UBC Theses and Dissertations

UBC Theses Logo

UBC Theses and Dissertations

Graduate recital Noel-Bentley, Karen Rebecca 1994

Your browser doesn't seem to have a PDF viewer, please download the PDF to view this item.

Item Metadata


831-ubc_1994-0295.pdf [ 337.6kB ]
JSON: 831-1.0087531.json
JSON-LD: 831-1.0087531-ld.json
RDF/XML (Pretty): 831-1.0087531-rdf.xml
RDF/JSON: 831-1.0087531-rdf.json
Turtle: 831-1.0087531-turtle.txt
N-Triples: 831-1.0087531-rdf-ntriples.txt
Original Record: 831-1.0087531-source.json
Full Text

Full Text

GRADUATE RECITALbyKAREN REBECCA NOEL-BENThEYB.Mus., University of Alberta, 1992A THESIS SUBMITrED IN PARTIAL FULFILLMENT OFTHE REQUIREMENTS FOR THE DEGREE OFMASTER OF MUSIC(CLARINET PERFORMANCE)inTHE FACULTY OF GRADUATE STUDIES(School of Music)We accept this thesis as conformingto the required standardTHE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIAApril 1994© Karen Rebecca Noel-Bentley, 1994In presenting this thesis in partial fulfilment of the requirements for an advanceddegree at the University of British Columbia, I agree that the Library shall make itfreely available for reference and study. I further agree that permission for extensivecopying of this thesis for scholarly purposes may be granted by the head of mydepartment or by his or her representatives. It is understood that copying orpublication of this thesis for financial gain shall not be allowed without my writtenpermission.Department of__________The University of British ColumbiaVancouver, CanadaDate Arr I(Signature)DE-6 (2/88)THE UNIVERSiTY OF BRITISH COLUMBiASCHOOL OF MUSICRecftal Hall 4Saturday, April 9, 19948:00 p.m.MASTERS GRADUATION RECITAL*KAREN NOEL-BENTLEY, ClarinetSonata for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 128 (1945) Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco(1895-1968)Andante con motoScherzo (Mosso, leggero)Lullaby (Calmo e semplice)RondO alla Napolitana (Rapido e tagilente)Murray Nichol, ptanoFantasiestiicke, Op. 73 (1849) Robert Schumann(1810-1856)Zart und mit AusdruckLebhaft, IeichtRasch und mit FeuerMurray Nichol, piano- INTERMISSION -Sonate (1972) Edison Denisov(b. 1929)Lento, poco rubatoAllegro giustoPremiere Rhapsodie (1910) Claude Debussy(1862-1918)Madeline Hope, pianoL’Histoire du Soldat; Suite (1919) Igor Stravinsky(1882-1971)Marche du SoldatLe violon du SoldatPetit concertTango - Valse - RagDanse du DiablePaul Luchkow, violinSusan Greenway, piano* In partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Master of Music degree with a major inClarinet.Reception to follow in the Faculty Lounge.PROGRAM NOTESSonata, Op. 128Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco was born in Italy, where he receivedhis musical training. He is best known for the extensivecomposing that he did while living in the United States,including a large number of film scores written around the 1940s.His sonata for clarinet and piano shows influences of Brahms andDebussy incorporated with Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s unique style.Fantasiest&ke, Op. 73Schumann wrote the Fantasy Pieces for clarinet and piano in 1849,a year of considerable compositional output for the composer. Thepieces are characterized, by a gradual increase in intensity fromthe beginning of the first to the end of the third.SonateThe two movements of the unaccompanied clarinet sonata by Russiancomposer Edison Denisov are very different in character. Thefirst employs micro-intervals to produce a mysterious, mournfulfeeling. The highly disjunct intervals of the second movement areorganized around a pivot note, Ab, creating the effect ofmultiple voices being produced by a single voice.Premire RhapsodicDebussy wrote this piece as a test piece for the ParisConservatory; a year later, it was arranged for clarinet andorchestra. It has remained popular in both versions. TheRhapsodic is composed of one extended movement, encompassing avariety of moods.L’Histoire du SoldatStravinsky originally wrote this piece in 1918 for an ensemble ofseven musicians, a narrator, and two actors, to portray the textwritten by Swiss poet Charles Ferdinand Ramuz. In 1919,Stravinsky arranged the suite for violin, clarinet, and piano,comprising the main music from the original.Joseph, the soldier, is returning to his village for two weeks’leave. While stopped for a rest, he pulls out his violin,represented by the second movement. The devil appears, forcingJoseph to exchange his violin for a magic book. With this book,he acquires powers that he had never thought possible. Hisexploitation of these powers ulitimately leads to hisdestruction; in the last movement the devil triumphs and Josephis thrown into Hell..1•2


Citation Scheme:


Citations by CSL (citeproc-js)

Usage Statistics



Customize your widget with the following options, then copy and paste the code below into the HTML of your page to embed this item in your website.
                            <div id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidgetDisplay">
                            <script id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidget"
                            async >
IIIF logo Our image viewer uses the IIIF 2.0 standard. To load this item in other compatible viewers, use this url:


Related Items