UBC Theses and Dissertations

UBC Theses Logo

UBC Theses and Dissertations

Graduate recital Bull, Jonathan Isaac 1993

Your browser doesn't seem to have a PDF viewer, please download the PDF to view this item.

Item Metadata


831-ubc_1993_spring_bull_johnathan_isaac.pdf [ 768.56kB ]
JSON: 831-1.0086075.json
JSON-LD: 831-1.0086075-ld.json
RDF/XML (Pretty): 831-1.0086075-rdf.xml
RDF/JSON: 831-1.0086075-rdf.json
Turtle: 831-1.0086075-turtle.txt
N-Triples: 831-1.0086075-rdf-ntriples.txt
Original Record: 831-1.0086075-source.json
Full Text

Full Text

GRADUATE RECITALbyJONATHAN ISAAC BULLB.Mus., The University of British Columbia, 1991A THESIS SUBMITTED IN PARTIAL FULFILLMENT OFTHE REQUIREMENTS FOR THE DEGREE OFMASTER OF MUSIC(BASSOON PERFORMANCE)inTHE FACULTY OF GRADUATE STUDIES(School of Music)We accept this thesis as conformingto the required standardTHE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIAMay 1993© Jonathan Isaac Bull, 1993In presenting this thesis in partial fulfilment of the requirements for an advanceddegree at the University of British Columbia, I agree that the Library shall make itfreely available for reference and study. I further agree that permission for extensivecopying of this thesis for scholarly purposes may be granted by the head of mydepartment or by his or her representatives. It is understood that copying orpublication of this thesis for financial gain shall not be allowed without my writtenpermission.(Signature) Department of ^SrThe University of British ColumbiaVancouver, CanadaDate ^A j 7 ( / DE-6 (2/88)Allegretto ModeratoAllegro Sr..herzandoAdagio - Allegro ModeratoPrdlude et ScherzoTHE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIASCHOOL OF MUSICRecital HallThursday, May 6, 19938:00 p.m.MASTERS STUDENT RECITAL*ISAAC BULL, BASSOONwithTyler Lincoln, pianoDon Kelly, violinHeather Heron, violaBrian Mix, celloAllegro SpiritosoAdagio CantabileAllegro ModeratoQuartet in C Op. 73 No. 1^ Francois Devienne(1759-1803)Five Pieces for Bassoon and Piano (1982)^ Elliot Weisgarber(b. 1919)-CapriccioScherzoAriosoIntermezzoFantasiaSonata for Bassoon and Piano Op. 168^ Camille Saint-Saens(1835-1921)Paul Jeanjean(1874-1928)In partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Master of Music degree with a major inBassoon.** UBC Professor Emeritus of MusicReception to follow in the Faculty Lounge-Programme NotesFrancois Devienne performed as a bassoonist with the GardeNationale, the Theatre Feydeau, the Paris Opera and the ConcertSpirituelle as a soloist in his own concertos for both flute andbassoon. When the School of the Garde National became the ParisConservatory in 1795, Devienne became its first Flute Professor andAdministrator. The Quartet in C for bassoon and string triodemonstrates both the lyrical and lighter qualities of the bassoonwhich functions much like the first violin in a string quartet.Elliot Weisgarber, composer and clarinettist studied with BernardRogers and Howard Hanson at the Eastman School of Music, and laterwith Nadia Boulanger in Paris, and Halsey Stevens in Los Angeles.Mr. Weisgarber has taught on the Faculties of the University ofSouth Carolina and the University of Southern California, and mostrecently the UBC School of Music frost 1960 - 1984. Between 1966and 1969, He travelled to Japan to study the Koto and other nativeJapanese instruments. Mr. Weisgarber has made notable contributionsto the repertoire of solo, chamber and orchestral music, and isdistinguished as an associate composer of the Canadian MusicCentre. Five Pieces for Bassoon and Piano, which shows m wide rangeof technical and expressive capabilities for the bassoon, wasdedicated to Vancouver Bassoonist, George Zukermann.Camille Saint-Saens was Organist of the Cathedral of Madeleine from1858 to 1877. In 1871, he founded the Societe Nationale de Musiquefor the promotion of contemporary French music. Saint-Saens mostnotable piano pupils include Gabriel Faure and Andre Messager.His most well known works include his Opera, Samson and Delila, hisOrgan Symphony, the Carnival of the Animals, Concertos for piano,violin, and Cello, and Sonatas for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon. TheBassoon Sonata, one of his last work combines passion and emotionin the first movement and adagio, with technical brilliance in thesecond movement and closing of the work. The Sonata, one of hislast works, was later used as a contest solo at the ParisConservatory.Paul Jeanjean studied clarinet at the Paris conservatory where hewon first prize in the Concours of 1894. Be later became soloclarinet of the Garde Republicaine and Prinicpal Clarinet of theClassical Concerts at Monte Carlo. Jeanjean is most notablecompositions include solos and studies for flute, clarinet andsaxophone. Prelude at Scherzo, written in 1911, begins with a slowlyrical introduction based on a syncopated melodic motive. Theprelude concludes with a cadenza employing the extreme highregister of the bassoon. Following a short piano interlude, thebassoon begins the spirited Scherzo.


Citation Scheme:


Citations by CSL (citeproc-js)

Usage Statistics



Customize your widget with the following options, then copy and paste the code below into the HTML of your page to embed this item in your website.
                            <div id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidgetDisplay">
                            <script id="ubcOpenCollectionsWidget"
                            async >
IIIF logo Our image viewer uses the IIIF 2.0 standard. To load this item in other compatible viewers, use this url:


Related Items