UBC Theses and Dissertations

UBC Theses Logo

UBC Theses and Dissertations

Graduate recitals Yang, Yung-Ching 2004

Your browser doesn't seem to have a PDF viewer, please download the PDF to view this item.

Item Metadata


831-ubc_2004-0331.pdf [ 365.75kB ]
JSON: 831-1.0091499.json
JSON-LD: 831-1.0091499-ld.json
RDF/XML (Pretty): 831-1.0091499-rdf.xml
RDF/JSON: 831-1.0091499-rdf.json
Turtle: 831-1.0091499-turtle.txt
N-Triples: 831-1.0091499-rdf-ntriples.txt
Original Record: 831-1.0091499-source.json
Full Text

Full Text

GRADUATE RECITALS by YUNG-CHING YANG B.F.A., National Taiwan Normal University, 1999 A THESIS SUBMITTED IN PARTIAL FULFILLMENT OF THE REQUIREMENTS FOR THE DEGREE OF MASTER OF MUSIC in THE FACULTY OF GRADUATE STUDIES (School of Music) We accept t h i s thesis as conforming to the required standard. THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA A p r i l 2004 ® Yung-Ching Yang, 2 0 04 Library Authorization In presenting this thesis in partial fulfillment of the requirements for an advanced degree at the University of British Columbia, I agree that the Library shall make it freely available for reference and study. I further agree that permission for extensive copying of this thesis for scholariy purposes may be granted by the head of my department or by his or her representatives. It is understood that copying or publication of this thesis for financial gain shall not be allowed without my written permission. Name of AiKhor (pleaseyrint) Date (dd/mm/yyyy) Title of Thesis: 1 1 / U M £ Year: D Ood^ The University of British Columbia Vancouver, BC Canada Department of i i ABSTRACT The thesis for the Master of Music degree i n Orchestral Instruments consists two f u l l - l e n g t h r e c i t a l s , or the equivalent, with emphasis on solo works, but also including representative chamber works. The two f u l l - l e n g t h r e c i t a l s were performed on November 14, 2003 and A p r i l 27, 2004. TJIE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA SCHOOL OF MUSIC Recital Hall Friday, November 14,2003 7:30 p.m. MASTER'S STUDENT RECITAL* YUNG CHING YANG, TRUMPET with Irene Wong, piano Aria and Scherzo for Trumpet in B flat and Piano Alexander G. Arutiunian (b. 1920) Sonata for Trumpet and Piano Eric Ewazen (b. 1954) - I N T E R M I S S I O N -Trumpet Concerto in E flat Major Franz Joseph Haydn Allegro (1732-1809) Andante Allegro Celebrating Harvest Traditional, ed. by Sun Jun (b. 1931) Cousins (Duet for Cornet and Trombone) Herbert Lincoln Clarke . (1867-1945) James Chilton, trombone In partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Master of Music degree with a major in Trumpet. PROGRAM NOTES Aria and Scherzo for Trumpet in B flat and Piano by Alexander Grigoriyevich Arutiunian Arutiunian is an Armenian composer and pianist. He was born in Erevan, Armenia, on September 23,1920 and graduated from the Erevan Conservatory in 1941. He studied composition with Litinsky in Moscow at the House of Armenian Culture (1946-8), and then returned to Armenia as Music Director of the Royal Philharmonic Society. In 1954 he was appointed Music Director of Armenian Philharmonic Orchestra. He was given a "People's Artist of the USSR" award in 1970. The melodic and rhythmic characteristics of Armenian folk music are a strong influence in Arutiunian's work. As a composer, he expresses his nationality by incorporating the flavour of ashug (folk minstrel) improvisations. Aria and Scherzo was written for the renowned trumpet player Timofei Dokschitzer. Aria is an Adagio with lyrical and emotional intensity. Scherzo is an Allegretto with 5/8 meter, strong rhythmic impulse and energy. Sonata for Trumpet and Piano by Eric Ewazen Eric Ewazen, born in 1954 in Cleveland, Ohio, studied under Samuel Adler, Milton Babbitt, Warren Benson, Gunther Schuller and Joseph Schwantner at the Eastman School of Music (BM 1976), Tanglewood and the Juilliard School (MM 1978, D M A 1980), where he has been a member of the faculty since 1980. Ewazen's Sonata for Trumpet and Piano is a dynamic, lyrical sonata. It was commissioned by the International Trumpet Guild and premiered by Chris Gekker. The work is a celebration of the wide variety of colours and expressions inherent in the rich sonority of the trumpet. It is also a journey for the trumpet soloist and the pianist to explore a wide variety of melodies and themes. The first movement begins softly with an understated melody and gentle chords. But this quickly shifts into an allegro with long lyrical lines in the trumpet and a Schubert-like piano accompaniment, with rumbling arpeggiated figures. The movement has a traditional exposition with contrasting themes, an extended development which builds with intensity, and a recapitulation with that opening peaceful melody. The second movement is a gentle, lilting folksong, with a Scottish Snap (short-long) in the main theme, and a sound world based on resonant open intervals. A contrasting intense middle section leads to the prayerful heart of the movement. The entire movement is indeed a soulful chorale. The final movement is agitated, complex, virtuosic, and quite a contrast from the previous movements. The overall feeling is non-stop energy. Trumpet Concerto in E flat major by Franz Joseph Haydn Apart from a few string quartets, the Trumpet Concerto was the last major instrumental work Haydn wrote. He was 63 when he first tried writing a concerto for trumpet and orchestra. The result, his last concerto, turned out to be the best one he ever wrote, and the most popular trumpet concerto ever. H e wrote it as a favour for a friend, Anton Weidinger, a Viennese trumpeter wi th the Vienna court orchestra and also an instrument maker. In the year of 1796, Weidinger perfected a key system that released the trumpet from being restricted to the key in which it was built. Weidinger had designed a new type of trumpet that had keys something like the keys of a modern saxophone, and he wanted to test out its ability to play chromatic notes. Haydn was greatly impressed by its possibilities and took advantage of the new invention by writ ing a number of chromatic passages and making considerable technical demands on the virtuosity of the performer wi th sixteenth-note runs and arpeggios. Celebrating Harvest, edited by Sun Jun Sun Jun was born in Yianjin, North China on September 7,1931. He has been a trumpet professor at Shenyang Conservatory in the People's Republic of China since 1965. H e has written hundreds of trumpet etudes, solo pieces, duets and trios. He is currently working with the Children Palace, various middle schools, and the army with their efforts to cultivate trumpeters and set up brass bands. Celebrating Harvest is a Chinese folk tune, expressing the joy, happiness and gratitude of harvests. It shows the sweet and sorrowful moods in the harvest. Cousins (Duet for Cornet and Trombone) by Herbert Lincoln Clarke Clarke was born in Woburn, Massachusetf s on September 12,1867. He was acknowledged to be the greatest cornetist of his time and was certainly the most celebrated. Not only was he a virtuoso cornet player, but "an excellent composer, an accomplished violinist, a prolific and highly talented arranger for band, and a most distinguished band conductor" [Johnston]. As well , he wrote several study books for the cornet which are still used today. The piece was written to show off Clarke himself on the cornet and Leo Zimmerman on trombone. 


Citation Scheme:


Citations by CSL (citeproc-js)

Usage Statistics



Customize your widget with the following options, then copy and paste the code below into the HTML of your page to embed this item in your website.
                            <div id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidgetDisplay">
                            <script id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidget"
                            async >
IIIF logo Our image viewer uses the IIIF 2.0 standard. To load this item in other compatible viewers, use this url:


Related Items