BC Sessional Papers

PETITION. British Columbia. Legislative Assembly 1884

Item Metadata


JSON: bcsessional-1.0060411.json
JSON-LD: bcsessional-1.0060411-ld.json
RDF/XML (Pretty): bcsessional-1.0060411-rdf.xml
RDF/JSON: bcsessional-1.0060411-rdf.json
Turtle: bcsessional-1.0060411-turtle.txt
N-Triples: bcsessional-1.0060411-rdf-ntriples.txt
Original Record: bcsessional-1.0060411-source.json
Full Text

Full Text

 47 Vic.
Petition against Settlement Bill—Comox.
To the Honourable the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of
British Columbia.
Gentlemen :
We, the undersigned Electors of the constituency of Comox, in the Province of British
Columbia, beg respectfully to protest against the passage by the Legislative Assembly of the
Province, of the Bill entitled the " Settlement Act," and beg to submit for your consideration
our objections thereto, as follows, viz.:—
1. That the  " Settlement Act" virtually creates a monopoly, inasmuch as it makes no
stipulation that the Dominion Government shall transfer the Railway Reserve to the
Railway Company under provisions that shall secure to the public the right to purchase Agricultural, Timber, and Coal Lands at any fixed price or in any definite
quantity, or that the regulations provided for the purchase of Coal Lands from the
Dominion Government in other parts of the Dominion have not been made to apply
to the Vancouver Island Railway Reserve;
2. That the said Act discourages coal mining by exempting from taxation, until occupied,
all the lands to be transferred to the proposed Railway Company;
3. Your Petitioners would impress upon your consideration the necessity of amending
the Act, so as to provide against the possible creation of a monopoly in the chief
resources of the Province;
And your petitioners, as in duty bound, will ever pray, &c.
J. X. Willemar
William Grieve
J. Jaynes
H. W. Boss
M. Piercy, Jr.
T. Beckensell
John J. B. Miller
W. B. Bobb
B. B. Wilcox
J. H. Halliday
John Grieve
James Bees
James Clarke
B. D. Horan
Thomas Pickard
Hugh Stewart
James Haggard
John Graham
Michael Watt
Thos. H. Piercy
George T Forlan
Alex. McMillan
David Pickles
Andrew Paul
Charles Brown
Peter Berry
John M. Fitzpatrick
J, A. Pritchard
David Williams
Thomas Babson
Chas. Bridges
M. Donohue
George Grieve
Bobert Thomas
W. A. Mathewson
Adam McKelvey
Stafford McKelvey
Edward Boilings
Lorenzo Grant
Alex. Urquhart
John Hardy
Chas. J. Hooper
Matthew Lyttell
Patrick Murphy
William Beech
John Piercy
Henry Grieve
Daniel Stewart
B. T. Cliffe
K. T. Carwithen
J. B. Berkeley
A. Milligan
W. E. Harmston
B. L. Mountain
Matthew Piercy
M. O'Brien
Samuel Piercy
Thomas Finley
George Howe
William Lewis
S. F. Crawford
Byron Crawford
Thos. Cairns
Saml. J. Cliffe
William Anderton
Jas. Bobb
Geo. G. McDonald
B. H. Pidcock
H. E. Huxham
D. Sullivan
J. W. McKenzie
John Howe
Geo. F. Drabble, J.P.
W. H. Piercy
Joseph Fitzgerald
Joseph McPhee
Bobert T. Swan
David Murray
Thomas Kinkade
Walter McFarlan
Charles McFarlan
James W. McFarlan
Stephen Coburn


Citation Scheme:


Citations by CSL (citeproc-js)

Usage Statistics



Customize your widget with the following options, then copy and paste the code below into the HTML of your page to embed this item in your website.
                            <div id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidgetDisplay">
                            <script id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidget"
                            async >
IIIF logo Our image viewer uses the IIIF 2.0 standard. To load this item in other compatible viewers, use this url:


Related Items