widths near the face carry 0.33 oz. gold per ton. In the Lakeview
upper adit a section 4 feet wide and 20 feet long averages 0.338 oz. gold per ton, as well as a
very large possible ore-zone indicated in the east crosscut of 0.078 oz. gold per ton, and in the
west crosscuts of 0.205 oz. gold per ton.    J. O. Howells is superintendent.
(See Annual Reports,  1920,  1923,  1924, 1927,  1928,  1930 to  1933.)    In the
Morning Star    spring, R. L. Clothier, former managing director, resigned, and his place was
(Fairview) Gold taken by John D. Galloway.    Later C. C. Camp took charge, with Robert Clark
Mines, Ltd.      acting as consulting engineer.    All outside work was stopped and development
confined to the underground workings, as follows:   Total length to date of
No. 1 level north of shaft, 990 feet;   south, 892 feet to the surface.    No. 2 level north of shaft,
554 feet;   south, 186 feet.    On the east vein 176 feet of drifting has been done from the intersection of the crosscut from the west vein.    Altogether about 1,100 feet of raising and 550 feet
of crosscutting has been accomplished.
The first ore-body commences about 50 feet north of the shaft on the 101 level and extends
for 145 feet along the drift, having an average width of 4.5 feet and value, based on ore shipped,
of 0.63 oz. gold per ton. The third shoot, 320 feet north of the shaft, is 12 feet long, having
an average width of 5 feet and value of 0.25 oz. gold per ton. The fourth ore-body is 540 feet
north of the shaft, has an indicated length of 100 feet, width of 4.5 feet, and averages 1 oz. gold
per ton. This is possibly the top of an ore-shoot because the values decreased when a raise
was put up. The fifth shoot, 820 feet north of the shaft, is 44 feet long, 13 feet wide, and
averages 0.37 oz. gold per ton. Some samples across the face assayed 2 oz. gold per ton.
The sixth shoot is of unknown length, with the face still in ore, width 6 feet, and face samples
assaying 1.16 oz. gold per ton. South of the shaft the second ore-body commences 65 feet and,
extending for 175 feet, has an average width of 3.8 feet and value of 0.65 oz. gold per ton.
All the walls are free. Three car-loads comprising 173.9 tons shipped from this shoot returned:
Gold, 1.155 oz. per ton;  silver, 1.10 oz. per ton.
The Stemwinder mine was unwatered down to the 500-foot level, and according to the
Morning Star authorities, although large and persistent quartz veins are exposed in the old
workings, only low values were found.   For this reason the option on the Stemwinder group, D 14 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
including the Stemwinder, Brown Bear, Wynne 31., Stemset, Gunsite, Peter, and Peter No. 1,
owned by the Federal Mining Company, was relinquished.
Several theories regarding the genesis of the ore-bodies have been put forward, but to
date no clear solution of the problem is forthcoming. It appears probable that there have been
two definite periods in which quartz was injected into the shear-zones—one, pure white in
colour accompanied with comparatively little sulphide mineralization ; the other, more transparent, which came later, containing gold, galena, pyrite, and sphalerite. The latter are found
only in certain sections where stresses produced intense fracturing in the schistose quartzite
and evidently permitted the circulation of mineral-bearing solutions. The ore-bodies occur close
along the east contact of the granite and are generally associated with aplite and dacite-
porphyry dykes or apophyses from the granite. A theory offered by R. Clarke is that there is
a possibility of the west vein having been split on its downward extension, and that the foot-wall
branch, which is ore-bearing, may still lie under the shaft or to the west and parallel to the
No. 2 level.
During 1934, 2,664.3 dry tons of ore was shipped to the smelter at Trail, having a weighted
average gold content of 0.55 oz. per ton. The silver and gold ratio averaged about 2.5 to 1.
Most of the ore was taken from No. 1 and No. 2 ore-bodies.
(See Annual Reports, 1933;   under Flora, 1899 to 1901.)    During 1934 a
Fairview crosscut was driven about 45 feet long in a north-easterly direction from the
Amalgamated end of the Flora lower adit and, intersecting the main vein at 25 feet, crossed
Gold Mines. it for a distance of 20 feet. From this point a working was driven 350 feet in
a south-easterly direction, with crosscuts across the vein to the north-east
at intervals of about 25 feet for 150 feet, and from this point, where the vein passed into the
foot-wall of the workings, two crosscuts were driven across the vein at 255 and 300 feet in a
south-westerly direction. From the point at which the crosscut intersected the vein a 25-foot
drift was driven north-west in the foot-wall. Following this work, the old Flora lower adit
was extended about 70 feet, where the vein was again intersected and drifted on, with intervening sections in country-rock due to faulting, for 360 feet, where two branch workings were
driven north-westerly, each about ISO feet long, in much-disturbed ground. Four crosscuts
were driven north-east from the south-east branch, two of which connected with the other
drift.    In the main drift seven crosscuts have been driven at intervals across the vein.
Besides bending to the south-east, two major faults have displaced the vein in the same
direction for distances of 15 and 20 feet respectively. For a distance of approximately 240 feet
between these faults the vein averages about 35 feet in width. To the north-west and southeast beyond the faults the vein splits and the two strands in the latter direction represent the
veins in the Flora adit and in the south-east drift. The north-west branches are wider and
in one place measure 45 feet across the vein.
Construction and equipment are as follows: A double-decked bunk-house, office, blacksmith-
shop, and engine-room. A 240-foot portable Sullivan compressor was used temporarily, and was
later replaced by a 790-foot Gardner-Denver machine, electrically driven. A Sullivan steel-
sharpener and oil-forge are used in the blacksmith-shop. A new power-line has been built
11,685 feet long from Oliver to the mine by the West Kootenay Power Company. The cost of
this line is temporarily paid for by the mining company. In the mine a 10-inch blower vent-pipe
has been installed for ventilation.
(See Annual Reports, 1913, 1915, 1922, 1923, 1932.)    This group, consisting
Susie. of the Susie,  Oakville, Federal,  Banker, Agricola,  Grey  Gables, and Tres
Hermanos, all Crown-granted, and owned by the Federal Mining Company,
Wallace, Idaho, is situated 2% miles north-east of the Fairview Amalgamated property.
Development-work done in the past consists of numerous open-cuts, shallow shafts, as well
as a 215-foot inclined shaft, from which drifts and crosscuts have been driven in northerly and
southerly directions, totalling 1,335 feet on the Swsie and on the Federal an adit 130 feet long.
Twelve diamond-drill holes have been bored on the property.
This year an 850-foot (?) crosscut adit was commenced by contract near the upper Fairview
road on the Tres Hermanos claim, and driven about 500 feet towards its objective, to intersect
the downward extension of the Susie vein about 600 feet below the collar of the shaft, or
400 feet below the main level. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 15
The Susie vein, striking west of north and dipping from 25 to 30 degrees to the east, is a
quartz-filled fissure from 4 to 40 feet wide containing pyrite, galena, and sphalerite, in the
Oliver granite. Sufficiently encouraging gold and silver values are reported as occurring in
certain sections to warrant the development outlined above.
This company, with an authorized capital of 3,000,000 shares of no par value,
Viking Gold     and head offices at 712 Standard Bank Building, Vancouver, acquired the
Mines, Ltd.      Viking group of claims, held on location, situated about 15 miles south-west of
Penticton, and the Torres group of twenty-one claims located approximately
7 miles north-east of Cawston.    A considerable amount of trenching and open-cutting was done
on the Viking group, which adjoins the Twin Lakes claims, and also on the Torres, with the
result that the company decided to concentrate their efforts upon the latter, where two well-
mineralized quartz fissure-veins with free walls, varying from 4 inches to 6 feet in width and
striking north-west, have been uncovered in the granite.
In the late summer a 50-horse-power Petter Diesel engine driving a 325-cubic-foot Gardner-
Denver compressor were installed and an office built. An adit 610 feet long, with 90- and 50-foot
crosscuts south and north respectively, were driven, as well as stripping and open-cutting the
vein for about 1,000 feet.
Except near the mouth of the adit and in occasional segregations, the values are low
throughout the workings. About December 23rd a 3-inch vein was struck in the foot-wall face
of the adit, two samples of which assayed: Gold, 2.92 oz. per ton; silver, 24.5 oz. per ton; and
6 oz. gold per ton. Further development has not, as yet, disclosed the potentiality of this
discovery, but similar occurrences of high-grade mineralization generally accompany the ore-
bodies in other parts of this area.
The assumption that the quartz vein had passed from the granite into the schistose quartzite
is erroneous, and probably due to the fact that the country-rocks are considerably schisted in
the vicinity of the veins.
(See Annual Reports, 1933, and under 'Tiger for 1928, 1930, and 1931.) This
Mak Siccar Gold company, with headquarters at 124 Pacific Building, Vancouver, operated its
Mines, Ltd. property on Manery creek, below Similkameen Station, throughout the year
with a crew of ten men. The 3,750-foot adit on the Buller claim was driven
a total distance of 700 feet, and a crosscut 106 feet long from the 4,100-foot level, in an
endeavour to intersect the downward extension of the ore-body indicated in No. 1 adit above,
and from which a shipment of 2 tons containing 1.83 oz. gold per ton and 1 oz. silver per ton
was made.
The ore, consisting of pyrite and lesser amounts of chalcopyrite in quartz, occurs in certain
favourable zones along the schisted contact of the diorite and greenstone rocks. Numerous
slightly mineralized quartz-filled fractures strike in every direction through the diorite.
An 8 by 6, 220-cubic-foot portable Ingersoll-Rand compressor and engine were installed and
a camp built near the workings, consisting of log bunk-house and cook-house. A very steep
6-foot-wide road was constructed 1% miles long between the property and the foot of the
mountain.
(See Annual Reports for 1932 and 1933;   Oro Fine and Independence in
Grandoro        Annual  Reports  for  1896,   1898,   1920,   1922,  1923,   1930,   and   1931.)    This
Mines, Ltd.      company, with a capitalization of 2,500,000 shares of no par value, and head
office   at  102-06  Pacific  Building,   Vancouver,   acquired   the   assets   of   the
Grandoro Mining and Milling Company's property, consisting of the Oro Fino and Independence,
both Crown-granted, and twenty-five other claims on Oro Fino mountain, about 25 miles by
road south-west of Penticton.
This year the Oro Fino winze was sunk to the 150-foot level and drifts were driven 250 feet
east and 200 feet west, with crosscuts from the west drift 50 feet each way. On the Independence
a 40-foot crosscut was driven south from the main adit and the vein drifted on for 50 feet east.
The Oro Fino winze 150-foot level east followed the vein, though low grade, for its entire
length. In the west drift only a 50-foot length of quartz was found. Crosscuts north and south
failed to pick up the faulted extension. About 2% feet of ore 50 feet long was found in the
drift from the crosscut from the main Independence adit. D 16 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
Arrangements are being made to truck the Grandoro ore, of which the management estimates
there is 10,000 tons, averaging 0.50 oz. gold per ton, to the Twin Lakes mill, which lies about
three-quarters of a mile distant below the Independence adit.
(See Annual Report for 1933, and- under Huntsman and Juniper, 1924, 1933:
Twin Lakes Gold Summit Section, 1928;  B.E. Mining Company, 1929 to 1931;  Parvenue Mines,
Mining Co., Ltd. 1932.)    This year the " mill" adit was driven a total distance of 900 feet.
The Summit inclined shaft was sunk a total length of about 250 feet and
drifts driven 100 feet north-east and 160 feet south-west from it.    Connections were made from
the south-west end with an inclined shaft situated 140 feet south-west of the main incline.
A complex condition of normal and reverse faulting from the bottom of the main inclined
shaft north-west hindered successful mining. Most of the ore shipped and milled was taken
from above the south-west drift. On the Alice claims, situated about 600 feet south of the
Summit workings, a shaft was sunk 36 feet on a 5-foot quartz vein. About 1,000 feet of diamond-
drilling was done in various parts of the mine and more ore indicated. The 40-ton-capacity
mill flow-sheet, which treated 35 tons a day, consists of: 100-ton coarse-ore bin ; 9 by 6 Blake-
type jaw-crusher; 50-ton fine-ore bin; Bryan-type high-speed Chile mill; 5-foot-diameter
amalgamation-plates having a total area of 64 feet; blankets having an 80-foot area; two
Wilfley tables; blankets and thickener. The underflow from the blankets is tailings; the
overflow returns to the Bryan mill. Power equipment consists of a 90-horse-power semi-Diesel
engine driving a single-stage 420-cubic-foot compressor, a 50-horse-power semi-Diesel that drives
a 35-k.v.a. generator, and a 25-horse-power Diesel driving the mill. The mine-hoist is a 15-horse-
power motor-driven winch.
The mine closed down in the early winter after shipping about $50,000 worth of bullion and
gold-bearing concentrates. It is understood that a lease has been taken on the property by the
Grandoro Mines, and arrangements have been made to operate both properties under one
management.
This group, consisting of the Empire  (Crown-granted), Standard, Monarch,
Empire. and others, and situated about 1% miles directly north-west of Oliver and
9,000 feet south-east of the Susie mine, is controlled by a syndicate under
the direction of A. M. Whiteside, K.C., 930 Rogers Building, Vancouver. The property can be
reached by motor-road 5 miles in length from Oliver. The main Provincial highway passes
4,000 feet to the east and 400 feet below the Empire workings. The Canadian Pacific Railway
branch line from Oliver to Penticton is about 5,000 feet to the east. The West Kootenay Power
Company's electric line passes through the Empire claim. Water, though scarce on the claims,
can be obtained from the Okanagan river, about a mile to the east.
Two or more roughly parallel quartz veins, with free walls, varying from 1% to 4% feet
wide, strike north-westerly, dip nearly perpendicular, occur in fissures in the Oliver granite.
Mineralization consists of pyrite, galena, sphalerite, and occasionally chalcopyrite in a gangue
of quartz. Samples indicating values assayed from 0.10 oz. gold per ton and 3 oz. silver per ton
to 1.70 oz. gold per ton and 6 oz. silver per ton over widths varying between 2 and 4 feet.
Development by means of a 25-foot shaft and four open-cuts has been done over a distance of
600 feet on the Empire claim. On the Standard, which lies roughly 1,500 feet west of the
Empire, a 40-foot open-cut has uncovered a quartz vein mineralized with pyrite and galena,
measuring 18 inches at the top and 2% feet at the bottom of the cut. This vein has been traced
spasmodically for 200 feet. Other open-cuts and shafts have been sunk in various locations
where quartz veins outcrop.
The mineralization is similar to that found in the Susie and Morning SJar mines, and
appears to warrant further exploration.
Fairview Section  (General).
A considerable amount of prospecting by means of trenching, open-cutting, and sinking has
been done on various quartz-vein systems on the following claims throughout the area lying
between the Okanagan and Similkameen rivers and north of Osoyoos lake, and some interesting
discoveries made: The Gipsy No. 1, Dorothea, Macawber, Moltka, Hecla, and Rhone Fraction
group, adjoining the Osoyoos Mines, Limited, and owned by P. Simpson et al., of Oliver and
Osoyoos';   the Orlando, Bill, and May groups, adjoining the Mak Siccar mine on the east and SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 17
owned by M. O. Heaps et at, of Penticton; the Waukesha, Dark Horse, Nancy groups, located
in the east end of Richter pass and owned by Roy Jardine et al., of Oliver; the Gertrude,
Sunrise, Swan group, 7 miles south of Oliver, owned by R. Jardine, Oliver; the Challenger group,
near the mouth of Testalinda creek, owned by A. Carmichael and W. Dalrymple, Oliver; the
Good Hope group, 1% miles north-east of the Stemwinder, owned by H. Davies, Oliver; the
Wildcat group, adjoining the Good Hope on the north-west, owned by W. H. McLean, Penticton,
and A. R. Phelps, Oliver; the Junction group, north-east of the Good Hope, owned by Alan
Roadhouse and associates, Penticton. The Monarch and Miraculous groups, adjoining the
Grandoro Mines on the south are owned by Wm. Long and associates, of Penticton. The Oliver
claim, adjoining the Susie on the north, is owned by A. Carmichael et al., of Oliver.
Paul Creek Section.
Paul creek, draining an area about 12 miles long by 6 miles wide, flows into the Similkameen
river from the south-west about 9 miles south-east of Hedley. The upper part of the creek
drains an area of well-rounded generally glaciated summits rising to elevations of nearly 7,000
feet. It flows in a wide U-shaped valley to about 4 miles above its mouth, where the grade
steepens and it enters a deep and narrow gorge. ' In this belt Paul creek and its numerous
tributaries have cut deep and narrow ravines, especially in the neighbourhood of its confluence
with the Similkameen river, where the hills rise abruptly from an elevation of 2,000 to 4,000
feet in 1% miles.
The general geology of the north-east section is represented by numerous, large, highly
altered remnants of sedimentary rocks similar to those on Nickel Plate mountain, composed
chiefly of limestone, thinly bedded argillites, interbedded volcanics, and occasionally quartzite.
This series is deeply folded, dipping from 15 to 90 degrees, and strikes in various directions
according to displacement. These rocks are intruded by dykes and dyke-like masses of granite,
granodiorite, diorite and augite diorite, and quartz porphyry. Most of the outcrops observed
consist of highly altered fine-grained sediments with garnetite and epidote, and impregnated
with pyrite, massive and disseminated arsenopyrite, pyrrhotite, and lesser amounts of chalcopyrite, chiefly along or near the intrusive rock-contacts. The south-eastern flank of this area
is almost entirely underlain with volcanic rocks in which certain fractured sections are highly
pyritized.
Commencing at a point about 1 mile west of the junction of the Ashnola and Similkameen
rivers, and stretching in a semicircle to a point slightly south of Johns creek, several groups of
claims have been staked, as follows: Shamrock, Snow Shoe, Confederation, Arrawana, Lost
Horse, and Speculator.
On the Shamrock numerous quartz veins have been uncovered cutting at right angles a
porphyritic granite dyke about 20 feet wide. Along the contact and for 2 feet on either side
of these veins the dyke has been highly fractured and replaced to some extent by quartz, pyrite,
and arsenopyrite. In the 50-foot crosscut (not examined), driven 30 feet below an open-cut
at the lower end of the dyke-outcrop, four quartz veins with altered frozen contacts, and
varying from 6 inches to 1 foot in width, are reported to have been intersected. Samples of the
mineralized zones are being assayed.
On the Confederation, Arrawana, Snow Shoe, and Lost Horse groups only preliminary prospecting has been done on several outcrops of highly altered limestone impregnated chiefly with
arsenopyrite. On the Speculator group, which lies in the extreme north-west point of the area
described, a considerable amount of exploration has been done by means of stripping and open-
cutting the different mineralized outcrops, especially on the Jumibo No. 1 and Speculator claims.
No systematic sampling was done as none of the workings have penetrated below the zone
of oxidation. Spasmodic samples, however, indicated gold and silver values associated with
arsenopyrite.
The general geology of the Paul Creek section is similar in many respects to that of Nickel
Plate mountain, Hedley area, from which much gold has been mined, and therefore appears to
warrant extensive exploration.
(See Annual Reports, 1933, and under Hedley Gold Mining Company for 1917
Kelowna to 1919, 1923, 1927, 1929, and 1930.    Also Geological Survey Memoir No. 2,
Exploration Co.  1910, and Summary Report, 1929, Part A.)     Since taking over this property
from the Hedley Gold Mining Company in July, 1933, crosscutting, drifting, D 18 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
and diamond-drilling indicated and proved sufficient additional tonnage in the upper part of
the mine to that already blocked out to warrant continuing the operation.
The following constitutes the amount of work done during 1934: In the mine, crosscutting
and drifting on No. 4 level, 253 feet; on No. 4% level, 720 feet; on No. 5 level, 1,060 feet;
and on No. 6 level, 890 feet. A total of 2,781 feet of diamond-drilling was done in various
sections. Hoisting-cables were renewed and preparations made for converting the air-hoist
to.electrical control. The high-tension line to the mine was overhauled and new transformers
installed.  The average number of men working in the mine and on the surface was twenty-seven.
The mill was overhauled, reconditioned, and practically all the foundation timbers renewed
and necessary replacements of equipment made.
Pilot-milling operations started on December 1st, and 2,865 dry tons of ore was cyanided,
followed by concentration, during the month.   Concentrates were reground and cyanided.
The tramway between the mine and mill was repaired. Cables were found to be satisfactory
and were not replaced.
The dam across the Similkameen river was repaired and a new wing-dam built on the east
side as well as a new intake. By means of the latter the water enters the flume from the bottom
of the river. A boiler installed at the intake transmits steam into the water at the intake,
thereby eliminating freezing conditions. The 3-mile flume from the dam to the forebay was
completely overhauled, relined, and covered for protection against frost. Booms were floated
to prevent ice from entering the forebay. The average number of men employed at the mill and
power plant, etc., was thirty-six.    W. C. Douglass is manager for the company.
(See Annual Report, 1931.) This company, with headquarters at 327 Seymour
Hedley Mascot Street, Vancouver, was formed to acquire the Mascot Fraction, Copper Chief,
Gold Mines, Ltd. Nick of Time, and thirty-one other Crown-granted claims, all located in a group
to the west and south of Nickel Plate mountain. The Mascot Fraction,
formerly owned by Dune. Woods, contains 17.2 acres lying in the lower centre of the Kelowna
Exploration Company's ore-bodies. The new company has confined its explorations by diamond-
drilling to this fraction, and up to the present 244,000 tons averaging 0.48 oz. gold per ton is
indicated, as well as 56,000 tons of lower-grade ore which may be profitably mined and milled
in conjunction with the higher-grade material.
The Hedley Gold Mining Company, which owned the ground above and below the Mascot
Fraction, drove a crosscut through it and mined ore on each side, so that the tonnage left in the
fraction is practically " blocked out."
Plans are materializing to mine this ore by gravity, build a mill and tram-line, and
commence production about August, 1935.
(See Annual Reports under Whirlwind-Peggy group, 1921, 1923, 1926, 1928 to
Hedley Amalga- 1932;   and under Stemwinder Mountain Mines, 1933.)    This company, with
mated Gold      headquarters at 417 Stock Exchange Building, Vancouver, and capitalized for
Mines. 3,000,000 shares, 50 cents par value, was formed to take over the holdings
of the Stemwinder Mountain Mines on Stemwinder mountain, about 2 miles
north-west of Hedley, as follows:   Seven claims and one fraction, including the Whirlwind,
Peggy, Cyclone, most of which are located on Indian Reserve No. 2.
The location of these claims, on the north-east slope, centre, and south-west slope of
Stemwinder mountain, permits economical exploration by means of adits. At present the
workings are reached by a narrow road about a mile long up the south-west slope, and from
thence a " go-devil" trail three-quarters of a mile to the camp. If developments on the northeast slope justify it, the old road up 20-Mile creek could be reconstructed.
The core of Stemwinder mountain is diorite-flanked on either slope by a series of folded
limestone-beds similar to those on Nickel Plate mountain. The limestones are intruded by
tongues of diorite, andesite, and gabbro dykes. The sediments are metamorphosed and often
highly altered to epidote and garnetite, and in certain strata heavily impregnated with arsenopyrite and pyrite. As found in other parts of the area, the gold values occur in the arsenopyrite,
chiefly along the contacts of the gabbro or diorite tongues.
Development-work consists of extending the " Red tunnel" on the Whirlwind a total distance
of 335 feet in a northerly direction, with two branch drifts, 77 and 100 feet respectively, along
the comparatively flat mineralized beds to the east, and two winzes, 35 and 14 feet deep respectively, to the west, where the beds fold steeply.   A raise 32 feet to the surface was put up from SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 19
the 77-foot working. Besides several open-cuts, some diamond-drilling was done in former
years which indicated a continuance of the mineralized beds to the north and east. On the
Cyclone claim, which covers part of the north-east slope, the upper adit was extended about
30 feet, with workings to the contact of the sediments and diorite. A new adit was started
100 feet north-west and 50 feet lower to determine the attitude of the beds in that direction.
About 800 feet north-east and 300 feet lower a 15-foot open-cut was put in on an outcrop of
pyrrhotite and arsenopyrite.
In the workings on the Whirlwind numerous narrow tongues of diorite and also one gabbro
dyke have intruded the sediments in the vicinity of the mineralized beds. Up to the present
the mineralized widths have varied considerably between 6 inches and 6 feet and are made up
of bands of quartz containing arsenopyrite and pyrite with interbanded oxidized gangue-matter.
In the winze, near the north-west face, the management states that about 14 feet of highly
garnetized limestone has been found impregnated with arsenopyrite. Near the mouth of the
Cyclone adit some high-grade ore has been found in the limestone remnants close to the diorite-
contact. Some picked samples from the open-cuts in the pyrrhotite assayed well in gold,
according to the management.
The property has been systematically sampled by the management, Dan McKinnon, and
Victor Dolmage, consulting geologist, and the results have shown a considerable variance in
gold values. All work done so far has been of an exploratory nature in an attempt to prove
the future possibilities of the area.
The highway between Hedley and Princeton, the high-power electric line, and the Similkameen river all pass within 2 miles of the property.
General.
All that section of the country north of the Similkameen river, lying within a radius of
10 miles of Hedley, from due north to east and south-east, is potential prospecting-ground,
especially along the summits and headwaters of Hedley (20-Mile), Shatford, Tenas, Keremeos,
Cedar and its branches, Olalla, Shoemaker, and Winters  (16-Mile)  creeks.
Within this belt there are many large altered and well-mineralized remnants of Mesozoic
sediments and volcanics associated with the diorite-gabbro rocks and accompanied by pyrite-
arsenopyrite mineralization containing, in places, high gold values. Some work has been done
in several of these localities, including: The Golden Zone (see Annual Report for 1930-31) north
of Hedley and owned by Dune. Woods, Hedley, from which some high values in gold were found
across good widths; the Apex and Nelson groups (see Annual Reports, 1919, 1922, 1924, 1926
to 1928, 1930, 1931 to 1933) ; Star of Hope group at the headwaters of Cedar creek (see Annual
Reports, 1904, 1906, 1933) ; the Yuniman group (see Annual Reports, 1929, 1933).
SIMILKAMEEN MINING DIVISION.
(See Annual Reports for 1933 and under Pollock, 1909, 1910, and 1913.)    This
Gold Mountain   year five diamond-drill holes were bored to a maximum depth of 25 feet below
Mines, Ltd.      the upper workings and the shear-zone continuity established to that depth,
and one flat hole north 65 degrees west to explore the ground in that direction.
After this work was done a crosscut adit, 237 feet lower and 410 feet south 20 degrees east of
the upper adit, was driven 946 feet north 65 degrees west, with a branch north 20 degrees west
300 feet long.   The old Pine Knot adit below was cleaned out and a winze commenced on the lead.
The lower  crosscut was driven through dark-coloured highly  altered banded  sediments
occasionally intruded by tongues of diorite, diabase dykes, and gabbro.    Numerous narrow shear-
zones, filled with quartz, calcite, and lesser amounts of pyrite, arsenopyrite, and containing low
values in gold and silver, were intersected.    The north-west drift coincided with the downward
extension of the ore-body found above;  hence the reason for deeper exploration.
Seven men are working under the supervision of Frank Dollemore.
This company, with headquarters at 417 Metropolitan Building, Vancouver,
Hedley Gold Hill and a capitalization of 2,000,000 shares, has acquired eight located claims, the
Mining Co., Ltd. Gold Hill Nos. 1 to 8, adjoining the Gold Mountain Mines on the south-west
and to the west of Henri creek, which flows into the Similkameen river from
the south about 2 miles north-west of Hedley.    The claims are reached by following the Gold D 20 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
Mountain Mines road up the west side of Henri creek from the Great Northern Railway, and
thence by a steep " zigzag " trail to a tent-camp near the workings on the Gold Hill No. 1.
The claims are located within an area of well-rounded glaciated summits between 4,000
and 5,000 feet in elevation, cut by numerous well-timbered ravines and short creek branches
which flow into Henri creek on the east and Sterling creek on the west.
The geology of the claims is typical of that found elsewhere in this section and is composed
of remnants of Mesozoic sediments, including limestone and volcanic rocks underlain and
intruded by diorite and quartz porphyry. The mineralized area upon which most of the work
has been done covers, roughly, an area 200 feet square on a dome-shaped hill covered by flat-
lying sedimentary beds which are cut off on the south, west, and north by either diorite or
andesite, but dip and continue at a low angle to the east towards Henri creek. Mineralization
observed consists of pyrite, arsenopyrite, with lesser amounts of sphalerite, galena, and chalcopyrite in quartz in alternating frozen bands in the limestone-beds, from a fraction of an inch
to 6 inches in width, in a shear-zone about 6 feet wide.
Work done consists of trenching 100 feet and open-cutting 106 feet across the mineralized
zone, and a 25-foot adit and 8-foot winze sunk from it.
The whole occurrence is complex both in mineralization and its mode of deposition. The
mineral-bearing bands are generally lenticular, superimposed, and much disturbed, with a
pyritized siliceous carbonate gangue between. In some instances the limestone is finely crystalline and contains isolated segregations of arsenopyrite, and in others remnants of diorite.
(See Annual Reports, 1933, and under Patsy, 1927, 1928, and 1931.) This
Hedley Sterling company, with headquarters at 318 Pemberton Building, Victoria, and capital-
Gold Mines, Ltd. ized for 1,000,000 shares, was formed to take over the property of the Canada
Lode Gold Mines, situated on the east side of Sterling creek, about 2 miles
above its junction with the Similkameen river. The claims are located along the east side of
the creek where the ground rises abruptly from 2,000 to 4,500 feet elevation within 2 miles.
A narrow road leads from the Hedley-Penticton highway up the creek-valley to the lower
workings.
The geology of the area consists of Mesozoic sediments and volcanic rocks, striking west of
north and dipping steeply to the east. A fine-grained dark-grey dyke-rock containing a considerable amount of calcite occurs along the east contact and has intruded the sediments at the
end of the lower adit. This rock is possibly andesite and related to an underlying diorite or
gabbro.
Mineralization occurs in four definite, nearly parallel shears with free walls within a
distance of 600 feet striking west of north and conforming to the bedding of the sediments.
The shears are generally lenticular in shape, both on the strike and dip, and vary from a few
inches to 8 feet in width. Within the shears, bands and segregations of pyrite and arsenopyrite
from 1 inch to 3 feet in width occur associated with a quartz gangue.
Surface development consists of several open-cuts along the strike of some of the shears
within a radius of 200 feet in the vicinity of the main workings. Underground, the No. 3
(elevation 2,599 feet) or upper crosscut adit has been driven about 90 feet; No. 2 crosscut
(elevation 2,827 feet), about 20 feet; No. 1 (elevation 2,783 feet), 40 feet, with a winze at the
mouth 25 feet deep ;• No. 0 crosscut (elevation 2,700 feet), 650 feet long, with drifts northerly
130 feet and southerly 34 feet on a shear 75 feet in from the portal. All these crosscut adits
have been driven in an easterly direction. No. 3 lies farthest north. No. 2, 80 feet south and
70 feet west of it; No. 1, 15 feet south and 50 feet west of No. 2; and No. 0, in line and 90 feet
west of No. 1. Five diamond-drill holes have been bored from a point 150 feet in from the
portal of No. 0 adit, as follows: No. 1, 98 feet long, 50 degrees down to the west from the level,
passed through the shear at about 70 feet, but due to caving ground the width and values were
uncertain. No. 2, 73 feet long, and down 50 degrees to the north-west, cut mineralization
containing low values in gold between 28 and 48 feet, followed by 1 foot of arsenopyrite and
quartz assaying 0.30 oz. gold per ton. The end of the hole caved before reaching the main shear.
No. 3, depth unknown, up 50 degrees to the east, passed through sections of oxidized low-grade
ore. No. 4, 78 feet long, up 55 degrees to the north-east, cut 2 feet of ore assaying 0.11 oz. gold
per ton between 5 and 7 feet and quartz and pyrite between 49 and 59 feet. The end of the
hole caved. No. 5, depth unknown, up 55 degrees to the south-east, cut ore between 4 and 7 feet
assaying 0.35 oz. gold per ton and between 18 and 20 feet assaying 0.91 oz. gold per ton and SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 21
0.50 oz. silver per ton.    All these diamond-drill results have been furnished by the management
(Dan McKinnon).
In the No. 0 crosscut numerous narrow highly altered tongues of gabbro have cut the
sediments, occurring first 10 feet east of the shear 75 feet in from the portal of the adit, and
recurring at intervals up to 50 feet and again at a point 415 feet in. A dark-grey fine-grained
dyke, probably andesite, has cut the sediments at 540 feet and continues at intervals for 90 feet.
The face of the crosscut is in the sedimentary rocks.
In the drifts north and south at 75 feet in on the No. 0 adit the shear varies in width from
4 to 10 feet and contains bands and segregations of quartz, pyrite, arsenopyrite, and schisted
country-rock. A sample across 14 inches of vein-matter containing pyrite and arsenopyrite in
the south drift, 15 feet in, assayed: Gold, 0.12 oz. per ton; silver, 0.20 oz. per ton. A picked
sample of ore from No. 1 adit winze assayed: Gold, 0.64 oz. per ton; silver, 0.10 oz. per ton.
Samples taken by the management in the north drift vary from 0.08 oz. gold per ton to 0.38 oz.
gold per ton across widths between 20 inches and 6 feet, with an average width of about 3 feet.
A sample taken from a massive piece of ore 18 by 14 inches assayed 0.80 oz. gold per ton.
Future work consisting of diamond-drilling to the east and above No. 0 adit and drifting and
raising on the indicated shears will continue in the hope that sufficiently high-grade ore over
minable widths may be found in some of the shears. It is evident that the shears pinch and
swell both on the strike and dip.
The gabbro in the lower adit may have some structural relation to the mineralization found.
Up to the present no contact-metamorphic gangue-minerals have been found in the workings.
(See Annual Reports for 1901, 1905, 1908, and 1933.)    This group, owned by
Cousin Jack.     J. Osborne, Tulameen, and W. D. Vallance and associates, of Blakeburn, and
situated near the headwaters of Smith creek, about 2 miles directly west of
Manning, on the Kettle Valley Railway, consists of the Cousin Jack, No. 263;   Ymir, No. 264;
Morning, No. 265;   Blackbird, No. 268;   Berlin Fraction, No. 269, Crown-granted;   and the
Wisconsin, Florence, Canadian Girl, Homestead, Ottawa, and Michigan claims held on location.
The claims are located on the eastern, well-rounded and timbered slopes of Spearing
mountain. A short distance east the hill steepens and cliffs flanked by talus-slopes are of
frequent occurrence. To the south-west forest fires have destroyed the virgin timber and
second-growth jack-pine and willow cover the area.
The rocks exposed on the claims (see map) consist of ehloritic schists of the Tulameen
series mentioned in Geological Survey of Canada Memoir No. 36, 1911, which strike generally
in a northerly and southerly direction and dip from 15 to 25 degrees westerly. Conforming to
the strike and dip of the rocks, two or more parallel quartz veins with free walls occur, varying
from 2 inches to 6 feet in width and containing pyrite, galena, and sphalerite.
On the surface for about 2,500 feet numerous open-cuts, shallow shafts, and two crosscut
adits, 75 and 100 feet long respectively, have been driven along the strike of the veins. On an
adjoining claim south and about 1,000 feet from the Cousin Jack workings the same vein system
has been uncovered by a 100-foot crosscut and 70-foot drift. All the underground workings
except the shaft on the Berlin Fraction are crosscuts. The flat-dipping schists do not permit
drifting on the vein from the surface except to the north.
A general sample of the ore taken from the 75-foot adit on the Cousin Jack assayed: Gold,
0.20 oz. per ton; silver, 0.10 oz. per ton; lead, 0.70 per cent. A sample taken across 18 inches
of vein-matter at the collar of the Berlin Fraction shaft assayed: Gold, 0.20 oz. per ton ; silver,
0.50 oz. per ton; as well as lead and zinc.
The general mineralization in the Tulameen series of rocks adjacent to the Otter and
Boulder granite and the Eagle granodiorite, which often carries gold as well as base metals,
appears to warrant attention.
General.
A considerable amount of work has been done on the following claims: The Marathon
group, owned by George Drossos and associates, of Penticton, and situated on the south side of
the Similkameen river about 8 miles north-west of Hedley. About six open-cuts and a short
adit have been driven on different shear-zones containing pyrite and chalcopyrite in a quartz-
feldspar gangue in granite. On the Dead Deer group, belonging to the same owner and lying
to the south-east and adjoining Smith creek, similar occurrences as those found on the Marathon D 22
REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
B.C. Department- of Mines
Geology of Part of Tulameen Area from Geological Survey of Canada, Map 46a-
showing Location of Cousin Jack Group. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 23
have been uncovered in cuts and short adits. On Raven mountain, which lies approximately
4 miles by trail up Steven creek north-east of Bromley's ranch on the Hedley-Princeton road,
two groups of claims have been staked by C. M. Hayward, W. B. Hall, and associates, of
Princeton and Coalmont. Open-cuts, shafts, and short adits have been driven in a series of
mineralized beds, containing gold, silver, galena, and sphalerite occurring in the Mesozoic
banded sediments and volcanics. Samples varied from 0.04 oz. to 0.20 oz. gold per ton and-
3 oz. to 36 oz. silver per ton. A picked sample of the better-mineralized quartz from the Golden
Fleece shaft carried:  Lead, 21 per cent.;  zinc, 5 per cent.
Placer-mining.
International Placers, Ltd.—This company, with headquarters at 716 Hall Building, Vancouver, has been operating the old Swan and other leases between Granite creek and the
Tulameen river near Coalmont. On the Swan, between February and the end of May, 264 feet
of drifts were driven, exposing 2,107 square feet of bed-rock, from which 172 oz. 14 dwt. gold
and 17 oz. 14 dwt. platinum, including iridium, was recovered. The theory that there is an
old glacial-filled channel of Granite creek cutting across towards the Tulameen near Coalmont
has long been held, but never seriously explored until this year. Churn-drilling at the Tulameen
River end has been in progress, but the results are not known. The distance between the Granite
Creek work and the Tulameen is 2,700 feet, having a maximum depth of ground of 300 feet.
The bed-rock is slate.
Siwash Gold Placers, Ltd.— (See Annual Reports, 1927, 1933.) This company, with headquarters at 417 Metropolitan Building, Vancouver, and a capitalization of 200,000 shares of
50 cents par value, was formed to work thirteen leases on Siwash creek, which flows into
Hayes (5-Mile) creek about 3 miles west of Jellicoe, on the Kettle Valley Railway. The leases
are reached by trail 8 miles from Jellicoe. The possibilities of the locality are described in
Bulletin No. 1, 1934.
General.
In previous reports the possibilities of the Tulameen and Similkameen River benches have
been mentioned. The higher price for gold may be an incentive for further exploration,
especially from Tulameen village up for 6 miles, where broad gravel benches exist on either
side of the stream. Test-pits and churn-drilling, chiefly for platinum, by the Munitions Board
Commission in 1918 near the mouth of Slate creek proved the existence of that metal, accompanied by gold. (See report for that year.) Lower down, test-pits dug by Guest on the south
side of the river indicate commercial values in gold and platinum. Above Slate creek, where
the valley closes in and the benches are narrower, hydraulic mining by means of pumps has
produced sufficiently high values per yard to warrant more serious exploration by means of
churn-drilling. It seems likely that the old river was diverted from its original bed by glacial
debris, which in turn is often covered by slopes of talus material. The top sections are low in
values, and often thick strata of glacial clay are found covering channel-gravels. The Tulameen
river crosses the peridotite and pyroxenite rocks that form part of Olivine and Grasshopper
mountains. Platinum in place associated with chromite has been found in small quantities in
the former rock in this locality. Bands of platinum in a peridotite matrix have been found in
the sluice-boxes. Should sufficiently high values per yard be found in testing operations,
hydraulic heads of water may be found in Eagle or Bear creeks, which flow into the Tulameen
river from the north. Past operations on both the Tulameen and Similkameen have generally
• ended in disaster owing to insufficient knowledge of the direction of the old-channel run having
been obtained before installing a plant.
NICOLA MINING DIVISION.
(See Annual Reports under Alameda, Thelma, and Corona, 1924 to 1930.)
Sheffield Gold   This company, with an authorized capital of 3,000,000  shares,  par value
and Silver       50 cents, and headquarters at 736 Granville Street, Vancouver, acquired the
Mines, Ltd.      Thelma group of twelve claims, the Alameda group of ten claims, and the
Corona group of four claims located on Swakum mountain, about 8 miles
directly north of Nicola, from which a narrow, steep road leads to the property.     Unfortunately
a fire has destroyed the head-frame and buildings of the main Thelma shaft, and the workings
10 D 24
REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
are full of water, so that the latest underground work cannot be examined. The surface
exposures in the neighbourhood of the shaft are mostly altered pods of limestone intruded
by quartz and feldspar-porphyry dykes. The country-rocks on the dump from the shaft showed
much brecciated porphyry cemented with quartz and calcite. The Bernice shaft, which lies
about 400 feet north of the Thelma shaft, which is also full of water, is a comparatively new
working. The depth of this shaft is said to be 105 feet, with an 18-foot crosscut and drifts from
the bottom and from the 65-foot level north and- south.
The ore-minerals noticed, associated with the limestone, are pyrite, galena, and sphalerite.
New equipment consists of a Petter semi-Diesel " S " type engine and Broomwade compressor
(portable).
(See Annual Reports, 1916, 1920, 1927 to 1931, and 1933, with map.)    This
Nicola Mines     year, George Shaw, mine superintendent, and Major Moon, manager, resigned,
and Metals.      and  J.   P.   MacFadden  took  charge.    New  work  to   November   15th,   1934,
consisted of extending the Enterprise 320 drift to a total distance of 526
feet southerly;   sinking the Enterprise winze to a total depth of 236 feet, with a crosscut in
the hanging-wall to the vein.    Samples of the vein at this point assayed about 0.12 oz. gold
per ton and some silver.   Drifting 125 feet on the 190-foot level on Enterprise;   crosscutting
from the Tubal Cain north drift, total 90 feet, with a drift 50 feet north on what appears to be
the intermediate vein;   stoping on the Nos. 1, 3, and 4 levels from the Joshua shaft, and above
the 320-foot and 190-foot levels in the Enterprise.    The quartz vein in the face of the intermediate (?) vein north contains about 5 feet of quartz slightly mineralized with pyrite, galena,
and sphalerite, across which channel samples assayed 0.12 oz. gold per ton.
There are two estimated blocks of ore below tbje floor of the Enterprise 320-foot level
consisting of 164 feet assaying: Gold, 0.487 oz. per ton; silver, 10.35 oz. per ton; lead, 3.7
per cent., over a 20-inch width ; and 114 feet assaying: Gold, 0.243 oz. per ton; silver, 6.78 oz.
per ton ; lead, 2.23 per cent., over a 26.7-inch width, which have not been explored except in
a small way from the 440-foot level south.
Composite mill-heads averaged about: Gold, 0.17 oz. per ton; silver, 3.07 oz. per ton;
with varying amounts of lead. Six shipments of concentrates were made between July 25th,
1934, and October 31st, 1934, and another car-load lot of about 35 tons will probably be shipped
before the end of November. The returns from the Trail smelter, less the gold premium, are
as follows:—
Shipments, July 25th, 1934, 30.320 dry tons assaying: Gold, 3.4845 oz. per ton; silver,
161.75 oz. per ton ;  lead, 51.30 per cent.;  zinc, 5.2 per cent.    Net smelter returns, $3,920.87.
Shipments, August 14th, 1934, 32.81 dry tons assaying: Gold, 2.897 oz. per ton; silver,
138.9 oz. per ton ;  lead, 35.80 per cent.    Net smelter returns, $3,379.59.
Shipments, September 11th, 1934, 37.43 dry tons assaying:   Gold, 2.856 oz. per ton;
90.4 oz. per ton;  lead, 26 per cent.    Net returns, $3,027.53.
Shipments,  October 2nd,  1934,  36.20 dry tons assaying:
81.25 oz. per ton;  lead, 26 per cent.    Net returns, $2,627.57.
Shipments, October 16th, 1934, 35.72 dry tons, assaying:
62.3 oz. per ton;  lead, 31.4 per cent.    Net returns, $2,356.45.
Shipments, October 31st, 1934, 12.166 dry tons assaying:
41.3 oz. per ton;  lead, 24.8 per cent.    Net returns, $692.59.
Shipments,  October 31st,  1934,  21.6 dry tons assaying:
52.8 oz. per ton ; lead, 29.71 per cent.   Net returns, $1,256.50.
The costs of mining and milling are running about $4.28 a ton.
The mine was closed down at the end of November.
(See Annual Report, 1933.) Certain Vancouver and Calgary interests, under
Jennie Long, the superintendency of E. W. Watson, have interested themselves in the
Jennie Long, Crown-granted, and several adjoining claims situated about
3 miles south-east of Stump lake, on the east side of the Kamloops-Merritt highway at the
end of a branch road, and about 35 miles from Kamloops. Title is registered in the name of
H. Nelmes, 547 Howe Street, Vancouver. The country surrounding the claims is one of low
relief and open, rounded, grassy summits.
Gold,  2.67 oz.  per ton;
Gold, 2.72 oz. per ton;
Gold, 2.73 oz. per ton;
Gold,  2.46 oz.  per ton;
silver,
silver,
Silver,
silver,
silver, SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS   (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 25
Up to the present development has been done on three mineralized veins or fractures in the
Nicola series of highly altered, dense, green-coloured volcanic rocks. On the surface these veins
strike about westerly, dip northerly, vary from 6 inches to 4% feet in width, and form a " Z "
shape widening at the intersections. Mineralization consists of pyrite, galena, and freibergite
in a gangue of quartz.
Surface work consists of numerous open-cuts and trenches along the vein system for a
distance of, roughly, 250 feet. Underground development consists of a 90-foot shaft on the
main No. 1 south vein, with a crosscut 22 feet long which intersects No. 2 vein. Since examination the management reports underground work as follows: " Drifting on No: 2, 180 feet south
and 200 feet north of crosscut from shaft. No. 3 vein north joins No. 2 120 feet north-west of
shaft crosscut. No. 3 vein has been drifted on south-east for 100 feet. A 5-foot crosscnt has
been driven from No. 2 to No. 1 at intersection of No. 3, also a drift south-east on No. 1 towards
the shaft. Vein-widths vary from a fracture to 8% feet, with an indicated average in excess
of 20 inches. No. 3 vein differs from the others, being composed of a blue quartz containing
freibergite as the principal metalliferous mineral. Selected ore from this vein carried comparatively high values in gold and silver. Preparations are being made to sink No. 1 shaft
to 300 feet."
A sample across 4% feet of quartz in a surface cut 75 feet southerly from the shaft assayed:
Gold, 0.20 oz. per ton ; silver, 16 oz. per ton. Some galena was present in this sample. Another
sample of picked ore from a surface cut on No. 2 vein assayed: Gold, 0.04 oz. per ton; silver,
2.3 oz. per ton;   lead, 1 per cent.
Mine equipment is as follows: Gardner-Denver drill-sharpener, oil-furnace, steam-boiler,
and 20-horse-power hoist. Power includes 100-horse-power steam-boiler, 12 by 12 Ingersoll-Rand
compressor ; 90-k.v.a. 2,300-volt generator with 11 by 12 Robb-Armstrong steam-engine ; auxiliary
electric-lighting plant of 2.5 kilowatts. Entire plant arranged for Pelton wheel driven by 3,000-
foot hydro line during high-water season.    Wood is used for fuel.
The mill flow-sheet is as follows: Jaw-crusher, cone-crusher, mill-bin, ball-mill, drag-
classifier, 4-cell Denver sub-A flotation unit, settling-tank, and steam-drier. A 20-horse-power
motor drives the crushing unit, a 40-horse-power motor the ball-mill, and a 20-horse-power motor
the flotation unit.    Mlil capacity is estimated at 35 tons.
(See Annual Reports, 1918, 1919, 1922, 1927 to 1931, and Geological Survey
Mary Reynolds   Report, 1894, by G. M. Dawson.)    This company, with headquarters at 919
Mining Co.       Stock Exchange Building, Vancouver, and a capitalization of 1,500,000 shares
of no par value, took over the Mary Reynolds, Gold Cap, and Robert Dunsmuir
Crow-n-granted claims, and the Troy No. 1 to Troy No. 10, inclusive, Victor, Violet, Hall, Hall
No. 1, Hall No. 2, Hall Fraction, and Troy Fraction, situated about 2 miles by road east of the
Kamloops-Merritt highway, at an elevation of about 3,500 feet.
The topography is similar to that surrounding the Jennie Long, only slightly more rugged
and more heavily timbered. In the geological report for 1894 G. M. Dawson states in part:
" The country-rock of the region is almost uniformly a dark-green or grey-green diabase
porphyry, in which large uralite crystals are often conspicuous. There are, however, occasional
bands consisting of diabase tuff, well bedded, with others of a fine grey feldspathic rock, also
well bedded, and possibly a few layers of fine amphibolite.    .    .    .
" The vein-matter generally consists of white quartz, containing iron pyrites, copper pyrites,
galena, blende, and tetrahedrite, with a varying but on the whole very satisfactory content of
silver and gold."
Two shear-zones varying from 2 to 6 feet wide, striking in a northerly direction about 100
feet apart, converging to the north and dipping from perpendicular to 85 degrees west, have
been traced for 900 feet.
Most of the workings are in an unfit state for examination, but numerous open-cuts, shafts,
and adits have been driven on the shears. Several diamond-drill holes were bored to the west,
some of which indicated the southerly continuity of the mineral-zone. Comparatively new
work consists of a crosscut 87 feet long driven on the lower drill-hole west, which, when finished,
will give 187 feet of backs under the outcrop. Some ore is said to have been shipped from the
property in former years. D 26 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
KAMLOOPS MINING DIVISION.
(See Annual Reports, 1917, 1921 to 1927, 1930, and 1933; also Geological
Windpass Gold Survey Summary Report, 1921, Part A.) Tihs company's holdings, situated
Mining Co., Ltd. about 10 miles from Chu Chua, on the Canadian National Railway, consist
of the Windpass No. 1, No. 2, and No. 3, the Gott, Erin, North Dunn, Donegal,
Jupiter, Elise, Sweet Home, and other claims. Development done during the year is as follows:
On the Windpass No. 1 the Telluride shaft (see map) was sunk from the third to the fifth level
in order to find ore indicated in a diamond-drill hole. No ore was found on the fifth level.
No. 3 level was advanced 275 feet to the west on the foot-wall vein and an ore-shoot 70 feet
long by 4 feet wide was developed. On the 500-foot level in the Davis winze a 75-foot crosscut
was driven in the foot-wall which developed an ore-shoot 35 feet long by 4 feet wide, still
continuing and assaying well in gold. This ore constitutes two very high-grade frozen stringers
which had impregnated the gangue rock for a distance of 2 feet on each side. The ore had been
step-faulted down in the foot-wall of the Davis winze between the fourth and fifth levels, and
the winze and fifth level below this horizon were driven in the hanging-wall. On the compressor
vein on the Windpass No. 3 nine open-cuts and a 20-foot shaft have developed similar fractures,
containing some values, as those found on the Windpass No. 1.
On the Sweet Home, 3,000 feet south of the Windpass No. 1 (elevation 5,433 feet), a crosscut
(elevation 4,966 feet) about 350 feet long was driven under the old 120-foot shaft, and the vein
drifted on about 350 feet, giving a depth on the dip of 160 feet. An ore-body, 100 feet long and
from 3 to 5 feet wide, is indicated containing good values in gold. A raise is being put up on
ore east of the old shaft. Preparations are being made to sink the old shaft from the adit-level,
with the hoist installed underground. Evidence obtained suggests that good ore has been
concentrated where the vein steepens, due to movement along the dip. This vein occurs in a
fissure with free walls in diorite. Where it passes into a 60-foot cherty dyke to the west the
widths become narrower and the ore becomes lower in grade. Greenstone occurs on the other
side of the dyke.
The 50-ton mill has been improved by closing in the jaws of the crusher and relieving the
duty of the ball-mill. The flow-sheet is as follows: 15 by 10 Blake crusher, grizzly, 100-ton
crushed-ore bin, 6-foot ball-mill, 4-foot ball-mill, classifier, four flotation units, Dorr thickener,
and Oliver filter. Tails over two Wilfley tables. Sixty tons of concentrates are being shipped
to Tacoma a month. New construction consists of a log cook-house and dining-room at the
mine, also new log stable. Electric-light and telephone wires have been connected with the mine.
Allan J. Smith is manager and P. W. Racey is consulting engineer.
North Thompson River Section (General).
A considerable amount of exploration-work has been done on the following groups of claims
on both sides of the river: The Bendor group, consisting of nine claims on Dixon creek, 38 miles
north of Kamloops, owned by R. M. Reid, R. G. Davis, G. Nelson, et al., of Kamloops. The area
is described in the Geological Survey Summary Report, 1921, Part A. Numerous quartz
veins from 2 inches to 2 feet wide occur, striking generally east and west and conforming to
the bedding of the schists in which they occur. Mineralization observed is pyrite, chalcopyrite,
galena, and tetrahedrite. Some free gold was seen in hand specimens. A quantity of placer
gold was recovered from Dixon creek below the workings. The Tyee group was also staked
around the Bendor and a syndicate is reported to have been formed to prospect the area.
Pyrite, galena, and sphalerite are found in quartz veins conforming to the strike and dip of
the schists on the Empire and Bluebird, owned by R. M. Ballantyne and associates, of Kamloops,
situated 1 mile north of Clearwater Station on the Canadian National Railway. The Polestar
group and Francis No. 1, owned by George Mackey, are situated on Jamieson creek, which flows
into the North Thompson river from the west. The owners were absent and only those workings
along the creek were examined. Two or more quartz veins from 2 inches to 3 feet wide occur,
conforming to the strike and dip of the schists and argillites, which have been exposed by the
creek. It is understood that wider and better-grade mineralization is found in veins elsewhere
on this property, which is mentioned in the Annual Report for 1913.
The Allies group, on Tranquille creek, mentioned in the Annual Reports for 1924, 1931,
and 1933, was further explored by G. B. Sterrett and associates, of Kamloops, in a westerly SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4).
D 27
o
+J
U D 28 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
direction uphill without finding, up to the present, a continuance of the high-grade gold-ore
float discovered near the creek.
The Goldfleld group, owned by Batchelor & Sons, of Kamloops, and reported on in the Annual
Report for 1932, lies about 12 miles north-east of Kamloops, near the South Thompson river,
where quartz veins containing gold in pyrite have been developed in the volcanic breccias.
Adams Plateau Section.
(See Annual Reports, 1930 to 1932.)    The King Tut and other groups  of
King Tut,        claims were fully reported upon in 1930.    Since then exploration-work has
Speedwell, and   continued along the strike of the different mineralized, more or less' parallel,
Donnamore.     bands of sediments which outcrop over the area to the north and north-east
in  the vicinity  of  Spillman  creek.    On  the  Donnamore  group,   owned   by
F. McLeod Estate, Salmon Arm, which lies farthest north and occupies the section crossed by
the creek, the continuance of the mineral-zones have been discovered and open-cut for 500 feet
at an elevation of approximately 2,000 feet lower and about 1 mile distant from the King Tut
outcrops.    The replacement-zones vary from 1 to 5 feet in width and contain galena, pyrite,
and sphalerite in a quartz gangue.    The continuation of these mineral-zones are found extending
beyond the Donnamore group and uphill for several thousand feet to the north, but no work
has been done.    Samples taken assay as follows:   No. 1, 8 inches galena mineralization from
lowest cut on Donnamore:   Gold, 0.04 oz. per ton;   silver, 23 oz. per ton;   lead, 27 per cent.;
zinc, 12 per cent.    No. 2, 2 feet of pyritized quartz on foot-wall of No. 1:   Gold, trace;   silver,
trace.   No. 3, 5-foot sample across altered limestone in second cut 100 feet uphill:  Gold, trace;
silver, trace.    Some lead and zinc were noticed in Nos. 2 and 3 samples, but these metals were
not analysed.    No. 4, 3-foot sample 500 feet up from lower cut:   Gold, trace;   silver, 10 oz.
per ton;  lead, 15 per cent.;  zinc, 8 per cent.   No. 5, 10 inches of galena mineralization 200 feet
up from lowest cut:   Gold, trace;  silver, 4.4 oz. per ton;  lead, 6 per cent.;   zinc, 9 per cent.
The future of the Donnamore and King Tut groups, if combined, appears to lie in the
possibility of being able to mine a large tonnage over great vein-lengths which may offset the
comparatively narrow widths found up to the present. Mining facilities are excellent and there
is plenty of water in Spillman creek for all purposes.
On the Speedwell group, owned by John Thornton and associates, of Salmon Arm, many
open-cuts, shafts, and short adits have uncovered similar mineralization in similar rocks. On the
Joyce claim, where the latest work has been done near the intrusion of an andesite dyke, alternating mineralized beds, the widest of which is 8 inches, occur across about 20 feet. Only
surface work has been done at present, so that it is too soon to estimate the value of the
discovery. This find is comparatively close to the diorite intrusion mentioned in the 1930 Report.
(See Annual Reports under Lincoln and Wallace for 1927 and 1928.)    This
Wallace. group, consisting of four claims—the Donald, Dal, Wal, and Lucky Flame—
situated about 9 miles from the south end of Adams lake, 1.750 feet higher and
1% miles east, is owned by Don Dalgleish and John Wallace, of Kamloops. Under the name of
Lincoln, much development w-as done formerly by W. McAdam, of Vancouver, but a recent forest
fire destroyed the camp and mine structures. Supplies can be transported by motor-launch and
a scow on Adams lake, from whence the property is reached by a 4-foot trail on a good grade.
Mineralization, consisting of pyrite, galena, sphalerite, and chalcopyrite in a quartz-sericite
gangue, occurs in a highly brecciated (shear) zone striking in a northerly and southerly direction, dip 65 degrees east, varying from a few inches to 10 feet in width in the centre and 200 feet
long in a highly schistose greenstone, probably andesite.
Surface work done includes open-cutting the widest and central part and stripping to the
north and south, where the mineralized zone tapers to a few inches. A 246-foot crosscut was
driven about 125 feet below. The shear was intersected at 206 feet and drifts driven north
135 feet, with a 70-foot winze from it, and south 6 feet.
The lead in the drifts varies from a few inches to 4 feet in width and has free walls.
The winze was sunk at a point 70 feet north of the crosscut and continued in mineralization for
50 feet, where it cut steeply into the foot-wall.
A sample across 2 feet on the north side 50 feet down the winze assayed : Gold, trace:
silver, 2.1 oz. per ton ;   lead, 0.4 per cent.    A general sample of mineralization from the dump SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 29
of the upper cut assayed :  Gold, trace ;  silver, 14.4 oz. per ton.    It is understood that a shipment
has been made from the open-cut and that individual samples assayed well in silver.
Scotch Creek Section  (General).
Scotch creek flows from the north into Shuswap lake near the west end. In the adjoining
territory the following claims have been explored: Mosquito King, owned by P. H. Bischoff,
of Celista, and situated on the east slope of Adams plateau (see Annual Reports, 1928, 1930,
and 1931). Mineralization consists of silver-bearing galena, pyrite, and sphalerite in deposits
similar to those found on Adams plateau. Pinewell Mining Company, 744 Hastings Street West,
Vancouver, is exploring some quartz veins in the schistose rocks near the granite-contact on
the east side of Scotch creek, about 3% miles north by trail from Sturdy's ranch. The Shuswap
group, owned by W. E. Brett, of Salmon Arm, is situated about 1 mile south of Sturdy's ranch,
and several open-cuts and two adits have been driven on a 6-foot quartz vein containing segregations of galena and pyrite in the schistose rocks. On the Onyx claims, owned by C. L.
Johnson, Magna Bay, and situated about 4 miles up Onyx creek from Shuswap lake, some very
high-grade argentiferous galena has been found associated with quartz in the sedimentary rocks.
Placer-mining.
Many individuals and small groups of men have been obtaining a living by " sniping " along
the numerous streams that flow into the North Thompson river from both sides, especially on
Jamieson, Dixon, Louis, Noble, Heffley, as well as Scotch creek, which flows into Shuswap lake.
Most of this gold has either been resorted from, or is in, old Tertiary (?) gravels, remnants of
which exist in different parts of the area adjoining the North Thompson and Scotch creek.
The nuggets found are generally coarse but well rounded. New stakings on a large scale have
taken place near Louis creek on the benches lying east of the North Thompson river.
On Scotch creek Chas. Johnson and L. Carson took 60 oz. gold from the bed-rock of an old
high channel 175 feet above and on the east side of the present creek. Other miners have also
been successful in this area about 3 miles above Sturdy's ranch on each side of the creek.
History relates that Chinese took large quantities of gold from this section. The present creek,
apparently, has not been worked to any great extent. A reconcentration of the gold from the
old high channels might be found in Scotch creek, providing some means of economically
by-passing the water could be constructed. At the mouth of the creek much fine gold occurs
in the gravels.
Non-metallics.
This syndicate, with headquarters at Cherry creek, about 10 miles west of
The B.C. Sodium Kamloops, has been operating a sodium-carbonate plant on a small lake about
Syndicate.        2 miles north-west of the Kamloops-Ashcroft highway.    During the year 250
tons of crystal salts was shipped to Vancouver and a further 200 tons is on
hand ready for shipment. Experimental work on this product and also on a sodium-sulphate
deposit in an adjoining lake was continued, and considerable interest has been attracted to the
possibilities of erecting a soda-ash and sulphate plant at this point. Equipment is being enlarged
and an increase in production is expected next year.
Gypsum, Lime and Alabastine, Canada, Ltd.-—(See Annual Reports, 1923, 1930, and 1932.)
This company operated their plant at Falkland on a reduced basis throughout the year. The
product is shipped to Port Mann, where it is manufactured into plaster of Paris, plaster-boarding,
wall-board, gypsum wall-blocks, etc.
VERNON MINING DIVISION.
(See Annual Reports, 1929, 1930 to 1933, and under White Elephant for 1921
Pre Cambrian    to 1924, 1927 to 1929, and 1931 to 1933.)    This company, with headquarters
Gold Mines, Ltd. in  Smith Tower,  Seattle,  Wash., and Ewings Landing, B.C., for the mine,
continued operations as follows:—Period from January 1st to November 1st:
The inclined shaft was sunk 90 feet to obtain a vertical depth of 200 feet, and a raise commenced
from this level is up about 90 feet. Crosscuts and drifts were driven from the 60-foot level
totalling 90 feet, with a 60-foot raise to the " glory-hole." Drifts and crosscuts on the 200-foot
level total 146 feet.   A stope-raise from the 100-foot level is up 90 feet.
■ D 30 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
New construction consists of a 106-horse-power Diesel engine; New Denver sub-A flotation
unit;, an additional concentrate settling and drying building for winter work; a new 2-story
bunk-house to accommodate forty men.   Mill and other buildings insulated for winter work.
Milling operations produced as follows: Tons milled, 2,740; value per ton, $15.95 (heads) ;
recovery per ton, $14.15; percentage recovery for season, 88.7 per cent.; recovery since new
installation, 94.5 per cent.;   gross value of production, $38,771.
A continuous shoot of ore from 15 to 25 feet wide was found between the 60-foot level and
the bottom of the " glory-hole," where a considerable amount of tonnage was broken recently.
Apparently the quartz " plug," which measures about 40 feet in diameter on the surface, has
increased in size to the 100-foot level. At the 150-foot level the diameter is considerably
reduced. At the 200-foot level it has increased to four times the cross-sectional area of the
150-foot level. Mineralization, consisting of pyrite, pyrrhotite, and bismuth telluride, occurs
in certain cross-fracture zones within the quartz. As most of the quartz in the " plug" is
apparently fractured in the same way and does not carry values throughout, the depositional
theory still remains to be proven. The shaft will probably be sunk to the 300-foot level or
farther, and crosscuts driven to the granite walls to delimit the size and value of the body at
that depth.
(See Annual Reports, 1899, 1921, and 1932; also Geological Survey Summary
Falcon. Report,  1931,  Part A.)    This  claim,  situated about 2  miles  north-west of
Vernon and owned by Frank Mitchell, 2064 Penzance Road, Victoria, was
located about 1899 on the south slope of the open, rounded, glaciated hills which encompass the
area.    A narrow branch road from the Vernon-Kamloops highway leads to the property.
Since the geology described by C. E. Cairns, Geological Survey of Canada Summary Report,
1931, Part A, has a bearing upon many claims in this area, part of his findings are appended:—
" The members of this group occupy wide areas along, and to the west of, Okanagan valley.
They comprise a variety of both sedimentary and volcanic formations and in addition are
intruded by many dyke-like and less regular bodies of granite and allied rocks. Though for
the most part not as severely altered as corresponding members of Group I., they have, nevertheless, experienced great changes; are notably faulted and deformed, and, in places, show
transition into rocks similar to those included with Group I. The members of Group II. have
a general westerly to north-westerly trend. South of Vernon and Equesis (6-Mile) creek the
group includes a conspicuous amount of light to dark grey, massive limestone in beds varying
from a few feet to several hundred feet thick. In places these limestone-beds carry abundant
fossils of Carboniferous age. The associated rocks include greenish volcanic tuffs and breccias;
green, schistose rocks of less certain origin ; and considerable black, cherty argillite, and dark-
grey to black, rusty-weathering, slaty argillites. From Equesis creek north-easterly to near the
southern end of Otter lake the formations include a great abundance of fairly massive, greyish-
green, commonly porphyritic, volcanic rocks—chiefly tuffs and breccias—associated with a
variety of sediments which in greater part possess a somewhat ashy or tuffaceous appearance,
as though built up in large part of materials ejected from volcanoes and subsequently reassorted
by water action. These sedimentary rocks vary from fine-grained, slaty, and limy sediments
to coarse, water-lain tuffs and breccias. To a lesser degree some more typical sediments,
including quartzites, slate, and true conglomerates, were observed. The coarser fragmental
members, including volcanic breccias, water-lain breccias, and conglomerates, carry occasional
fragments of limestone, some of which were observed to be fossiliferous and to resemble fragments from the limestone-beds previously referred to. The inference is that Group II. includes
formations of post-Carboniferous, probably early Mesozoic, age.
" From the vicinity of Otter lake northward, the members of Group II. are chiefly dark-grey
to black, slaty rocks commonly carrying small, lustrous, dark flakes of ottrelite.* Such rocks
'form the greater part of the hill west of Armstrong and continue in this general direction
across Salmon River valley. These slaty, argillaceous rocks appear to underlie the other
formations of Group II. and for this reason may be presumed to be relatively older. In
Dawson's Shuswap sheet they are mapped separately as forming a part of his ' Niskonlith
series,' which  was thought  to be of Cambrian age.    No fossil  evidence has,  however, been
* A green to grey, hard, brittle, micaceous silicate resembling chloritoid of doubtful composition and
uncertain crystallization. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS  (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 31
discovered to substantiate this age assignation, and, so far as structural relations are concerned,
it appears that the members of this belt are conformable with the overlying formations of
Group II. and, consequently, may represent a considerably later period in the Palaeozoic.
" The several members comprising Group II. contain most of the metalliferous lode deposits
in northern Okanagan valley and vicinity. The majority of these take the form of quartz veins
carrying gold and an irregular, generally sparse, dissemination of sulphide minerals. In
addition, a couple of base-metal, mixed sulphide deposits have received considerable attention.
In general, slaty formations of the group are least favourable either for the occurrence or
persistence of mineral deposits.
" The quartz veins on the various properties bear, on the whole, a close resemblance to each
other. The quartz is mostly a massive, milky-white, semi-vitreous type carrying little trace of
mineralization. Individual veins may, however, contain either a sparse or a liberal impregnation
of sulphides. In places the quartz may be quite vuggy, in part as a result of the leaching-out
of sulphide materials and in part owing to incomplete filling of the vein-fissures by the quartz.
On the whole, the smaller veins are better mineralized than the larger, though in places, as on
the Keystone group, heavy sulphide mineralization was noted across a vein several feet wide.
Veins vary in width from a few inches to 100 feet, but rarely exceed 10 feet. Their length is
seldom in proportion to their widths, partly owing to faulting, which has been particularly
severe. As a consequence vein outcrops can rarely be traced for more than a hundred yards
or so, because they either pinch out or are faulted. In general, the veins are sharply defined
against the enclosing formations, and though they may pinch and swell there is comparatively
little evidence of silicification of, or gradation into, the wall-rocks. The latter may, however,
show some alteration and commonly carry disseminated sulphides, chiefly pyrite cubes, for some
distance away from the veins. Many veins strike north to north-east, but the majority strike
west to north-west and in this respect coincide more or less closely with the structural trend of
the members of Group II. with which they chiefly occur. So far as could be determined, all the
quartz veins were introduced at about the same time, though some veins or bodies of quartz
appear to have formed under higher-temperature conditions than others, notably, for example,
the quartz at the White Elephant mine. On the Jumbo claim a group of north-south stringers
are intersected by an east-west vein. At other places veins following different directions unite
to form single veins. At no place did the character of the quartz or its mineralization appear
to bear any relation to the trend of the veins."
For the first time in many years the 70-foot inclined shaft on the Falcon was unwatered
and examined. The vein, with free walls exposed down the shaft, dips 41 degrees westerly and
varies from 2 to 20 inches wide, with numerous fractures branching from it. Chiefly on the
foot-wall the country-rocks have been highly silicified and impregnated with pyrite and lesser
amounts of arsenopyrite for a maximum width of 2 feet. In the bottom of the shaft the vein,
9 inches wide, was almost barren of mineralization. About 20 feet down from the collar 14
inches of quartz on the north side contained specks and isolated segregations of pyrite. At the
collar a veinlet % inch wide on the hanging-wall contained dense pyrite-chalcopyrite mineralization. It seems probable that this vein was not developed in the shaft and still lies in the wall.
Samples of the shaft-vein are as follows: No. 1, 10 inches quartz on south side of shaft 25 feet
from bottom: Gold, a trace; silver, a trace. No. 2, 6 inches hanging-wall vein, collar of shaft
containing pyrite: Gold, 0.04 oz. per ton ; silver, a trace per ton. No. 3, bottom of incline shaft,
9 inches of quartz on south side : Gold, a trace ; silver, a trace. No. 4, 14 inches of quartz from
north wall in shaft 25 feet up from bottom containing pyrite and streak on hanging-wall: Gold,
nil; silver, nil. No. 5, 2 feet of highly siliceous pyritized rock on foot-wall: Gold, nil; silver,
nil. No. 6, pyritized band 2 feet between veins at collar of shaft: Gold, nil; silver, nil. No. 7,
sample of 10-inch quartz, bottom of shaft on north side: Gold, nil; silver, nil. No. 8, 20 inches
of quartz on north side of shaft 35 feet upl from bottom :  Gold, trace;   silver, trace.
Some stripping was also done on what appears to be a 2-foot branch vein 50 feet higher
and 150 feet westerly from the shaft. A sample across 16 inches of this vein assayed: Gold,
0.04 oz. per ton; silver, a trace per ton. A few hundred feet farther west a similar vein was
uncovered in former years. A picked sample of oxidized pyrite and arsenopyrite taken from the
collar of the shaft in 1921 assayed: Gold, 0.82 oz. per ton; silver, 0.70 oz. per ton. Evidently
the values are erratic. D 32     • REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
Insufficient work has been done on this claim to prove its value, and the following exploration is suggested: The north-west branch vein should be traced downhill to its possible intersection with the shaft-vein, and if found a working should be driven at this point where more
consistent vein-widths and mineralization might occur.
These groups of thirty-two claims, owned by a Summerland syndicate headed
Beverley, Peggy, by Geo. Gartrell, are located on the Okanagan Indian Reserve No. 1, about
Marie, and Edith. 1% miles south-west of Goose lake and about 7 miles by road from Vernon,
on an open rolling grass-covered country between elevations of 1,300 and
2,660 feet. The quartz veins, which form a huge network in this section, differ to a great extent
from those found elsewhere, inasmuch that the continuity and mineralization of the veins appear
to be' much more persistent. The country-rocks, where seen, are Mesozoic sediments and
volcanics occasionally intruded by tongues of granite. The veins strike anywhere from north-
south to east-west, dip from 54 degrees to perpendicular, and generally conform to the schistosity
of the enclosing rocks.
Exploration consists of trenching, open-cutting, and sinking on the different mineral-outcrops
in an endeavour to locate ore-shoots upon which deeper development may be done. The veins
vary from 10 inches to 30 feet in width between free walls and are generally mineralized with
pyrite and galena and occasionally with chalcopyrite and tetrahedrite. High silver values are
obtained from the latter. Many samples were taken across vein-widths varying between 10
inches and 6 feet, which assayed from a trace in gold and silver to: Gold, 0.80 oz. per ton :
silver, 32 oz. per ton; lead, 31 per cent. The latter gold and silver values were obtained from
across 4 feet of quartz in a shallow shaft on the Beverley No. 2 claim. Vein continuity and
widths have been proven for over 800 feet in several instances, and in spite of many low value
assays further exploration appears to be warranted.
(See Annual Reports, 1897 and 1899, and Geological Survey Summary Report,
Blue Jay.        1921, Part A.)    This claim, owned by A. H. Craven, Ashley, Tiverton, Devonshire, England, and situated about 1% miles north-west of Vernon, close to
the road, has lain idle for many years until recently when the lower crosscut adit was cleaned
out and examined.
A quartz vein with free walls about 4% feet wide, striking north-westerly and dipping
56 degrees north-east, occurs in volcanic breccias. Due to the heavy mantle of soil the northwest extension has not been uncovered. To the south-east for 100 feet the vein has been sheared
and brecciated; beyond this point there are no outcrops. Mineralization observed consists of
pyrite and lesser amounts of galena.
An inclined shaft has been sunk 44 feet. About 100 feet below and to the east a 169-foot
crosscut adit has been driven, and a drift from it to the north-west 35.2 feet long.
In the shaft the quartz vein has definite walls with heavy gouge. In the lower drift the
lead, dipping 51 degrees, is 5 feet wide, containing bands of quartz and country-rock impregnated
with pyrite, with graphitic mud along the slickensided walls. The quartz in the adit varies
from nothing to 10 inches in width, is transparent, and does not resemble that found in the
shaft, so it seems possible that it is not the downward extension of the quartz in the shaft, but
rather later siliceous material introduced along a fault. The intense shearing which is not in
evidence above suggests this. A few feet to the south-west of the shaft-collar, a depression,
possibly the surface expression of a fault, striking north-west and south-east, is easily traceable.
If this is the case and the throw is normal, the downward' extension of the shaft-vein will be
located in the foot-wall of the shaft, and the extension of the crosscut adit to the south-west
should pick it up. The strike of the shaft-vein does not coincide with the strike of the mineralization in the adit.
This  syndicate,  with  headquarters  at  the  Kalamalka  Hotel,  Vernon,  was
Kalamalka       formed by W. V. Somerville to take over the holdings of P. Murphy, A. Brewer,
Mines. and associates, of Vernon.   The property, consisting of the Homestake group
of eight claims, the Jolly Jack group of six claims, the Black Spider group of
six claims, and the Evening Star group of four claims, is located on Brewer creek approximately
10 miles east of Vernon on the south side of the Coldstream valley, about 2 miles by road from
the Vernon-Edgewood highway and the Canadian National Railway. SOUTHERN AND CENTRAL DISTRICTS   (Nos. 3 AND 4). D 33
The claims cover a well-rounded ridge and the east slope on the west side of Brewer creek,
where an excellent growth of timber exists and tunnelling operations can be resorted to.
Elevations vary from 2,000 feet at the mouth of Brewer creek to 3,000 feet uphill.
The rocks in the vicinity are composed chiefly of argillaceous volcanics which have been
intruded by diorite. Along the contacts and within the diorite numerous parallel shear-zones
filled with quartz and country-rock have been uncovered within an area about 1,000 feet long
and 100 feet wide.    Mineralization consists of pyrite, galena, and free gold.
Surface work consists of twelve open-cuts and trenches spaced at various intervals where
the rock-outcrops showed vein-matter. Underground an old 100-foot crosscut adit and 40-foot
drift on an 8-foot quartz vein were driven many years ago. A new crosscut adit was driven for
about 50 feet and a winze 35 feet deep sunk from it. A new crosscut adit about 300 feet long
will be driven to intersect the shear-zones at depths varying between 77 and 177 feet on the dip.
The major shearing follows a north-east, south-west strike, and dips generally at a steep
angle to the north-west. The old drift from the adit was driven on a strong quartz fissure-vein
with free walls, striking northerly, and if produced will intersect the other shears about 100 feet
north of the face. The new adit will be started about 300 feet north-east and drifts driven both
ways when the mineral-zones are reached. The main shear-zone, about 22 feet wide, on which
most of the work has been done, consists of nearly vertical bands of quartz from 2 to 10 inches
wide, generally free on the walls, With alternating bands of argillaceous and altered diorite
between, accompanied by graphite, pyrite, and manganese oxide. Free gold can be panned from
some of this material. The following samples indicating the grade of mineralization were
taken : No. 1, 3 feet of quartz and diorite from south-west wall of adit 3 feet from face: Gold,
0.01 oz. per ton ; silver, trace. No. 2, high-grade quartz and pyrite from upper adit: Gold,
1.32 oz. per ton; silver, 0.4 oz. per ton. No. 3, general sample of pyrite and quartz from incline
shaft 600 feet south-west of first adit: Gold, trace; silver, trace. No. 4, sample from upper
cut about 3 feet wide above upper adit:  Gold, 0.1 oz. per ton;  silver, 0.7 oz. per ton.
A frame-camp has been built near the creek and machinery installed preparatory to
commencing the new crosscut.
(See Annual Report, 1918, under Torpedo.)    This company, with headquarters
Lakeside Mines, at 837 Hastings Street West, Vancouver, acquired the Klondyke (Lot 1188),
Ltd. Okanagan (Lot 557), Excelsior (Lot 997), Torpedo Fraction (Lot 1189), all
Crown-granted, and the Okanagan No. 1 to No. 8, inclusive, Torpedo No. 1,
Torpedo No. 2, and Klondyke No. 1 to No. 5, inclusive, from Wm. Armstrong and associates, of
Penticton. The claims are situated about 1 mile north-east of Penticton on the banks of
Okanagan lake. A rough trail half a mile long leads to the property from the Penticton-
Naramata road, or along the lake-shore when the water is low. The ground on which the
claims are located, in the region of the lake, consists of benches and deeply cut ravines and is
occupied by fruit-ranches.
In 1918, 135 tons of mixed gold-silver-lead-zinc-copper ore was shipped to the smelter by the
Penticton Development Company, from which values averaging 0.35 oz. gold per ton, 2 oz.
silver per ton, and 0.60 per cent, copper are reported to have been recovered. The claims were
worked many years before this, but no record as to the names of claims, owners, etc., has been
found.
On the lake-shore bluffs, about 75 feet high, in the vicinity of the workings on the Torpedo
Fraction, an outcrop of granite has been sheared, fissured, and filled with quartz in an easterly
and westerly direction, with a dip between 70 degrees and 80 degrees north. At a point about
90 feet to the east from the portal of the adit the vein has been displaced by a north-south, nearly
perpendicular fault. Beyond this, the rock formation is severely crushed, sheared, and broken.
Mineralization consisting of pyrite, chalcopyrite, galena, and sphalerite in a gangue of quartz
and sheared granite occurs between two definite walls.
No work, if done, was seen on the surface, which is heavily covered for about a mile east
by glacial silt and clay. Underground an adit has been driven from the lake-shore for 90 feet
on the shear-zone, extending beyond to the east about 75 feet, and two drifts of unknown length
on the fault to the north and south. From near the mouth of the adit a 100-foot inclined shaft
has been sunk and levels and crosscuts driven easterly and westerly on the shear. In the west
drifts and crosscuts, which extend over 100 feet, no ore was found. To the east the drift follows
the east-west shear-zone and develops about 60 feet of mineralization varying from a stringer D 34 REPORT OF THE MINISTER OF MINES, 1934.
to 1 foot in width. Beyond this point the vein pinches and passes into the crushed faulted zone
found above.
The mineralization appears to be generally narrow, but across the shear-zone, measuring
about 6 feet in the widest part, with free walls, there are many fractures filled with quartz, etc.,
which occasionally unite and, at depth, may become mineralized throughout. Some stoping
has been done for a few feet above the No. 1 and No. 2 (shaft) levels.
The new company cleaned out the workings and drove the upper adit east beyond the fault.
General.
Continued exploration by small crews of men and individuals was carried out on the
following groups of claims: In the vicinity of Okanagan lake, the Blue Jay, Black Hawk,
Skookum, Blue Hawk, Kelly, Derby and Gipsy, Jumbo, Batehelor, Ideal, Devonshire, Blue Bell
No. 2, and the St. Paul (see Annual Reports, 1923, 1928, 1930 to 1933), situated on Monashee
mountain and owned by O. Van Etter, M.D., and associates, of New Westminster.
Placer-mining (General).
Development of the Woods Lake old-channel placer-ground, located about 800 feet above
and 1 mile east of the lake, was continued by Hall and Eley, and also by a syndicate of
Kelow-na men who drove a 100-foot drift on the Stuart lease about a mile north of Hall and
Eley's ground (see Annual Report, 1933). A considerable amount of coarse placer gold has been
found in the former workings. On Mission, Cherry, Siwash, Trout, and Deep creeks, " snipers "
continue to earn a living.
The Woods Lake placers appear to offer possibilities to capital. -
t ' 4%
* • .- TV,- ,4   „'      •     ; '
?W
" ,  Ur        : 

Cite

Citation Scheme:

        

Citations by CSL (citeproc-js)

Usage Statistics

Share

Embed

Customize your widget with the following options, then copy and paste the code below into the HTML of your page to embed this item in your website.
                        
                            <div id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidgetDisplay">
                            <script id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidget"
                            src="{[{embed.src}]}"
                            data-item="{[{embed.item}]}"
                            data-collection="{[{embed.collection}]}"
                            data-metadata="{[{embed.showMetadata}]}"
                            data-width="{[{embed.width}]}"
                            async >
                            </script>
                            </div>
                        
                    
IIIF logo Our image viewer uses the IIIF 2.0 standard. To load this item in other compatible viewers, use this url:
http://iiif.library.ubc.ca/presentation/cdm.bcsessional.1-0305848/manifest

Comment

Related Items