UBC Theses and Dissertations

UBC Theses Logo

UBC Theses and Dissertations

Graduate recitals Weaver, Scott Bryan 1995

Your browser doesn't seem to have a PDF viewer, please download the PDF to view this item.

Item Metadata


831-ubc_1995-0311.pdf [ 276.97kB ]
JSON: 831-1.0086763.json
JSON-LD: 831-1.0086763-ld.json
RDF/XML (Pretty): 831-1.0086763-rdf.xml
RDF/JSON: 831-1.0086763-rdf.json
Turtle: 831-1.0086763-turtle.txt
N-Triples: 831-1.0086763-rdf-ntriples.txt
Original Record: 831-1.0086763-source.json
Full Text

Full Text

GRADUATE RECITALS by SCOTT BRYAN WEAVER B.Mus., Wilfrid Laurier University, 1993 A THESIS SUBMITTED LN PARTIAL FULFILLMENT OF THE REQUIREMENTS FOR THE DEGREE OF MASTER OF MUSIC (TUBA) in THE FACULTY OF GRADUATE STUDIES (School of Music) We accept this thesis as conforming to the required standard THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA April 1995 © Scott Bryan Weaver, 1995 In presenting this thesis in partial fulfilment of the requirements for an advanced degree at the University of British Columbia, I agree that the Library shall make it freely available for reference and study. I further agree that permission for extensive copying of this thesis for scholarly purposes may be granted by the head of my department or by his or her representatives. It is understood that copying or publication of this thesis for financial gain shall not be allowed without my written permission. SCHODL OF M U S I C The University of British Columbia Vancouver, Canada Date 3ftft?&?iS-DE-6 (2/88) T H E UN IVERS ITY O F BRITISH C O L U M B I A S C H O O L O F M U S I C ' Recital Hall Sunday, March 6, 1994 2:30 p.m. MASTERS RECITAL SCOTT WEAVER, Tuba with MADELEINE HOPE, Piano Sonata in e minor Adagio Allegro Largo Allegretto T U B A TRIO Brock Campbell, tuba Nathan Wilkes, euphonium Benedetto Marcello (1686-1739) ed. Keith Brown Sonata, Op.7, No.5 Modere Lentamehte Allegro Sonate fUr BaBtuba und Klavier Allegro pesante Allegro assai Variationen -- Moderato, commodo Joseph Bodin de Boismortier (1689-1755) transcribed by L .E . Shaw Paul Hindemith (1895-1963) Symphony No.5, Op.67 Allegro con brio Sir Duke Eleanor Rigby - I N T E R M I S S I O N -T U B A and MIRL1TON TRIO Brock Campbell, tuba, mirhton Nathan Wilkes, euphonium, mirhton Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Stevie Wonder (b. 1950) John Lennon (1940-1980) Paul McCartney z Washington Post March John Philip Sousa (1854-1932) all arrangements by Ellis Wean Suite No . l for Tuba and Piano ("Effie Suite") Alec Wilder (1907-1980) Effie Chases a Monkey Effie Falls in Love Effie Takes a Dancing Lesson Effie Joins the Carnival Effie Goes Folk Dancing Effie Sings a Lullaby Arthur Frackenpohl Tubatunes Latin Jazz Blues (slow & fast) * In partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Master of Music degree with a major in Tuba. Reception to follow in the Faculty Lounge. (b. 1924) Rag THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA SCHOOL OF MUSIC Recital Hall Wednesday, 26 April, 1995 8:00pm M A S T E R S GRADUATION R E C I T A L * S C O T T W E A V E R , tuba with Madeline Hope, piano and Alison Tinck, French horn Allegro moderato Romanza--Andante sostenuto Finale - Rondo alia tedesca -- Allegro Concerto in One Movement Alexi Lebedev (1924-1993) Concerto for Bass Tuba Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958) Caper for tuba solo Harry Freedman (b. 1922) INTERMISSION Suite for French horn, tuba and piano Alec Wilder (1907-1980) I n in IV v Maestoso Pesante In a Jazz manner Berceuse (for Carol) Allacaccia Sonata for tuba and piano Oskar Morawetz (b. 1917) Allegro Adagio Allegro non troppo *In partial fulfillment of the reauirernents for the degree of Master of Music with a major in Tuba. A reception will follow in the Faculty Lounge. P R O G R A M M E NOTES Concerto in One Movement As a youth, Alexi Lebedev studied with Vladislav Blazhevich, then went on to study under Vladimir Schezbacov at the Moscow Conservatory from 1945 to 1949. Later, he played with the Bolshoi Orchestra and taught at the Moscow Conservatory. He wrote two tutors for tuba, and three works for tuba and piano: Concerto Allegro, this Concerto, and another unnamed piece that was probably never published. Concerto for Basstuba Ralph Vaughan Williams wrote this concerto in 1954, at the age of 82. A few years earlier, he composed a Romance for harmonica and string orchestra for Larry Adler. Vaughan Williams told Adler that if he did not like the first version, he would write a second, and if he did not like the second, he would write a third, and if he did not like that, "I'll rescore the whole thing for basstuba." Fortunately, Adler liked the first version, but Vaughan Williams' own comment may have inspired him to write a concerto for tuba a couple of years later. Caper for tuba solo Harry Freedman is a Canadian composer who worked in and out of 12-tone techniques during his early and middle years. But in his later works, pitch decisions were the last to be made: "textures, rhythms and moods are as important as the notes," and the "sound... is the most important thing." As a result, though often characterised as "lyrical," his music rarely depends on overt thematic or intervallic recurrences for coherence. "Caper" was commissioned in 1978 by Dennis Miller (former principal tubist of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra) with the assistance of the Canada Council. Suite for French horn, tuba and piano The Suite was premiered in 1963 by John Barrows (horn) and Harvey Phillips (tuba). In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barrows and Phillips had made several individual recordings for Golden Crest Records. The president of the company remarked to Alec Wilder on how similarly these two musicians played Wilder immediately began work on a piece that would bring these two players together. Barrows and Phillips were flattered, but thought the idea was improbable. After the first rehearsal, however, they were impressed by two things: "it works" and "it is a substantial addition to wind music." Sonata for tuba and piano Oskar Morawetz is a Canadian composer whose style was consciously not affected by serial (12-tone) techniques, electronic music or chance music. Instead, he explored harmonic, expressive and colouristic possibilities of expanded tonality and polytonality as a basis for his style, which almost never becomes atonal. One principal characteristic of his music is a polyphonic weaving of two streams of block chords. His rhythms range from vivacious Slavic rhythms to complex patterns with frequent meter changes. This Sonata was commissioned in 1983 by Scott Irvine, tubist of the Canadian Opera Company Orchestra, Toronto. 


Citation Scheme:


Citations by CSL (citeproc-js)

Usage Statistics



Customize your widget with the following options, then copy and paste the code below into the HTML of your page to embed this item in your website.
                            <div id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidgetDisplay">
                            <script id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidget"
                            async >
IIIF logo Our image viewer uses the IIIF 2.0 standard. To load this item in other compatible viewers, use this url:


Related Items